We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood....but.......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Navona Gallery & Garden Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Navona Gallery & Garden Suites to your Saves list
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via del Governo Vecchio 73, 00186 Rome, Italy (Formerly Navona Suites Rome)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 2,888 Rome B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood....but.......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just returned from staying at the Navona Garden Suites. Let me mention the positives first.....Camelia is wonderful. She goes out of her way to make sure all goes well. She is a shining star! The other positive is the neighborhood. However.....we stayed in the DaVinci 2 Suites....it is not a suite merely a room with two double beds. And the breakfast??? If you consider breakfast prepacked brioche and make your own American coffee, you will feel right at home. Plus the coffee had expired January 2012!! In all my years of travel, have never seen anything like this...and the room is not inexpensive!! There is also not even a safe in the room. And there is only someone at the front desk from 8:00am to 7:00pm. I agree with another reviewer...stay at a three star hotel and get the amenities that will make your stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    47
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
108
141
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We wanted to celebrate our 30th anniversary, exploring Rome. The Navona Gallery Suites were recommended by a friend, so we happily booked a week there. When we arrived at the airport, exhausted from traveling from California to Rome, we were met in the baggage claim area by a very courteous driver, who brought us to a charming little street and took our bags up to a large, antique wooden door. We were then met by the wonderful, helpful concierge, Traiain, who escorted us to the check in area and proceeded to map out the entire city for us, and welcome us to our room. I can't give enough credit to him and also the sweet chambermaid and the beautiful, helpful assistant-concierge (Maria). Throughout the week we were with them, they helped us with any and every little detail or question we had. From booking tours and trains to surprising us with some special anniversary treats in our room. We would happily stay there again, any time we return to Rome. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our stay at Navona Garden Suites in June was amazing. We were given a free upgrade to the Michaelangelo Room, that proved to be ample in space.

There was nothing we could fault. From the minute we were greeted at the door by the beautiful Camelia and Traian to our final goodbye - the staff were exceptional. We felt welcomed and accommodated in every way possible, a charming place and fantastic location.

The room was spotless and the building provided a real feeling of Rome.
Lots of great cafes and restaurants close by.

We cannot recommend the place highly enough

We will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I had a frustrating experience at a hostel called the Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse, therefore on our last night, we stumbled across this hotel and it felt very 'meant to be'.

The owner & other staff member welcomed us with open arms. Originally, they weren't sure they'd have a room for the night & even called around other places on our behalf! Then, they realised they had one opening for the evening & made it work for us. We counted our losses & ditched our other place in a heartbeat.

The room was absolutely delightful. We got a double bed each, kitchenette, bathroom & heaps of room! The whole decor has an antique vibe & there were lots of great extras: coffee machine, different types of tea & a cool soap/shampoo/conditioner dispenser in the shower.

The setting felt very 'Eat Pray Love' & is located in a gorgeous hot spot which to us felt like the heart of Rome. There are heaps of great places to eat all around and they give you great recommendations too.

For the ultimate holiday experience, I recommend the Navona Garden Suites!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I cannot over-emphasize how great this property is. It is literally one block off of the Navona Square which is in the heart of everthing. The property is fairly easy to find, once you get your bearings, but you would miss it if you are not careful as it is sandwiched between two restaurants. My family (wife and two teenage sons 18, 15), booked the Michelangelo Suite. It was two bedrooms, two baths with living area and kitchen. But the real selling point of this room is the garden terrace. You walk out onto your terrace and it is so peaceful (except for some loud birds). After every day we sat out and had a glass of wine before dinner. Then after dinner we came back and played cards or some other game. The television literally never came on. Their was plenty of linen and it was cleaned very well. The staff is very nice and accomodating. They gave great recommendations for places to eat and made sure we were happy. The apartment comes with breakfast foods. If you are coming from America, this is not your typical breakfast foods...mostly bread, croissants, juices, milk and cereal, ham and salami. If you want something hot, you need to go out. But, there is so much good food in Rome, breakfast is the least of your issues. Bottom line, if you go, find this B&B and enjoy.

Room Tip: If you have a family, get the Michelangelo suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My family of four (husband and two children aged 11 and 9) stayed here during a two day stay in Rome at the tail end of a mediterranean cruise. We were excited to see that it was located in the middle of a charming cobblestone street brimming with restaurants, interesting shops and the best gelato in Rome (Frigidarium).

Traian made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and upgraded us free of charge to a huge apartment on the 2nd floor. We had two king beds in a very large room (extremely comfortable!!!) and a separate kitchen area with a couch and table. The large room had a charming balcony which allowed you to look out onto the bustling street below to see all the action.

The refrigerator in the room was amply stocked with breakfast items and juice and the location could not be better. It is around the corner from Piazza Navona and we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. We walked to the Vatican City, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Campo dei Fiori etc. I don't think you could get a better location.

It is a very family friendly B&B with a beautiful garden terrace and all the staff met our every need and made us feel so welcome.

We did notice we could hear some noise the first night (not sure if it was from the room next door or the street below). It did stop by about 11 PM or so and my husband thinks it was due to the people in the neighbouring room not having closed the doors to their little balcony. The 2nd night was very quiet.

This location is great value for the money and is the only place we would stay when we return to Rome! (We threw coins in the Trevi Fountain so I know we will be back).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This B&B is located very close to Piazza Navona on a street packed with restaurants and people walking. You'll have to drop off your bags at Pizza Pasquino and walk a few meters to get there (no big deal). Thankfully all the rooms are toward the back of the Palazzo so you will enjoy the quiet by night and the chaos on the street by day and evening. The staff is helpful and charming. They will do your laundry for 4 euros a kilo (including ironing), which is pretty good. The breakfast is really poor and there is nothing fresh - you have to make your own coffee in an automatic brewer. They have a beautiful open air lounge and a covered one as well and they could easily offer a basic breakfast - pretty shameful in my opinion. My other complaint is that the hot water was also lacking in hot water, something I haven't seen in 20 years in Italy.

Room Tip: Take a room on the ground floor in the back. No steps to worry about except at the entrance of the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Navona Gallery & Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navona Gallery & Garden Suites

Address: Via del Governo Vecchio 73, 00186 Rome, Italy (Formerly Navona Suites Rome)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 2,888 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Navona Gallery & Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Navona Gallery & Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navona Gallery Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navona Gallery & Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.