We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Location in Old Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosianum Palace Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hosianum Palace Rome to your Saves list
Hosianum Palace Rome
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via dei Polacchi 23, 00186 Rome, Italy (Piazza Venezia / Ancient City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,290 of 3,085 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel Location in Old Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Rome for two days in late March prior to cruising out of Civitaveccia. The Hosianum is in a great location. We were less than a 30 minute walk from the Colosseum, the Forum, The Pantheon, The Trivi Fountain, and the Vatican. The room was clean and adequate,nothing fancy; staff were very helpful and accomodating. There's a grocery store a block away. Restaurants within two blocks. Excellent breakfast was included. WiFi didn't work; so we used WiFi in restaurants. The Hosianum served our purpose very well; we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    141
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
61
135
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in April. It is very well located within walking distance of most of Rome's famous attractions.
It is a very small hotel with no common areas to relax in such as lounges, terraces etc.
The room was clean but small and very hot at night (27 C), however we could not keep the window open due to the high noise level from the street outside. We asked for the air conditioning to be turned on but were told that this was not possible in April!
There was a sign-in Wifi facility for internet use but this did not work in our experience.
The staff were courteous and helpful.
The breakfast was buffet style with a good range of options.
The price was good for the location but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Very average hotel with exceptional location. All the major sites in Rome are walkable from this hotel. THIS is its highlight and most salient point.

The rooms are a good size for Rome, could DEFINITELY use an upgrade on everything...carpet, linens, everything. That being said, the rooms are kept very clean.

The shower has great temp and water pressure but is VERY small. Toiletries provided are ok, nothing exceptional.

Breakfast is your average continental breakfast, though they did have scrambled eggs, bacon and hot dogs. The eggs were not my taste, but my travel partner ate them every morning after dousing them in ketchup and hot sauce.

Staff is friendly for the most part. Restaurants in the area leave much to be desired. If you are too tired after a long day of traveling to wander a few blocks from the hotel, I recommend vinando...but only if you are too tired to walk a little. Avoid ToNY ad Ducate at all costs, even though Ducate is always full and you might think "lots of Italians...must be good!" It's not.

Enjoy your stay in Rome wherever you chose to stay. I would consider returning to this hotel because of the location, but with the knowledge that it is a very Average hotel in need of some loving care.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Can't fault this hotel in terms of location - all the major sites are within walking distance. The staff were extremely helpful and polite - great service in their little bar (and they provide snacks with the drinks).

The room was tidy and clean, and the bathroom was adequate and clean. My friend and I shared a twin room and she slept well but I didn't - the bed was a bit too firm for me.

Breakfast was ok, but not great - you wouldn't go hungry though. Unfortunately it was the wrong time of the year to be on the roof terrace but I imagine it would be quite pleasant on warmer evenings.

Overall, it's a fantastically located hotel providing good value for money.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Stayed at the Hosanium Palace last week. Ideally located very close to the Victor Emanuel Monument and surrounding attractions. Only a short walk to the Colloseum, the Forum and the Vatican. Room was very comfortable, the buffet breakfast very filling and the staff very courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

The Hotel was just off the main street however if was within walking distance to many of the main attractions, no need for public transport. The hotel was clean, well located, pleasant staff, had a great rooftop outdoor bar/cafe and some really excellent restaurants around the alleyway. One in particular was outstanding and I cannot remember the name of it however if you leave the hotel turn right and walk down to an open courtyard. Ahead on the left you will see a restaurant with chairs outside and seating on the inside (they have many wines on the wall inside). The food the service the people are absolutely fabulous...They certainly looked after us Australian girls.....Highly recommend all the above and we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Wifi was included however it was difficult to get in our room and we had to go to reception to get f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, NJ
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

This hotel was extremely well-located, close to the Forum, Victor Emmanuelle Monument, Trajan Column, the Ghetto (IF you do not make a wrong turn like we did the first time), and Piazza Venezia where many busses leave from. The staff could not be more helpful, the rooms are kept very clean and the breakfast is more than adequate. Although the rooms are small, they are no smaller than the average European room. We even had a king size bed. I only have 2 negative comments. The first one, which I commonly find in European hotels, is that there is no place to put toiletries in the bathroom. I cannot understand why they do not put a shelf or even medicine cabinet in the bathroom. The second is only reason that would keep me from returning, as much as I like everything else about the Hosanium Palace - there is not even one English TV station. Usually, there is at least CNN International and it could accommodate Americans, British, Australians, etc.

Room Tip: We had room 303 which was quiet and looked out over the quiet Via Pollachi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosianum Palace Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosianum Palace Rome

Address: Via dei Polacchi 23, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Piazza Venezia / Ancient City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,290 of 3,085 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hosianum Palace Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hosianum Palace Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosianum Palace Rome Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosianum Palace Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.