We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scheppers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scheppers Hotel to your Saves list
Scheppers Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bogliasco 36, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #787 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We had stayed at this Hotel in March 2015
Our Room was booked by our tour agent.
Rooms are not so large
Towels were clean
Breakfast is reasonable for Turkish
Cheese was Only one type
Egg was OK
Olive was available
You can Toast bread
Butter has Good taste

Hotel is outside city center
Taxi costs around 25 Euro from Downtown



Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    22
    25
    10
See reviews for
18
38
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We absolutely enjoyed our stay in that hotel,
Nice, quite and clean room "interesting decoration"
Polite welcoming and smiley reception they were very helpful and always available.
We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Very rude customer service from day 1 to day 8. It got so bad that I had to check out early. One very rude gentleman in particular, he could not be the manager as I refuse to believe anyone with that poor customer service could be management. Hotel should be a 1-2 star as it was more like a hostel. Any request for directions/advice was denied. To summarise my trip... I was denied toilet paper by the man at front desk.. I was expected one roll to last all week. It's sad that people pay good money to stay in this place

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolanda L, Direttore at Scheppers Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Dear Dhillo123,

Thank you very much for your review.

According to your review you have stayed this month at our hotel for 7/8 nights.
Today the 12th of March I have been checking all reservations and there is no reservation for such a long stay at our hotel between the 1st and the 12th of March.

Are you sure you have stayed at our hotel?

It is not possible reception staff refused to give toiletpaper or even that they didn't give information or directions.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We had booked to stay here for three nights in late February. Upon arrival the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. As we checked in the concierge told us that due an error in their booking system we were only staying here for one night and moving to their sister 4 star hotel in the centre of the city. We were a little disappointed but didn't complain as we were to tired and just wanted to get on with exploring. The hotel is a little out of the way of the big sights but it easy enough to use the public transport to get into the city. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was basic but as expected. It set us up for the day. On our second day the owner of the hotel took us to our new accommodation called C Luxury Apartment & Palace. And it was a Palace. A beautiful Italian town house converted into guest rooms. Traditional Italian interior, spacious comfy rooms that were beautiful. Full marble bathrooms and a terrace space for breakfast. We were very lucky as were the only ones booked in that weekend. The owner asked us when we wanted breakfast and he got up and made us fresh omelettes. We were a 20 minute walk from the Colosseum and a 5 minute walk from a metro I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It was absolutely fabulous. email contact: cluxuryapartment@hotmail.com As for the Scheppers, you get what you pay for, a little out of the city but it was clean with friendly staff.

Room Tip: There are three, I saw them all, they are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Slightly further out of the city than we hoped but we managed. The staff were very helpful and nice. They helped us out with any questions we had and helped us with travel options. The room was basic but passable. Nice hotel. Only downfall was the breakfast.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Hello. I just want to say a few words about hotel. Me and my girlfriend were staying for 4 nights at February 2015. Hotel its a bit far away from city centre. You have to take metro at main station called "Termini" and than bus number 247, all this will take you about 1 hour to get to the hotel, which is about 10 min walk from bus station. I read a lot about this hotel at trip advisor reviews and i was a little sceptic about stuff attitude, but they all proved it to be wrong. All receptionist (two guys and a girl) were very polite and willing to help you, also the guy who was at the breakfast which is very poor. You dont expect to get any sausages or some variety, dont even expect to get fresh bread, maybe first day, because every morning was less and less food at the breakfast, last day we even not get coffe. The room looks nice, clean, but the walls are really thin and you can hear practically everything your "neighbours" are doing. Dont even expect to get wifi in your room, its only possible at the reception and near by. So at the end, its hotel for low budget and you get what you pay for or even less.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Please make sure you read the last paragraph,

We had called the hotel to ask for directions after disembarking at the nearest metro station, we were misdirected by the lady who answered our call!

We then figured out which bus we should have taken instead and arrived at the nearest fermata,
thanks to google map we found the hotel which was hidden further back at the end of a stiff deserted hill!

Arrived much later than checkin time, we greeted the extremely rude staff that is coming up on all the previous comments, he looked busy and upset!
For a minute we thought maybe we shouldn't disturb him just in case he needed some time to grieve for whomever died recently and making him look that unhappy!

We then found it crucial to inform him that we are here because we had perviously booked a hotel room for a few days, he replied; well the room is not ready!!
We finally got a room on the ground floor that we asked him to change with one
on a different floor hopping to get some sort of view or a better setup or a less colourful wall or slightly bigger room, which we did.

We got two big towels and one small, 2 liquid soap dispensers.
We had asked the cleaning lady for any amenities but she said this is it!

We then saw the cleaning lady during breakfast,
she was there to replenish the croissants and the powder juice jars.

Breakfast items were disappearing each morning and the setting was getting smaller and smaller,
second morning the boiled eggs disappeared then on the third morning the eggs and cheese pieces disappeared then on the fourth morning the eggs, the cheese and the toast and the croissants disappeared..we were left with a sort of tart and milk and cereals.

After we discovered our room, we decided to go get some stuff from the nearby supermarket;

We went down the hill, walked to our left hand side, when we were about to arrive to the PANORAMA supermarket passing a sort of parking open space just near the highway my friend notices two men inside a car waving at us and showing us a police badge from like 5 meters away, so he goes to see what do they want, I told him not to go but he said they showed him a police badge so I follow.
We hardly see the driver and were addressed by the (Probably SouthAsian) man (in his 50's) next to him who showed the badge and spoke to us in perfect (Indian/Pakistani accent) english he said he is police and that he is checking for drugs, he spoke to us in a very dominating way that we didn't even have time to think or to believe what was going on, he asked to check our phones that he sniffed! and our wallets that he tampered with, when he gave me back my wallet I wanted to open and check on the spot but he shouted saying watch out for your money, don't take it out watch out for your money...quickly they took off and I checked to find I was missing 200Euros. We didn't call the police, we were tired, upset, mistreated, unwelcomed, and unhappy.
We mostly confined and confided to the 4 walls of our room for the rest of the stay.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scheppers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scheppers Hotel

Address: Via Bogliasco 36, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #787 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scheppers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scheppers hotel by Estèra has since December 2012 a new owner, and after renovations the new Scheppers hotel has opened his doors again.We welcome you to enjoy the new style of Scheppers hotel by Estèra. For more information call or write, we are happy to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Scheppers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scheppers Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scheppers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.