We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUYER BEWARE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Hotel to your Saves list
Sunrise Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cilento 3 | Montesacro, 141 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #658 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BUYER BEWARE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

BEAWARE that this hotel takes advantage of its foreign customers!

At checkout, we were charged 90euros in unknown fees-- almost the cost of another hotel rate. The hotel takes advantage of the American/European room difference and makes guests pay additional room charges for more than 2 guests per room. What A RIP OFF!! And in Rome, they charge an additional city tax per night, per guest. We ended paying the cost of another night hotel stay just in fees.. $120!

And dont be fooled, this hotel is not 4 star-quality... AT ALL! We found mold in the bathroom, small-sized european rooms, twin beds, and no dressers.

THIS HOTEL IS NOT RECOMMENDED. There are closer hotels in the city without these ridiculous fees.

But, the receptionist was kind and to ensured we got to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    95
    56
    22
    11
See reviews for
32
101
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean and breakfast ok. The safe did not work so w had to leave our valuables at the reception. The bed was not very comfortable and the location not too great. It's quite far from the city so lots of time is wasted on transport from hotel to the main sites. Quite a walk to the bus station which is not convenient if you have heavy luggage. For the price we paid it was okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Negative: Hotel met us with only one king bed in the room for two adult men. Thus we had to pay for one extra room. You are visible thru window in the restroom from neighbor houses. No restaurant except breakfast room, no pool, no gym etc. Why they placed four stars on an entrance? Should be not more than two.
Positive: Quite place for the good rest after long day walking around a city. Breakfast is usual for southern Europe - poor, but delicious. Good connections with the city center by bus. Charges are affordable for Rome.

Room Tip: Go higher from neighbor habitant's eyes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, for a weekend break in march and had a great stay! Hotel is spotless, our room was spacious and comfortable, all staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good, fantastic croissants! Only down side is that it's slightly out of the city, although there is very regular busses into the city centre and transport is cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's a clean hotel with English speaking staff. Very good breakfasts, the TV had also Polish channels. It felt wonderful to come back there after an intense day. The neighborhood is truly Roman, definately less "touristy". Make sure to check out the romantic Roman bridge in the nearby park.

Drawbacks: The doors from other rooms slam really loud, I was woken up by it almost every day.
Coming back from the city center for an afternoon nap is not really an option, as it takes about an hour each way. The roof garden and jacuzzi need a spring cleaning.

Room Tip: Adjacent to our room there were two others, maybe that it why I heard the slams. Ask for a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

While renovating my own apartment I spent with my wife and my little girl few days of vacation in this nice hotel. I enjoyed the fact that in 20 minutes I was downtown Rome (with just one bus) and later on in the afternoon I could come back, relax and enjoy the quiet area where the hotel is located. Very nice “terrazzo” at the fifth floor and a beautiful garden at ground floor. The guys at the reception are really nice and helpful. The breakfast is very good, with many options from salty stuff to sweet one. I would have preferred a bathroom with the shower...
Many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend and I just got back from this hotel where we stayed three nights. The hotel itself is very nice. Large rooms, English speaking staff, on a main bus route and free breakfast. The only downside is that it is relatively far from the city . .approximately a 30 minute bus ride that is always cramped. If you have a lot of days and time, this hotel is ideal. If you only have two or three days to explore Rome, you may want to try and find a place closer to town so you don't have to deal with the hassle of the buses.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel

Address: Via Cilento 3 | Montesacro, 141 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#251 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sunrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.