We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel del Gianicolo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #595 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is not in one of the major touristic zones, which, at least for some travelers, will be very appealing. There is an underground garage for parking, and there is a charge, but compared to what it costs to park in most places in Rome, the charge is modest (20 euros a day). The staff is super efficient and super helpful and extremely polite. The breakfasts are included and are very sumptuous....a real buffet. And the view from the breakfast level is great, you can see the Vatican, St. Peter's and a big chunk of Rome, as the hotel sits on a hill. If you are in reasonable shape, the Vatican and the central city (Forum area, Via del Corso) are within walking distance although this is not something to do in the summer when it is hot and humid. The 870 bus runs right past the hotel and can take you to and from the hilltop into the city. There is a comfortable neighborhood bar immediately adjacent to the hotel, which has its own restaurant as well. The surrounding area is very historical, there was a lot of fighting in 1848-1849 in the area between Garabaldi and his supporters and the French troops who were trying to restore the pope to his domains.

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer windows on two sides, and a lot more ventilation and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    89
    51
    28
    12
See reviews for
48
95
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The Hotel is located just next to the Gianicolo Hill which offers a great view of Rome, the Vatican, lovely roman pines and the Tevere river. the breakfast room of the Hotel is on the 4th floor and you can enjoy the view from the big windows all around, including St. Peters Dome.
By the way, the breakfast is opulent, great italian crispy rolls, croissants to die for, cheese and salami and caprese salad and espresso or capucino when asked for, and various cakes, granola etc.
the room was not big, but had air-condition and a modern shower and was cleaned every day, of course. the staff is helpful, friendly and courteous, especially Marco.
nice garden and pool and bar, and after a hard day's work of a touris it offered a nice cold beer and and relaxation.
to get to town there are a number of near-by buses, but one can walk downhill and arrive at Campo di Fiori, for instance, in about 20 min.
in the evenings i used taxi which was quite reasonable.
i enjoyed my stay and recommend it .

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel in oktober. Rooms were perfect for us, they receptionist spoke english, breakfast was almost perfect, the bread was pretty dry but the rest was 5 stars. When you eat breakfast you have the most amazing view over Rome. The garden to the hotel is very cosy and we enjoyed sitting there. The hotel is placed fairly high but that only meant we had the most amacing view every time we went for a walk. We walked everywhere which was great. There is a very local but really good pizzeria just around the corner. When we come back we will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Beautiful hotel with extremely helpful staff. Room was small but worked for our week in Rome. The breakfast was much more than expected. Breathtaking views of the city. Must take transportation to get to city activities but enjoyed the peace and quiet of leaving the city for our evenings.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We stood for 3 nights. The room service very poor: we asked for three dishes and arrived with no salad dressing nor glasses; we had to ask for the 3 times and took over an hour to received the correct salad dressing. Rooms are very small, tight and dark. Seems that they have not being maintaining the rooms. Not worthy for the price paid.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

This is a lovely hotel the pool and gardens are a bonus. Only had breakfast here but plenty to choose from and a fantastic view of St Peters Basilica from the 4th floor. Only problem its quite a walk down a very steep dangerous hill no pavements or lights, however there is a bus 115 that stops outside the hotel.. Must be a good walker..Only problem we had our first night we got put in a room right beside the reception, we had no water in wash basin and not toilet seat. The following day we did get moved but no explanation or compensation maybe overbooked?

Room Tip: We were over a main road in room 113 quite noisy if you need to open window... Traffic and drivers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The rooms are clean and neat. Nice bathroom. Hard beds and pillows. The tv is all italian. The service is helpful. Nice free breakfast included. Beautiful grounds and close to the city. The rooms are noisy. Bus routes nearby. Not very busy which is good and a nice pool.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Address: Viale Delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.