We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest Room Ever!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Archimede

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Archimede to your Saves list
Archimede
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Mille 19, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #895 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
washington, ct
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Smallest Room Ever!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here with a group of students on a schools trip. We were spread out in the hotel in groups and as a sinlge room, it was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Even compared to NYC, there was enough room for the bed and the desk and then the bathroom. The bathroom was stressful because there was a tub, but no shower curtain! If the floor got wet during a shower, if you slipped you could die by smashing into either the toilet or the bidet or the sink because it was so small!! There was free wifi in the hotel, but it did not reach the rooms so you'd need to be in the lobby to use it when it was working. Located near the train station which was nice though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    67
    102
    44
    31
See reviews for
40
93
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012. The room was nice, but a little dark, so you had to open the curtains/windows the whole time. The bathroom was clean, however we did have a few problems with the shower, and the toilet seat. The towels were fine and clean. The bed sheets were not very nice, they were heavy, and seemed over used and old.
The breakfast was not outstanding, but acceptable. There was bread, toast, croissants, yogurts and fruit, and a coffee/hot chocolate machine which was nice.
I liked how in the lobby there was comfy sofas, which you could sit on and use the free wifi.
The hotel was very near the train station
The room was not noisy on the 2nd floor, there was a bit of street noise though, but not bother able.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I was in November of 2011 at this hotel. General impression - positive.
The rooms are clean, clean every day, but faded white towels.
Shampoo, soap, disposable shower caps are changing every day.
Note that if you turn off the overhead light, then stop working outlet (charging mobilephone, camera).
It is desirable to have an adapter for the outlet.
Breakfast is monotonous, but fresh: croissants, bread rolls, kiwi fruit, tangerines, cereal,2-3 kinds of sausages and cheese, tea and coffee.
Convenient location - the main advantage of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very clean with helpful staff. The location could not be improved the main drawback for my personal wants was the lack of a bar in the hotel,although there are bars near by. Breakfast was typical continental but plentiful.Very easy access to all forms of transport. We would gladly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend, the price was reasonable. The location is central and a few minutes from Termini train Station. We had a hire car and there was ample parking outside however there was a charge on the street meter during the day.

The staff acknowledged you but that's about it. Wouldn't say they were great.

The hotel is clean, the rooms on the small side and the decor a little dated in design, they are comfortable.

Breakfast was not great was continental, lots of cold meats, good if you like that.

We said we would stay here again but that would depend on the price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The hotel is near Termini with excellent connection with other parts of Rome. Bathroom could use a towel rack, and breakfast was rather disappointing. Breadrolls are one of the worst I've had. I did not like the lighting in the room. We could not adjust it - if one switch was off, the whole room was without light. So, finally, we had to unsrew some of the bulbs to make it work.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a sister hotel of Noto Rome, so i don't have a high expectation. The rooms are way smaller than Noto. Very dusty... My feet became black after walking around the room.

I need a vacuum for my vacuum bag and this is the first hotel which doesn't have a vacuum. That explains the dusty rooms.

The bathroom is a bit weird as they don't have any curtain at the bath tub. When you are taking a shower, u have to sit or kneel down. If not, the water will splatter everywhere.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Archimede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archimede

Address: Via dei Mille 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archimede 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Archimede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archimede Rome
Hotel Archimede Rome
Archimede Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archimede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.