We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa to your Saves list
Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ippolito Nievo 25-27, 00153 Rome, Italy (Gianicolense)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #49 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent location but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

After spending just over a week in Naples and the Amalfi coast we arrived in at the Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa hotel and checked into our Junior Suite. As it seems with all large city hotels the room was quite small but was clean and decently decorated. After reading other reviews I looked forward to trying the fancy shower. It was indeed very good but it was so small. Anyone over six foot would struggle especially as there was a seat in it which could not be moved.
The receptionists were helpful even if it did take three request to get an extra pillow.
Breakfast was fine apart from the coffee out of the machine which was terrible. Ask the waiters for cappuccino which are freshly made and were excellent.
Also I know beer prices in a hotel are high but I do object paying five euros for a small bottle of beer.
The location was fine and the public transport links were excellent, tram 8 takes you to the Largo Argentina where there are numerous bus links or down to Trastevere station where you can catch a train to Fiumicino airport, bus number 3 takes you over to the Colloseum and the H bus takes you to central station. All stop within about fifty yards of the hotel.
However all in all I felt the hotel was overpriced especially after staying in excellent hotels and B&Bs on the Amalfi Coast which were half the price.
Trastavere is a good location which was quiet during the day but came alive at night with many restaurants and bars trying to attract your trade. Returning to Rome I would look at staying in the area but not at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    434
    102
    26
    10
See reviews for
265
606
49
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband and I have travelled to Italy multiple times and have stayed in many wonderful hotels. The hotel that we originally booked was "oversold" and we were taken here for the night. The room was dark-lamp didn't work--furniture was ripped--window did not close properly and we were on a busy street---we heard the noise from the street all night. It is not in a very nice or convenient area. The 4 star rating is not related to quality--it is related to services--ie if you have a restaurant with the hotel, you get a higher star rating. Hence, a 2 star hotel can be better than a 4.. It is a tired, not well-cared for hotel and needs a facelift. However, the front desk employees were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDeskManager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Dear Guest,

further to your review, we regrett to read that you did not enjoy your one night stay at the Trilussa Palace Hotel.
We know the trouble that you had with the hotel that you booked originally that was overbooking and at your arrival told you that you have to move to the Trilussa Palace Hotel.
Obviously this is not a good way to start a stay in a wonderful city as Rome.
Concerning our rooms, are dark at the guest's arrival as we close the "night curtain" to keep the room fresh for your first entry.
As you heared some noisy from the street there was really a problem with the window (all with double glass), that, in case you told us we reparired it immediately as we have a technicien permanence.
The area is really convenient if you move to visit Rome by public transportations.
With the public transports that stop in front of the hotel you can join the most important monuments (Example: tram 8 join in 7 minuts the city - bus 3 to join the Colosseum..)
We thank you for your suggestions that are really important to us.
All the staff thank you for the nice opinion about their service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

If this is a 4-star hotel they hide it well. Great location and clean but that's the best I can report. Otherwise it was the highest priced and lowest value lodging we experienced in our 2 1/2 week trip through Italy. The service is deplorable and I have a hand-written employee note substantiating same. We could not get a few extra hangers [2 requests], a phone that worked [until we complained twice], a working TV, proper directions [we missed a Vatican museum tour US $143.00 using their directions], help with dining reservations [only a note explaining our contact 'forgot' about our request], or even room service, again after nearly begging! Adding insult to injury, I used their taxi reservation service, heeding the advice I needed to leave for airport at 7:15 am for an 11:00 am departure which proved to be a needlessly tiring and unnecessarily long wait at airport. There must be better choices and I will find them next time! One last note: bring your own kleenex, none here!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDeskManager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Dear guest,

