We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ferrarese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ferrarese to your Saves list
Hotel Ferrarese
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo, 76, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #926 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Huntington Beach, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

I am fair man and I would not write a review if I did not feel strongly about it. In Rome, if all goes well you will get what you pay for. The Hotel Ferrarse is about the least expensive lodging around. I didn’t expect much on my arrival.

The staff was unfriendly. The room was dirty (even for a cheap place). The bathroom emitted sewage orders into the room. Do not stay there.

HERE IS THE GOOD PART: The Hotel Milo is in the same building, on the same floor (you can’t miss it). The Hotel Milo was priced about the same and gave me great value. They have very helpful staff and many more amenities. STAY AT THE HOTEL MILO.

Dave

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    24
    32
    15
    14
See reviews for
18
23
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for one night with my mother in November 2004.

Good things first: cheap (55 euro for a double room), close to Termini and reasonably clean room.

Bad things: inconvenient small room and bathroom, awkward layout (reception on the second floor, rooms on the 4th floor, noise from the crridor when other guest come/leave, unpleasant reception).

Conclusion: the hotel is an acceptable budget option for one night stay, I would not recommend it for longer stays.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2005

The Hotel office is 32 steps up, on the "first floor." There is a small elevator which can be used. The rooms are on the fourth floor, which is 108 (five-inch) steps above street level. The elevator will take you there.
We were in a quad-person room, overlooking Principe Amedeo street. It was very noisy with the windows open, and mildly noisy with the windows closed.
There was a small bathroom, with one towel rack. The shower consisted of shower pipes in the corner of the bathroom, with a curtain composing the other two walls of the shower.
There was no soap dish in the shower.
The towels were unique, like linen, rather than terrycloth.
There was one five-by-five inch washcloth for the four of us.
The soap was typical cheap-hotel-soap which barely lathered and seemd to leave a film on your face.
The bed was hard. I didn't sleep well.
The pillow was hard, and flat, even after I bent it double.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was not included, but was five Euros if you wanted to pay for it.
We got bread from a local bakery and croissants from the Bontempi Bar on Farini Street for breakfast. There is a fruit stand two blocks away by the train station where you can buy fruit.
There are numerous pizzerias, ristorantes and trattorias in the area. There is a McDonalds and a PastOrita by the train station.
It was amusing to this American to find the Italian Chinatown two blocks away. I can barely read Italian, much less Chinese Italian.
It wasn't the greatest place, but it was tolerable, if you don't mind a bit of street noise at night. It was actually entertaining to hang out the window and watch the action down below.
It isn't the type of place you stay for the hotel experience. It is the type of place you come back to at night for some sleep before hitting more sights early the next day.
I would stay there again. I'm not very picky.
My wife gave it two stars out of five stars.
My adult children gave it three stars out of five stars.
For you Internet addicts, there is a high-speed Internet point two doors down which charges one Euro for 30 minutes. It really was a fast connection.
The hotel itself has an Internet point for one Euro per hour, but it looks a bit old. I didn't try it.
The location of the hotel by the train station is good. The bus station is there. The Metro (subway) station is there. You can get to anywhere in Rome any way from the train station area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2005

Do not book there, unless you agree on paying 130 eur a night for a 2 stars hotel (no breakfast, basic furniture and ugly decoration), and not sleep the whole night !

The rooms are VERY basic, the showers designed in such a way that you end up transforming the whole bathroom into a pool when you shower, the towels are a joke, and it is the noisiest hotel I have ever experienced (we could hear people getting in and out the whole night, the reception guy was watching loud tv... ) We asked to change room, and after many discussions, the reception guy agreed on showing us another room with an atrocious smell coming from the bathroom.
We were relieved to leave, and never get back there again.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2005

For the price (70 euro a night) rooms are modern, with enough space to move around.

Tiled floors, nice ensuite, but the smallest towels I have ever seen!! Seriously in Australia we call this size/ fabric teatowls (as in for drying your dishes).

No breakfast included, but no problems as we were never up that early. Great local food & coffee.

Ferrarese is walking distance to everything!! Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ferrarese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ferrarese

Address: Via Principe Amedeo, 76, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #926 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ferrarese 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ferrarese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrarese Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ferrarese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.