We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing cancelled on arrival.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Coins B&B

3 Coins B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 3 Coins B&B to your Saves list
3 Coins B&B
Via Dei Crociferi No. 26, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,958 of 2,888 Rome B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing cancelled on arrival.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

Only that the Taxi Driver knew where to find this place we would have assumed we were in the wrong place. The front door was off putting to begin with. We had trouble locating the door bell. The young person who responded was very helpful and assisted us to carry our luggage up the three flights of narrow stairs with loose carpeting. The room was shabby and not what we expected. We chose to pay the cancellation fee and find other accommodation. We went to a near cafe and utilized their WiFi and they noticed our distress. The proprietor assisted by finding us suitable accommodation and calling a Taxi for us. We couldn't have been better looked after by a stranger. She hoped we enjoyed our stay in Rome. She is a wonderful ambassador for this great city. We would not recommend 3 Coins, although we did not stay there, we were treated respectfully.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
10
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

My wife & I spent a long while deliberating over the review and rating of this B&B. We have just got back from a long weekend stay in Rome at the 3 Coins B&B and here is how we think it is...i'll also include some really important information for if you have a stay booked in the future.

As you are probably aware by now the location is the absolute selling point - Right next to the Trevi Fountain & walking distance of the Pantheon, Forum etc, it doesn't get more central!

The accommodation itself is basic to say the least. If you want somewhere you can come back to after a long day out walking to freshen up, relax and get ready for the evening then this is NOT your place. If you can make do from 9am until 10pm out and about keeping busy and would purely be looking for a bed only to crash down on then this IS for you.

We didn't have breakfast, simply because there are cafe's outside, over looking the Trevi Fountain where a croissant and coffee can be picked up for 4 euros.

We did have a shared bathroom but I don't think any other guests were using it as it was never an issue getting in and out.

The main issue then is the arrival, this is a disaster! Do not leave your booking thinking it will be fine when you arrive, it won't! Maria (who runs the B&B) does not stay at the accommodation, she appears from 8:30am until 9:30am. After this there is nobody at the B&B to give you access! It is difficult to find and up 3 flights of stairs to start with. You will more than likely arrive to a locked door and nobody home. - Whilst they were expecting us and had provided a mobile number for us to contact them for access, this was unanswered. I had to go over the road to a restaurant and speak with their staff to see if they knew the owner and could call them - Thankfully they did. Communicated through the restaurant staff we were informed that our key was hidden under the carpet and to let ourselves in, they would see us in the morning.

It is not unusual to arrive and them not expect you coming, as witnessed by ourselves as another guest arrived and proceeded to hammer on the door until I answered (luckily we were in), they had no key or anything, I called the owner on my mobile phone who was quite rude and abrupt with them insisting they had cancelled their booking. They were then informed that a 'spare' room key was hidden in the plant pot outside the B&B for them and to let themselves in.

This is the precedent obviously, hiding keys under plants and carpets outside the front door.

On our final night we were woken by constant banging on the door and shouting from another guest who couldn't get in. This was from 11pm until 1am, I refused this time to answer the door as by now I felt like the Concierge and my mobile phone bill was totting up nicely!

So here's some useful information to ensure you get access to the accommodation:

Firstly, why not check the plant pots and carpet for a key, may seem to be hidden here.

Email the B&B at least twice before arrival, include your estimated time of arrival etc, they do not reply but I think this could have been the tipping point for them being aware of our arrival:
info@3coinsbb.com

Call the owner directly using this number, dialled exactly how you see it: 00393281365097
Again you may need to persistent with this as they can take 2 or 3 calls before answering.

I think people are giving the B&B bad reviews for the sake of doing it, I mean its cheap, brilliant location - And this is ROME! where everything is expensive from the price of a coffee to your spaghetti - If you are expecting luxury and a fantastic place to relax and unwind then what are you booking this B&B for in the first place.

Hope the above helps!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This in expensive hotel was clean and comfortable in the best location right next to the Trevi Fountain Breakfast was basic but fine and Maria was so pleasant and helpful ...will definitely be returning

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viterbo, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

What can I say, the only good thing about it was the location. The rooms are tiny and dirty the Air conditioning was broken and asked repeatedly to have it fixed with no result! I spoke to other guests and they all reported the same problems. The staff is really impolite and not at all helpful. the breakfast they offer is a joke at best, and if you do not eat the stale stuff one day you get it again the next. I will never go back and I recommend that you stay as far away from this place as you can!

Room Tip: do not go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

The location is superb, just minutes from Trevi fountain. That's what you want from a big city like Rome where there is so much to see. The room was actually quite nice and massive! Overall good apart from the breakfast, very poor. Reccomended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed here on recommendation from a friend and was a little worried after reading the reviews online however, it was brilliant! The location is magic, rooms are clean - yet small - and it's the perfect place to make your 'base' in rome. It's definitely not a luxury hotel and yep a little difficult to find but if you plan to be out mosh of the day exploring and want an close to the action place to return and be comfortable overnight then this is it :-) would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I booked this place for my father and uncle who are aged 55-65 and seeking budget accommodation in Rome for just one night. They said the service wasn't great but location, cleanliness and rooms were excellent. They had a twin room which was spacious with 2 single beds and a double. Be careful if you aren't overly mobile as my father struggled with the 4 narrow flights of stairs he had to climb to get to his room - probably a good idea they were only there for 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 Coins B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Coins B&B

Address: Via Dei Crociferi No. 26, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,958 of 2,888 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Coins are referred to Trevi Fountain, known as the welcoming place where everybody that comes for the first time to Rome, follows the tradition tossing over the left shoulder 3 coins with three wishes. This small jewel with a family atmosphere is right next to Trevi Fountain and few steps from Piazza di Spagna, Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Piazza di Popolo not to mention that the Roman Forum and Colosseum are a 10 minutes walk away. Extraordinary elegant and spacious bedrooms are decorated and furnished with good taste and personal attention to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 3 Coins B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Coins Hotel Rome
3 Coins Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Coins B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.