We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!!! A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Welcome House to your Saves list
Welcome House
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 230, Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #639 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!!! A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here last week with my friend and we both loved this hotel. Firstly, the staff were extremely helpful and never seemed to mind to help us (with our 638293 questions). They were lovely to speak to and gave us great advice on where to go etc. The room was lovely and had everything we needed. In the morning we would find our breakfast hanging outside our room (fresh bread and croissants) which we thought was a very nice little touch! The breakfast itself was lovely, and filled us up until well after lunch! The bed was extremely comfy which was needed after our long days in Rome, and there were spare pillows in the wardrobe, which we didnt notice until the last morning! But even so, they weren't missed. There is a mini bar which we decided to treat ourselves with, and after having a bottle of prosseco, two bottles of wine (small sized but enough for 2 and a bit glasses from each bottle) and a sprite, the price at the end was a nice surprise, 15 euros, considering how expensive the rest of Rome is. The location is PERFECT! Everywhere was walking distance for us, the only time we used the metro was to go Vatican City, and even that was very easy. The street the hotel is on is busy, but its beautiful and exactly what you would expect for a city break. At night you can still hear the street, but it is not that bad that you cant sleep, we even enjoyed the hustle and bustle of the street below. I genuinely can not say anything bad about this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone who is going to Rome and i am sure you will love it, just like we did. We are most definitely coming back to Rome and without a doubt will be staying here again. Beautiful hotel. Thanks for making our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Welcome House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are grateful to note that you had a nice holiday.
It is very kind that you inform other travellers about your impressions regarding your experiences at Welcome House.
It is our desire to have your confidence again in your next vacation,
We hope to welcome you back soon,

Warm regards&Happy Easter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Welcome House for 3 nights recently and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Firstly, the location is excellent. Via Nazionale is such an easy road to find from so many different places, and if need be, there are close Metro stations and bus stops. The hotel is a little hard to find - it is opposite the Hotel Artemide pretty much, look for the sign for Miami Hotel and go up to the fifth floor and there you will find reception.
(On a side note - we will NEVER be staying in Miami Hotel! We were a little confused as to where to find Welcome House, and politely asked at the reception of Miami which floor we needed to go to. The male receptionist was EXTREMELY rude and all he would tell us was that "it is not here!" without looking at us. Very, very rude!!)

Upon finding the Welcome House reception, we were met by an extremely friendly lady who explained everything to us and took time to show us to our room and make sure we had everything we needed. The room was well furnished and clean and had everything we needed. Maybe the only complaint was that the shower was a little small because the door didn't close properly, and the television didn't have particularly good signal - but we weren't there to watch TV anyway! The bed was very comfy and just what we needed after a hard day of walking round Rome. The ceilings were really high and gave the room a lovely, large airy feel. I see what some people were saying about the outside noise giving them trouble at night. At times before we slept it seemed loud, but it never impaired us going to sleep and didn't once wake us up.
Breakfast was great, and exactly what we needed. Every morning, bread rolls and fresh croissants were left outside our door, in the lobby was a selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cornflakes etc, and there was jam, Nutella and butter in our fridge. It was all very tasty and convenient!
Overall, I would definitely recommend Welcome House. The location is brilliant and what you get for the price is fantastic. We booked quite last-minute as we just wanted a quick, cheap getaway to our favourite city. If anyone else is thinking about doing the same thing, I would definitely recommend Welcome House and it's friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We're truly delighted to know that you had a great stay at Welcome House. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Rome soon and you will have more time to see the city as well beside of enjoying our services.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Upon arriving at 7pm, later than expected, we were greeted by a an extremely helpful member of staff who showed us to our room. The room itself was bigger than we thought it would be and had a beautiful feel to it with lovely charm. When waking the following morning, fresh bread was hung upon our door amongst other items laid out for breakfast. And with all the walking we were about to experience, we were extremely grateful for that! All inclusive of the price too. The hotel is extremely central to EVERYTHING and if you choose, public transport is only a stones throw away, but hold onto your wallets and bags, as i was pick pocketed on the bus, but raised such a commotion, the thief dropped my wallet and i retrieved it before anything was taken, LUCKY! Anyway we chose walking as our major form of transport as the longest we had to walk to get anywhere was only 30mins. The colosseum was only a 15 minute walk away and the Trevi fountain 10 mins max, so we were surprised with that. Upon leaving in the morning, a wonderful member of staff showed us the best routes to take and suggested some great eating to do along the way. The advice was excellent and well received! So if your looking for a great pace to stay, fantastic staff, clean rooms and looking for a cheaper alternative, then The Welcome House is the place to stay! When we go back, that is where we will be staying! Thank you for makinouror stay everything thing we were hoping for and more!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome House, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for your high rating. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The B&B shows a very good "price for value" relation. Within walking distance to Termini and to most of the sites to visit. Very helpfull receptionist providing Good recommendations.

Small and nice restaurant just around the corner. Exzellent fish and good and cheep house wine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the backyard, this gives quiet nights ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks a lot for your great comment. We are glad to know that you loved your stay atWelcome House.We will be pleased to welcome you always for your next trip in Rome.Our kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

For travelers on a tight budget, the balance of quality, location, and price is probably better at Welcome House than anywhere else in Rome. Nice clean rooms with 10+ foot ceiling. Friendly receptionist gave us a tour map and showed us the how to get around the city. On the major street of Via Nazionale, within walking distance of the major sites, including the Colosseum. Not very well sound-proofed, so light sleepers may be bothered by outside traffic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Welcome House, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We thank you a lot for your great comment. We are glad to know that you loved your stay.We will be pleased to welcome you always for your next trip in Rome.Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

A good place to stay for 2-3 nights. Very Friendly Staff, good location. The rooms have nice old forniture. The bathroom is ok , but need renovation, some things are quite old... but its ok for 2-3 nights. Quite noisy at night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Welcome House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your nice comment.We hope to welcome you again for your next trip in Rome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cagliari
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very nice clean B&B, spacious room and bathroom, situated in a very central area. It can be reached on foot from the Termini train station, and you can walk to most of the important monument and archaelogical sites. The fashion shops are just downstairs. Just a little problem: the traffic noise, even if on the 4th floor the noise was quite disturbing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Welcome House, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Herewith we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen Welcome House for your recent stay. Thank you for your very kind and useful review.We do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Roma. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Welcome House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome House

Address: Via Nazionale 230, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #639 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Welcome House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional location at moderate pricesThe Welcome House, located in a prestigious 19th century building in Via Nazionale, is situated in a strategic position in the historical center of Rome between the Colosseum and the famous Spanish Steps, just 400 meters off Termini Station. It offers low budget solutions for anyone looking for an exceptional location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Welcome House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.