We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel in Rome reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel del Gianicolo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #595 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in Rome reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel beginning of October 2013 and was VERY pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious but well attired. The hotel had a wonderful breakfast room on the top of the building with a great view over Rome. The situation is ideal as you are in the center of Trastevere in a quick 10 minutes walk down the Gianicolo. Very reasonably priced also.
Henk Smit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mr Henk Smit,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel. Your feedback is important to us, and it’s a pleasure to see positive comments.
Hopefully we will see you back here again one day soon.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    89
    51
    28
    12
See reviews for
48
95
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Decent hotel with lovely garden and swimming pool (though, closed this week in 25 degree weather), but we were led to believe by booking web site, that it was located in Trastevere... maybe in this district, but in reality far away from the street life near the river. Location should be noted as Gianicolo, an upscale residential district, near the Garibaldi statue, beautiful view overlooking Rome.

Bus travel (44 & 75) is intermittent at best and a walk from the hotel, one way streets in the neighbourhood make for difficult self driving.

Breakfast was fine, dinner disappointed.

Cramped room for a double, mediocre shower, terrible toilet paper. Staff was accommodating.

If you really want to get away from the action of Rome and Trastevere, this place is an oasis.

Room Tip: Don't get one overlooking a roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Christoper C,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience at our Grand Hotel Gianicolo with us.

Regarding the location of hotel, we are on the top of the Gianicolo Hill, just above the famous Trastevere quarter and just a few miles south of the Vatican City. The street life is near hotel, just 10 minutes walk down the hill or if you don’t want to walk you will find bar and restaurants in the neighborhood.
We would like to inform all of our clients that on our website will find the swimming pool opening times (May through September).
We are very glad that you enjoyed the hotel garden and the American breakfast.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is in an amazing spot in Rome, above the noise and chaos of Trastevere, but just a short walk away from it. The building is beautiful, with very pleasant gardens outside and a nice pool. But inside, the decor was not of my taste, and our first room smelt of damp. The shower is very small, and not particularly comfortable. Very friendly staff, and good food. All in all, not bad, but not great either.

Room Tip: Better views up on higher floors. Wi-fi less reliable on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Ajarvis_12,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us a TripAdvisor comment.
We are very glad that you appreciate our hotel area with gardens outside and nice pool. Each of our rooms are designed and adorned in authentic Italian accents. Hotel offers the standard bathtub or shower.
I'll pass your kind words onto our Chef and hotel staff!

We hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ithe hotel had a beautiful garden and was in a fantastic location, the staff were very nice and very organised. The breakfast was filled with a variety of delicious foods, that did not disapoint. Although the walk from the city was long, it was worthwhile in the end as the walk is picturesque. To add, The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated, the bathroom is also spacoius and clean. The only downside is the wifi is unreliable, it cut out when we needed it most! Overall, the hotel is beautiful and I wouldnt hesitste to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Bockbock19,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your nice words following your recent stay with us at Grand Hotel Gianicolo.
We are very grateful that you have let other people know of your positive stay, the good services, the kindness and organization of staff .
We are pleased that you would hesitate to stay with us again.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Only redeeming feature is the short walk to la grande belleza at the top of Gianicolo. Otherwise this hotel has nothing but disadvantages. Very remote by public transport. Very slow and expensive for taxis to reach due to the traffic and one-way system. Rude and unsympathetic staff. Ground floor room behind the desk meant very loud talking late into night with no sense among staff that guests may need sleep. Room stank of cigarette smoke. Peeling wallpaper and poor lighting - dim and no desk light to work by. No toilet seat. Very rough toilet paper. Shower too cold to stand underneath even at maximum temperature. Aged wiring and plugs not earthed, so constant electric shocks from appliances. Internet access only on a pay-for basis, then extremely slow and kept cutting out. Very poor quality coffee (which is particularly unusual in Italy) and shoddy food for breakfast, though lovely seasonal fruit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Regular-conferencer,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We are very surprised to read your negative comments. First of all, at the arrival of our guests we give all the information regarding transportation. In our neighborhood there are several bus stops , two of them are the 44 and 75 which are two of the most important buses and takes you to Piazza Venezia and Colosseo. High- speed Wireless Internet access is free for all hotel clients . We offer a full range of food for American breakfast, all homemade cakes, different types of coffee, we are sorry that you didn’t find anything to your taste. All hotel rooms are not smoking, have toilet seat and regarding the toilet paper is made from recycled paper in the way to become a green hotel. About our hotel staff, we receive many positive comments, but we can see from your review that you did not appreciate our hotel at all. We truly apologize for not satisfying your expectations and we thank you again for your comments which will be a stimulation to improve our deficiencies.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and found the hotel comfortable and friendly. The decor is a little dated, a bit dark and velvelette for our tastes but all clean and tidy. Breakfast was fine, nice pastries although the cooked food was looking a bit stale by the time we went to eat. The room we had was a corner room and was fine for us although the bath/shower leaked and as not fixed despite being reported to reception every day we were staying. We paid £140 a night which felt about right for the standard of the hotel (probably uk 3* rather than 4*) and the location. All of the staff were friendly and professional at all times. Please note it is right at the top of a very big hill so be prepared for a decent workout in getting back from trastevere... There are about 75 stairs and lots of fairly steep road to get back. What you get as payback are some amazing views across Rome. To get to the hotel we took the local train from fiuminico, changed at trastevere and then got the train to Quattro venti. From there it's an ok 15 minute walk up the less steep side of huge hill to the hotel. Would stay again.. 10 minute walk to great restaurants and bars and 30 minute walk to the colosseum was great for what we wanted.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Chrisb2,

Thank you for your time to write on TripAdvisor. It is important for us to receive comments to improve services.
We are very glad to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and friendly. The breakfast is prepared every day with fresh food and homemade cakes by our Chef.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff.
Once again we very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

And I can't believe I paid (pre-paid) $400 a night! What a waste of money! The ONLY good thing about this hotel is the green space outside the hotel. All the rest of it was bad...for a 4 star hotel. It would have been an OK hotel for $100 - $120/ night and a 3 star rating. Here's the bad: 1) Hotel staff acts like you are completely imposing upon them. Very short with their answers; no smiling; we did not feel welcomed at all! 2) Phone did not work in our hotel room. 3) Pool's nice, but was told that you have to wear a haircap if you want to swim, and go ALL THE WAY back to reception to get one, if you want it. 4) Breakfast was just ho-hum; nothing special at all. 5) The a/c would only go down to 21 celsius; that's only 70 Farenheit, and it still feels really hot in the room when it's 90 Farenheit outside. 5) Toilet paper is recycled and ROUGH. My bum hurt after only two trips to the bathroom, so we had to go to the store and buy our own toilet paper. 6) The shower leaked so bad that the whole bathroom was wet everytime we got of the shower. So had to constantly get more towels to mop it up. 7) There's mold and mildew in the bathroom, wallpaper peeling. I just feel sick about the amount of money I spent, excpecting a really nice experience and being completely ripped off! DO NOT STAY HERE, GO ELSEWHERE!!!!

Room Tip: Here's a tip; don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Address: Viale Delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.