we regrett to read your review and your point of view about your stay and our services.
Concerning your phone, that you say was not working, this is really strange as you have also done more phone calls in Rome.
We can remember that as you didn't know that in Italy you pay the local phone calls (not as in USA) so that at the departure the manager offered you this service.
We find strange that you did not find the Vatican Museum, with our directions, as is an information that we give to our guests more times in a day and never someone came back to complain..
Your reservation for the restaurant was for the same evening or the evening later. As we did not book it for the same evening we called you twice on your mobile phone call to arrange that with you but you said us clearly that you do not need any help or reservation.
We also leave you a message in room to excuse that we did not do that for the first night ans saying that you can come back to us to arrange it for the second evening but we never had a reply.
Each time that we arrange a transfer service we choose the time of departure depending on the time that the guest would like to be at the airport, and is a thing that we ask automatically.
Actually, is not important as said at the begging the point of view but the fact that, as told in your review, we failed with our services.
We hope to improve and to welcome you again to show you our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Our original arrival date was delayed by two days due to snowstorms in the northeast. We contacted the hotel and they held our reservation without penalty and extended our checkout date at the original reservation rate. when we finally arrived, they knew who we were and upgraded our room for us (I think they knew we were exhausted not from the travel time, but the efforts taken to actually get us there considering the weather restrictions). The hotel is lovely and clean. It's small, but cozy, and all you really could need if you plan on seeing the city. The employees were wonderful, helped out with sightseeing plans, transportation and meal suggestions. Lorena Roman, the manager of the hotel was constantly present and extremely accommodating. For personal reasons, I won't go into detail, but she helped out with a last minute request due to some personal problems. We were only there a week, but because of the wonderful location (so close to the city, and a charming, neighborood area), we will definitely stay there again. If you are looking for a small, clean, charming place to stay that is off the beaten path, but close enough to walk or a short train hop to the city, then the Trilussa Palace is for you. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We booked on the hotel website and managed to get a special deal simply by reading the 'specials' and following the instructions! Our deal included free airport transfer, breakfast, a room upgrade, 1 dinner for 2, use of the spa, and 10% off other hotel facilities vouchers.

We were met at the airport, no problems. On arrival the receptionist did not give us a detailed check in, and was not very informative. The porter who carried our bags to our room was far more vocal in his explanation of the shower. We believe we were upgraded to a junior suite, having read other reviews on this site, and were delighted by the cleanliness, the fabulous sleep and balcony.

Breakfast was average, in fact we only drank tea / coffee on 2 mornings... it could be improved with a selection of fresh fruits, a larger variety of breads/ cheeses/ hams... but there was nothing to complain about, and what was available was edible.

The dinner we ate in the restaurant was fabulous, it's only a shame about the atmosphere as we were the only couple from our main course onwards, background music would have made a difference!

Drinks (beers and spirits) in the bar were ridiculously expensive, a bottle of wine we ordered was delicious and value for money. We would recommend you utilise your minibar over using the hotel bar.

What a treat the spa offered - there was a special offer for weekend guests in the lift, so for E40 each we had a 30 minute massage and 30 minute private use of the spa - definitely recommeded after sore feet from wandering Roman Streets! Our 2nd spa experience was a free offer we received with the reservation - and that was one of the most perfect hour's of our trip to Rome.

The number 3 bus took us to the Colloseum, tram 8 to the centre of Rome - everything was walkable from there. The staff in the hotel were very good at answering queries, however weren't forthcoming in suggestions.

On check-out we were given vouchers we should have received at the start of our stay - which was a little poor (as we'd known about them we'd made the most of them). Reception could polish their act up, there could be an information bundle in the rooms detailing the hotel's facilities, but this is really just me picking holes for the hotel to improve - not things that disrupted our stay.

I must mention the Gastro restaurant (turn left on leaving the hotel - 1 block) - fabulous food and well priced - if you don't fancy going far and discovering Rome at night eat there!

All in all a fabulous stay - thank you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

My wife and I were in Rome to visit our daughter who is studying in Rome this semester. All of the gentlemen working at the hotel front desk and bar were so friendly, professional and helpful. The hotel is clean, and the plumbing is modern. The location by the number 8 tram is so convenient and allows one to avoid unnecessary very expensive taxi rides. The hotel is a real find if staying 10 minutes outside of the historic center works well for the traveller.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

this hotel is ideally located 10 mins from centre of town on tram. tram stop outside front door, service second to none, again as in previous reviews, paolo exceptional with help regarding directions etc and that smile!! hotel room well appointed , comfortable bed,very clean.Within walking distance to trastevere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa

Address: Piazza Ippolito Nievo 25-27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#61 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#80 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trilussa Palace Hotel Congress & SPA is an exclusive place for who wants to spend a pleasant holiday in Rome. Thanks to its location is the ideal place for discovering the beauties of the city in comfort. The hotel offers different types of rooms to meet the different needs of its guests: who travels with family, for business, for couples and for friends. After a day of walking or working, guests can finally enjoy a relaxing atmosphere in the exclusive SPA and being pampered by massages, rose petals and hot drinks. The historical centre is easily accessible. The hotel is indeed located in Trastevere area, a few minutes walk from Santa Maria in Trastevere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trilussa Palace Congress And Spa
Trilussa Palace Congress Hotel Rome
Trilussa Palace Congress Rome
Trilussa Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.