We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the heart of Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosianum Palace Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hosianum Palace Rome to your Saves list
Hosianum Palace Rome
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via dei Polacchi 23, 00186 Rome, Italy (Piazza Venezia / Ancient City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,295 of 3,092 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the heart of Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly, the rooms are large enough and very reasonably priced for a capital city; and it's very centrally located - what more could you ask for! It's a little tricky to find as there's no obvious street sign, but walking west from the Piazza San Marco along the Via de Botteghe Oscure look left down a small dark street (don't be put off Rome is very safe) and you will spot two small box trees outside the entrance.

The lady on reception could not have been more helpful, producing a handy map on which she highlighted all the places of interest, including where to eat (Trastevere) and walking routes of how to get there. The rooms were very pleasantly furnished; and the continental breakfast was more than adequate to set you up for the day sightseeing. The hotel does not provide other meals, but why would you want it too in a city full of great places to eat. Do try the icecream!

All the major sights are less than a mile away by foot, the furthest at just over a mile away, being the Vatican City. The Pantheon is nearby, amazingly intact and entry is free.
Top tip is to buy a combined entry ticket at the Palatine hill where the queues are smallest for 12 Euros and it is well worth paying an extra 5 Euros for the English language tour, which enables you to further jump the queue and gives you the services of an archeological guide for an hour. After that you are free to wander around, including into the Roman Forum for as long as you like. You can then exit, cross the road and again jump the (very long) queue at the Coliseum - a great day out for not very much!

The Hosianum Palace is a brilliant base to explore all this from - a hidden gem in the heart of Rome.

One cautionary tale - we got the 'Terravision' bus from the airport to the Termini station: no problem. For the return trip we bought a ticket and were given a 'boarding card', which "guaranteed your seat on the bus". Don't believe it - there was an unseemly scrum when the bus arrived and at least half a dozen peolpe were left behind - very stressful! We suggest you get the express train or share a taxi if you can and remove any worry about missing your flight...

Room Tip: Ask when you arrive how to control the room heating system - the rooms are warm and opening the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    141
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
61
135
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel, located right bang smack in the middle of Rome ..... 60 second walk to Vittorio Emanuale II monument behind which is the Roman Forum, Colosseum and Palatine Hill. If you walk the opposite direction you are at the columns of the Pantheon within 5 mins, 3mins from there the Trevi Fountain. A 25 minute walk has you at the St Peter's Basilica and Castel Sant'Angelo.

Our room was perfect for any trip to Rome....the only negative was as it was out of season (12th November '12 and 23 degrees Celsius!) the a/c didn't work...,as we are Irish that's equal so our summer so while we wore t-shirts most wore jumpers this should not put anyone off.

Breakfast is lovely, a wide variety of all fresh food for everyone's taste. Rooftop garden is very pretty looking onto Vittorio Emanuele II monument.

Finally listen to the advice of the staff re:sight-seeing, restaurants etc they were so helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel benefits from a superb location just around the corner from the Forum and 10 minutes to the Colosseum, but located down an atmospheric side street. The Jewish Quarter is also close, as is the area around Piazza Navona for hip eating / drinking. In fact most of the major sights - Trevi fountain, Pantheon, Vatican City are all within walking distance.
Our room was quite small but comfortable. Service from the staff here was superb, even rustling us up breakfast after we missed it due to a heavy night! Could not have been more friendly and accommodating.
You will enjoy this hotel for it's superb central location, lovely staff and excellent all-round value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

we checked this hotel out on tripadvisor and got a great price on olotels booking site . the location as per title is excellent just a few minutes walk to many of the sites ,forum ,piazza venezia , across to trastevere trevi fountain pantheon etc .
the trip in from campino airport took about 35-40 minutes we just used the public taxi at 30euros,
The room and bathroom although not huge were big enough for the three of us, and were well presented very clean and comfortable , the beds were quite firm but then i like them like that .
We had arrived early and reception staff were very helpful with advice on attractions where to eat out , what areas not to go to etc etc . The breakfast offered plenty of choice and staff were very courteous friendly and willing to help. As has been mentioned elsewhere wifi coverage is patchy but then a few days away from technology is maybe a blessing !
We had stayed some time ago near the termini and didnt like walking out at night in that area , no such worries here ! to walk out and see the sites lit up at night here was wonderful . At the weekend traffic noise was light but on monday morning this obviously increased but not intrusively but then you are in the centre of rome .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We found this hotel on tripadvisor and it lived up to all of our expectations. We arrived at 9.30am not expecting to get our room until 2pm but our room was ready!! Contrary to some of the comments we always had a full range of food for breakfast. The location of the hotel is unbeatable, we walked to all of the main tourist attractions apart from the vatican which we traveled to by taxi but actually walked back.from. The Pantheon, Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill were all only 5 mins walk away as were the Piazza Navonne and Campo di Fiori.
The roof top garden was not open for breakfast (a bit fresh early morning at the end of October!) but it is still worth taking your coffee up there for the views. The staff at the hotel were extrememly friendly and helpful and we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. The location is brilliant and two of the reception staff were very helpful and pleasant. I am struggling to say anything else positiv.
I don't mind the small room and even smaller bathroom, but the bin wasn't emptied regulary, nowhere, apart from a small stool, to put your bags and the brown carpet in the bedroom and corridors told an unsavoury story; so many dirty stains. The roof terrace was closed on two occasions and looked rather deserted and not cared for. A very flustered, but pleasant lady got easily mixed up with the orders. 4 of us weren't allowed to put two tables together in the first of the dining room, but we were "allowed" in the other one. The "waiter" had any helpfullness and personality removed.
Perhaps it was a bit out of season, but even with the brilliant position in mind, I expect a little more for 240 Euros a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was amazing value.
The rooms were clean, good size, comfortbale, wifi and air conditioned.

The staff were extremely helpful and spoke English, assisting us with directions, attractions and printing.

The location was amazing, very central and within walking distance to most attractions, restraunts and bus routes.

Oh and there is a relaxing roof top bar.

Very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosianum Palace Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosianum Palace Rome

Address: Via dei Polacchi 23, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Piazza Venezia / Ancient City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,295 of 3,092 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hosianum Palace Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hosianum Palace Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosianum Palace Rome Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosianum Palace Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.