We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no more- Excellent hospitality, romantic room, beautiful balcony, and a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Romano
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Corrado Ricci 32, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #104 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Look no more- Excellent hospitality, romantic room, beautiful balcony, and a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The front desk staff were always friendly and very helpful. We looked forward to coming back to Hotel Romano each night after seeing the sights. Our stay was for 5 nights, and each night was perfect.

Clean and safe rooms, brand newly remodeled decor which was very romantic. The shower was a sufficient stall, immaculate and full of high pressured hot water, ahhhh. Perfectly sized for a couple, smartly filled with storage solutions, a safe, writing desk and mini-fridge.

Breakfast is not included, but right down in front of the hotel was a great sidewalk cafe which offered a discount to Hotel Romano guests. We ate there every morning, and it was great. An Italian breakfast (pastry, juice, cappuccino) ran 5euro each- very good price. Also right in front is a "tobacco" shop (notice the large T in front) it sells everything you need like postcards, cigars, RomaPass, etc-- like a convenience store.

Be sure to "Google map street view" the hotel so you can find it. It is behind the sidewalk cafe tents. If I hadn't done that we probably could have missed it. The entrance looks identical to the photos on T.A. - very inviting. They will have a Hotel Romano sign out on the sidewalk also.

Other common things in Italy apply here- you leave the key at the desk when you leave for the day, very nice not to worry you will lose it. Electricity is expensive in Italy, and the power to the room is controlled by a key on the room key ring, so you must charge your electronics while in the room. Great quality Wifi for free too. The elevator is large for Italian standards, but if you are claustrophobic just take the beautiful marble stairs :) We fit in it just fine with both of our bags.

VERY close to all Ancient Rome! Book the Deluxe double room with balcony- our room 403 had an excellent view! As most T.A. contributors I did a lot of research, and walked by the locations of other properties I was considering during our visit to Rome. I am so happy I chose Hotel Romano, and you will be too.

Room Tip: Balcony Room is worth it! Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
29
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and friends enjoyed a lovely visit in Rome and had the pleasure of staying in the Hotel Romano.
It's classically decorated yet modern enough. The room was clean and had a nice balcony. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's situated down the road from the Colosseum and opposite ancient roman ruins. It's right next to a street with plenty of restaurants but not too close so that you hear them. Fully recommend!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed in Rome for a few days in February this year. We were really pleased with the hotel, nicely decorated, quite a small room, but clash and cosy. Quite glitzy decor which I found romantic. We had a balcony from which we could see some of the forum. The location is excellent. Right next to colleseum and forum aswell as very close to some great eateries. Also very near the tube station.
There's nowhere to eat in the actual hotel, but a great cafe right outside the door.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My fiancée took me to Rome for my birthday the hotel is situated just round corner from collesium it's a perfect location for all attractions and there are plenty of restaurants near by
Hotel was lovely and clean we had balcony and view was amazing

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Good staff, cozy rooms .. But the location beats all hands down.. Take a map from the reception & you can cover all the ancient places of Rome by walking .. In case you cannot walk, bus top is 50 metres & metro stop is 200 metres from the Hotel..

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

The second round in Rome this trip required another hotel since there were more of us this time. So again to TripAdvisor for suggestions. Hotel Romano was the best surprise of the trip by far! When the taxi driver kept going around in circles, we got nervous, but when he finally got close enough to drop us off, we were even more nervous. The hotel is right off Via dei Fori Imperiali on Largo Corrado Ricci... about exactly half way between "The Typewriter" and the "Collosseo". Ideal for seeing the great sites of ancient Rome, but also a major traffic area. Fortunately we arrived on the weekend and the Via dei Fori Imperiali was closed to traffic! The hotel is tucked in behind the outdoor seating of several restaurants and the lobby barely held the four of us and our luggage, but the rooms were decently sized and very well appointed. The bathroom was modern and clean! The beds comfortable and the wifi very good! We received recommendations from the gentleman that checked us in and for all the places we went to eat that he recommended, the best was right across the street! I highly recommend the lasagna at Massenzio Ai Fori and my travelmates would concur as we had to go back a second time since I was the only one smart enough to order it the first time. Truly, the hotel is in one of the best locations in all of Rome. You almost stumble over ancient Rome when you walk out the front door. Great food, shopping and sites are all around it! Next trip to Rome, I'll stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night in November. It's a very nice boutique hotel in a perfect location.
My room had a balcony with a view of the Imperial Forums that was just great. The room is very nice and the bathroom is as well, not very big but about what you'd expect in central Rome.
Staff were very helpful, no breakfast included however.
Overall a very nice hotel with nothing negative I can say about it

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romano

Address: Largo Corrado Ricci 32, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#115 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Romano 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish boutique hotel completely renovated with taste and refinement. Each floor with decor of different color and types. Password: friendliness and hospitality. Location: enchanting, opposite the Roman Forum, between the Coliseum and Piazza Venezia. Atmosphere: Romantic, sophisticated and warm. Perfect combination for a unique holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Romano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Romano Rome
Albergo Romano Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.