We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a welcome from Marco and Gianna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Arco dei Tolomei to your Saves list
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Via Dell' Arco de Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a welcome from Marco and Gianna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Their charming guest house in an ideal location in the Trastevere is a great place from which to explore Rome on foot. Most of the main attractions are within a most interesting walk and you will return to a Marco and Gianna's charming guest house, they will make you most welcome, provide clean and comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and very sound advice about the attractions and restaurants. You can also chew the fat in a most interesting way about life in Italy.

The only disadvantage is that it is on the second floor, there is no lift and there are internal stairs so not suitable for anyone with significant mobility problems.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but best with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    135
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
161
444
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed in a triple room here and all three of us loved it here. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was to die for (including homemade marmalade, cakes, etc.). It's also within walking distance to a metro stop and several bus stops which was great. Overall, the best part of staying here was getting to meet other travelers and experiencing a more authentic Italian home than we would've staying in a traditional hotel. Definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Marco and Gianna were fantastic! We arrived on early flight, they arranged a airport pickup, gave us advice on where to go and where to eat! Extremely helpful!! Great neighborhood! Elizabeth and Frank

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the perfect place for our stay in Rome. My 2 teen aged daughters and I loved the location - walking distance to everything yet not in the touristy centre. It was great to be able to come back to Trastevere each night and feel like you were in a small neighbourhood. The hosts were wonderful and helpful. Marco helped book our Vatican Museum tickets, and recommended delicious local restaurants to try. He also helped me plan my drive to Tuscany, suggesting an off the beaten track route which was truly beautiful. I would definitely recommend Arco dei Tolomei to anyone travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a lovely place to stay! It was very clean, in a great location, felt very safe and the whole staff made us feel "at home" for the 3 nights we were there. Marco was there for the first day, was very helpful and advised he was going to be gone for the next days. He told us Joseline and her husband would help with anything we may need. They helped us make reservations and printed confirmations that we needed, as well as offered more tips. This was our first stop in Italy, and it was a great way to start our vacation. Initially our air conditioning wasn't functioning very well, so Joseline brought us a fan, and the next day, the air conditioning was fixed. Joselines breakfast was fabulous, and if you are lucky, you will get a smile from her darling daughter peeking around the corner at you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room right off the dining room. It accommodates 3 and was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Residenza Arco dei Tolomei was perfect for our stay in late August. It is in a great location and the breakfast was fantastic! Marco is just fantastic, he gave us a ton of great tips and things to see! I left my jewelry at Arco, and Marco was nice enough to send it to Positano where our next leg of the trip was. that is great customer service! We love Arco dei Tolomei!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Marco and his lovely wife Gianna run the ideal place to stay in Rome -- a perfect location (a short walk to the Tiber Island or the heart of Trastevere but on a quiet and safe street), engaged, knowledgeable, and warm hosts, impeccably clean and comfortable accommodations, a fine breakfast, and all at reasonable rates. My wife & I just returned from a wonderful week's stay and previously stayed there for 5 nights two years ago, so this is now our "home in Rome" and we highly recommend it an ideal tranquil spot to stay for your Roman holiday. Travelling is all about discovering the unexpected and having magical experiences, and Marco's suggestions will guide you to those special spots by the most interesting routes. No matter what your interests, the hosts and staff are sure to provide helpful ideas to enrich your stay and make your holiday memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Arco dei Tolomei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Address: Via Dell' Arco de Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Residenza Arco dei Tolomei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Arco Dei Tolomei Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Arco dei Tolomei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.