We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Arco dei Tolomei to your Saves list
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Via Dell' Arco de Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Why stay anywhere else?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2005

OK, maybe there are a few other places to stay in Rome, but if you don't need a big, over priced hotel, and want to feel as if you are really staying in Rome, then this is the place. Marco and Gianna are warm, friendly hosts (Marco booked tours and dinner reservations for us) who have a real gem here. The rooms are elegant, yet liveable. The balcony in our room (the Appia) was great, and the bathroom was very nice. The area is superb. Convenient, and great to just walk around in. Both nights we walked to dinner, which is the way to go in Rome. Breakfast was good, and the free internet with GPS mapping was a small bonus. Thanks Marco!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    135
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
161
444
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2005

This is a jewel of a find in Rome, a city famous for overpriced hotels and pensiones with little or no service/friendliness. Marco and his wife, the proprietors of this B&B, are exceptionally friendly and speak perfect English for the non-fluent traveler. The rooms are very clean and well-decorated, with wonderful bathrooms. The balconies are marvelous, with lovely views of the Trastevere neighborhood. And the prices cant be beat! After living in Rome for 6 months with my husband and experiencing many bad hotels and apartments, I can speak from experience that the Residenza Arco dei Tolomei is a treasure! I would recommend this B&B to any of my closest friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

The experience surpassed our expectations. Wonderful location to walk to many sites. Recommend using Taxi arranged by B&B to and from the airport. Restaurants recommended were excellent. Breakfast each day was delightful. Great showers and large bathroom. The Air Conditioning was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

When we arrived we were given a warm welcome by the owner. The rooms were very clean and a good size. Arco de Tolomei is ideally situated in the quaint Trastevere area of Rome and all the major sights are within easy walking distance (30mins). Either Catia or the owners will give you advice or recommendations for restaurants, things to do, etc. The breakfast is very good and if you leave hungry you only have yourself to blame!!
We would definitely recommend a stay here and will return.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2005

We stayed here for three nights, August 31-Sept 2, 2005. This B&B was a surprise. It was recommended by an Italian friend and we did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. It is ideally located in the Trastevere section of Rome, convenient to the river (we took a fun round trip water taxi ride on part of the river our first afternoon in Rome), convenient to good restaurants (don't go out for dinner before 8, everyone eats late), tours, and transportation. Our host and hostess were very friendly and helpful. The room is air conditioned, the terrace is nice. Breakfast was excellent. We would recommend to our friends. We hope to see the host and hostess in Tiburon sometime.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2005

Catia, the hostess was very warm and toughtfull. However it would have been nice if she had been there when we arrived. At that moment there was only a girl who did not speak any foreign language.
The place is clean and charming. The breakfast is, according to Roman standards, very good. The place is very nicely decorated. The price however is a bit high but the size of the rooms and the roof terrace (not every room) made it good.

Frans van Dun
Breda
Holland

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

My wife and i stayed for four nights in early September while visiting relatives and seeing Rome. Residenza Arco dei Tolomei is in the quite part of Travestare. It is in walking distance of all the major sites in Rome. It is a clean and quite refuge from the hustle and bustle of Rome. The owner and his wife and their very capable assistant Catia provided a warm and welcoming environment for my wife and I. We will certainly return in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Arco dei Tolomei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Address: Via Dell' Arco de Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Residenza Arco dei Tolomei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Arco Dei Tolomei Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Arco dei Tolomei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.