We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel not 4*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archimede

Save Saved
You added Archimede to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Archimede
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Mille 19, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #876 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel not 4*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has excellent access to termini station and a good central location many reviews state it as terrible but it is brilliant for school/ field trips due to the cleanliness of the rooms and the comfort of sleeping arrangements the beds are comfortable and the bedrooms are spacious considering I shared with two friends they added an extra bed for a unseen reason so there was four beds instead of the three required however this became useful for storing suitcases. The safety deposit box is brilliant for keeping your goods in however you will need to ask reception for instructions. the tv is easy to use. The staff are relatively friendly however speak little English. If there is not enough room in a bathroom then do not put a bidet in however I think the bathroom could do with a shower curtain as water made the bathroom a swimming pool. This hotel is definatly not 4* more like high level 2* Low level 3*.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    51
    79
    34
    26
See reviews for
34
78
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

No it's not a 4*hotel, but a nice 3*star hotel. So if you don't have high expectations, you are good to go. Best thing about the hotel was the location, very close to Termini train station and metro.Hotels around Termini are mostly buildings turned into hotels, so rooms are generally small. Beds in the room were comfortable. There was no shower curtain in the bathroom, so every time we take a shower, bathroom was all wet, which did not make sense at all, because it's really easy to fix. Hair dryer was from another century, only had energy for itself. Breakfast was awful, please do your taste buds a favor and get your breakfast somewhere else with delicious croissants & of course cappuccino in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

if you stay at archimede, make sure you walk or get a cab to babbo,s restauraunt , really nice and price ok, sabrina and maria and john are freindy, and the male owner, the only thing that spoiled our stay was we seen so much in 4 days, and walked too far, anyone going on the "dark rome" walking trip should really enjoy, but 3 hour walk, and we made a mistake of getting up in manchester, at 3am, getting to airport for 4am, flight at 6am, arrived at 10am, slept till 2pm, got up no time to eat, when we finished the tour at 6pm, we were soooooh hungry, went to the la familie restaurant, nice cold beer and had lots of , food, releived, but not great restaurant, i personally watched a 20 year old thief at work on the metro, watching , looking, and waiting for his chance, my wife loved the trip, i found it a bit boring, either a designer shop, macdonalds shop, church, or ancient mansion on every street, the colliseum is good, and like babbos, should be a daily visit, unfit walkers , "beware", lol,

Room Tip: all rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Hotel is 4* officialy, but I would say 3*. It has a good location, near Statione Termini and Metro station.
Rooms are comfortable, but I had a feeling toilets were not perfetly clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, ct
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here with a group of students on a schools trip. We were spread out in the hotel in groups and as a sinlge room, it was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Even compared to NYC, there was enough room for the bed and the desk and then the bathroom. The bathroom was stressful because there was a tub, but no shower curtain! If the floor got wet during a shower, if you slipped you could die by smashing into either the toilet or the bidet or the sink because it was so small!! There was free wifi in the hotel, but it did not reach the rooms so you'd need to be in the lobby to use it when it was working. Located near the train station which was nice though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012. The room was nice, but a little dark, so you had to open the curtains/windows the whole time. The bathroom was clean, however we did have a few problems with the shower, and the toilet seat. The towels were fine and clean. The bed sheets were not very nice, they were heavy, and seemed over used and old.
The breakfast was not outstanding, but acceptable. There was bread, toast, croissants, yogurts and fruit, and a coffee/hot chocolate machine which was nice.
I liked how in the lobby there was comfy sofas, which you could sit on and use the free wifi.
The hotel was very near the train station
The room was not noisy on the 2nd floor, there was a bit of street noise though, but not bother able.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I was in November of 2011 at this hotel. General impression - positive.
The rooms are clean, clean every day, but faded white towels.
Shampoo, soap, disposable shower caps are changing every day.
Note that if you turn off the overhead light, then stop working outlet (charging mobilephone, camera).
It is desirable to have an adapter for the outlet.
Breakfast is monotonous, but fresh: croissants, bread rolls, kiwi fruit, tangerines, cereal,2-3 kinds of sausages and cheese, tea and coffee.
Convenient location - the main advantage of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Archimede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archimede

Also Known As:
Archimede Hotel
Archimede Rome
Hotel Archimede Rome
Archimede Hotel Rome
Address: Via dei Mille 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#296 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Archimede 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Archimede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archimede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.