We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archimede

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Archimede to your Saves list
Archimede
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Mille 19, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #864 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Carmarthen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“School Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in thins hotel for only a few nights and overall everything was good. The rooms are big and well cleaned the only problem I had was the fat that there was no shower curtain but over all very impressed for the price we paid

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or just one that is facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    65
    98
    41
    29
See reviews for
38
90
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester-le-St
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Has a 3 day break in Rome and found the city beautiful but spoilt by graffitti everywhere even on the white vans.We stayed at the Archimede hotel which was nice and clean and did the job.The rooms were nice and the shower isnt a problem just swivel the head on the shower and dont shower for ages.The braskfast was a bit chaotic as you had to try and find atable and if a bus load were staying then it was difficult as they all came down together.Maps are availab,e on the reception desk and the women were most helpful, the men not so(english visitors?) The termini is round the corner from this hotel which was very handy as we caught the termini express from the main airport (fiminchino).We walked to all the visitor sites at colusseum,spanish steps,trevi fountain,vatican and pantheon but be warned the footpaths are dreadful and we were pestered non stop by sellers trying to sell us umbrellas as it was raining for two days.We did a guided tour of the vatican which was brilliant for 3 hrs(long enough) through viador.Beware at the spanish steps of pick pockets you can spot them and watch out at the colusseum as the people dressed as romans or gladiators charge quite a bit for photos beside them (they are self employed) and work in groups Charging everyone in the photo!.The pantheon is fabulous dont miss it do go inside and at the trevi fountain be careful of the people trying to take photos of you, they charge even if they use YOUR CAMERA. The best place to get a drink is in the tabacchis where you stand around a table, dont forget to pay first and then go to the bar for your drinks and a small tip is required.Keep out of the irish bars they charge a fortune for drinks and if you go into an italian bar and sit down to drink with a waiter/barman service you will be charged different prices for sitting down as standing up at the bar.There are plenty of restaurants around but try to keep off the touristy ones as the better tasting food is found in the side streets.A fabulous place to visit and i would go back but have a good pair of walking shoes with you as you cant see anything on the metro.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has excellent access to termini station and a good central location many reviews state it as terrible but it is brilliant for school/ field trips due to the cleanliness of the rooms and the comfort of sleeping arrangements the beds are comfortable and the bedrooms are spacious considering I shared with two friends they added an extra bed for a unseen reason so there was four beds instead of the three required however this became useful for storing suitcases. The safety deposit box is brilliant for keeping your goods in however you will need to ask reception for instructions. the tv is easy to use. The staff are relatively friendly however speak little English. If there is not enough room in a bathroom then do not put a bidet in however I think the bathroom could do with a shower curtain as water made the bathroom a swimming pool. This hotel is definatly not 4* more like high level 2* Low level 3*.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

No it's not a 4*hotel, but a nice 3*star hotel. So if you don't have high expectations, you are good to go. Best thing about the hotel was the location, very close to Termini train station and metro.Hotels around Termini are mostly buildings turned into hotels, so rooms are generally small. Beds in the room were comfortable. There was no shower curtain in the bathroom, so every time we take a shower, bathroom was all wet, which did not make sense at all, because it's really easy to fix. Hair dryer was from another century, only had energy for itself. Breakfast was awful, please do your taste buds a favor and get your breakfast somewhere else with delicious croissants & of course cappuccino in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

if you stay at archimede, make sure you walk or get a cab to babbo,s restauraunt , really nice and price ok, sabrina and maria and john are freindy, and the male owner, the only thing that spoiled our stay was we seen so much in 4 days, and walked too far, anyone going on the "dark rome" walking trip should really enjoy, but 3 hour walk, and we made a mistake of getting up in manchester, at 3am, getting to airport for 4am, flight at 6am, arrived at 10am, slept till 2pm, got up no time to eat, when we finished the tour at 6pm, we were soooooh hungry, went to the la familie restaurant, nice cold beer and had lots of , food, releived, but not great restaurant, i personally watched a 20 year old thief at work on the metro, watching , looking, and waiting for his chance, my wife loved the trip, i found it a bit boring, either a designer shop, macdonalds shop, church, or ancient mansion on every street, the colliseum is good, and like babbos, should be a daily visit, unfit walkers , "beware", lol,

Room Tip: all rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Hotel is 4* officialy, but I would say 3*. It has a good location, near Statione Termini and Metro station.
Rooms are comfortable, but I had a feeling toilets were not perfetly clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, ct
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here with a group of students on a schools trip. We were spread out in the hotel in groups and as a sinlge room, it was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Even compared to NYC, there was enough room for the bed and the desk and then the bathroom. The bathroom was stressful because there was a tub, but no shower curtain! If the floor got wet during a shower, if you slipped you could die by smashing into either the toilet or the bidet or the sink because it was so small!! There was free wifi in the hotel, but it did not reach the rooms so you'd need to be in the lobby to use it when it was working. Located near the train station which was nice though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Archimede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archimede

Address: Via dei Mille 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#296 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Archimede 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Archimede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archimede Rome
Hotel Archimede Rome
Archimede Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archimede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.