We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel del Gianicolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #506 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ithe hotel had a beautiful garden and was in a fantastic location, the staff were very nice and very organised. The breakfast was filled with a variety of delicious foods, that did not disapoint. Although the walk from the city was long, it was worthwhile in the end as the walk is picturesque. To add, The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated, the bathroom is also spacoius and clean. The only downside is the wifi is unreliable, it cut out when we needed it most! Overall, the hotel is beautiful and I wouldnt hesitste to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Bockbock19,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your nice words following your recent stay with us at Grand Hotel Gianicolo.
We are very grateful that you have let other people know of your positive stay, the good services, the kindness and organization of staff .
We are pleased that you would hesitate to stay with us again.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    101
    52
    22
    11
See reviews for
40
81
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Only redeeming feature is the short walk to la grande belleza at the top of Gianicolo. Otherwise this hotel has nothing but disadvantages. Very remote by public transport. Very slow and expensive for taxis to reach due to the traffic and one-way system. Rude and unsympathetic staff. Ground floor room behind the desk meant very loud talking late into night with no sense among staff that guests may need sleep. Room stank of cigarette smoke. Peeling wallpaper and poor lighting - dim and no desk light to work by. No toilet seat. Very rough toilet paper. Shower too cold to stand underneath even at maximum temperature. Aged wiring and plugs not earthed, so constant electric shocks from appliances. Internet access only on a pay-for basis, then extremely slow and kept cutting out. Very poor quality coffee (which is particularly unusual in Italy) and shoddy food for breakfast, though lovely seasonal fruit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Regular-conferencer,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We are very surprised to read your negative comments. First of all, at the arrival of our guests we give all the information regarding transportation. In our neighborhood there are several bus stops , two of them are the 44 and 75 which are two of the most important buses and takes you to Piazza Venezia and Colosseo. High- speed Wireless Internet access is free for all hotel clients . We offer a full range of food for American breakfast, all homemade cakes, different types of coffee, we are sorry that you didn’t find anything to your taste. All hotel rooms are not smoking, have toilet seat and regarding the toilet paper is made from recycled paper in the way to become a green hotel. About our hotel staff, we receive many positive comments, but we can see from your review that you did not appreciate our hotel at all. We truly apologize for not satisfying your expectations and we thank you again for your comments which will be a stimulation to improve our deficiencies.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and found the hotel comfortable and friendly. The decor is a little dated, a bit dark and velvelette for our tastes but all clean and tidy. Breakfast was fine, nice pastries although the cooked food was looking a bit stale by the time we went to eat. The room we had was a corner room and was fine for us although the bath/shower leaked and as not fixed despite being reported to reception every day we were staying. We paid £140 a night which felt about right for the standard of the hotel (probably uk 3* rather than 4*) and the location. All of the staff were friendly and professional at all times. Please note it is right at the top of a very big hill so be prepared for a decent workout in getting back from trastevere... There are about 75 stairs and lots of fairly steep road to get back. What you get as payback are some amazing views across Rome. To get to the hotel we took the local train from fiuminico, changed at trastevere and then got the train to Quattro venti. From there it's an ok 15 minute walk up the less steep side of huge hill to the hotel. Would stay again.. 10 minute walk to great restaurants and bars and 30 minute walk to the colosseum was great for what we wanted.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Chrisb2,

Thank you for your time to write on TripAdvisor. It is important for us to receive comments to improve services.
We are very glad to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and friendly. The breakfast is prepared every day with fresh food and homemade cakes by our Chef.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff.
Once again we very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

And I can't believe I paid (pre-paid) $400 a night! What a waste of money! The ONLY good thing about this hotel is the green space outside the hotel. All the rest of it was bad...for a 4 star hotel. It would have been an OK hotel for $100 - $120/ night and a 3 star rating. Here's the bad: 1) Hotel staff acts like you are completely imposing upon them. Very short with their answers; no smiling; we did not feel welcomed at all! 2) Phone did not work in our hotel room. 3) Pool's nice, but was told that you have to wear a haircap if you want to swim, and go ALL THE WAY back to reception to get one, if you want it. 4) Breakfast was just ho-hum; nothing special at all. 5) The a/c would only go down to 21 celsius; that's only 70 Farenheit, and it still feels really hot in the room when it's 90 Farenheit outside. 5) Toilet paper is recycled and ROUGH. My bum hurt after only two trips to the bathroom, so we had to go to the store and buy our own toilet paper. 6) The shower leaked so bad that the whole bathroom was wet everytime we got of the shower. So had to constantly get more towels to mop it up. 7) There's mold and mildew in the bathroom, wallpaper peeling. I just feel sick about the amount of money I spent, excpecting a really nice experience and being completely ripped off! DO NOT STAY HERE, GO ELSEWHERE!!!!

Room Tip: Here's a tip; don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

No doubt this hotel could be with a lick of paint, preferably lighter as it is currently very dark, but aside from that it is a lovely little hotel. The staff are all very polite and helpful. The breakfast was good, well maintained and the breakfast room was kept really clean, very reassuring, and with stunning views.
The rooms were a decent size, and clean, new sheets and towels every day for a full 5 night stay. It was also nice that the two rooms we had booked were next door.
The one, very slight, downside is the location. It is away from centre of Trastevere so has a really calm feel, but it being at the top of a hill means it's either a hike or a taxi home, there are plenty though so not to much of a problem.
All in all it is a lovely hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Taylorann3,

Thank you for your nice review about the hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind comments about our room, services and the staff are very much appreciated.

The hotel position is at the Gianicolo hill, 10 minutes walk to Trastevere, 30 minutes walk to Vatican City. Buses to the city centrum goes in front of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at the Grand Hotel Gianicolo in the middle of August and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Firstly it has to be said the rooms are not 4 star! Yes you could argue they are traditionally Italian but it also has to be said that they are small and the funiture and fittings are rather outdated. Our safe did not work and had no chance of working but when we questionned it at reception we were treated with a look of disdain as if to say 'well there is no chance we are fixing it'! We were offered to keep the valuables at reception but when it is things like your money and jewellery that is just a huge inconvenience. A four star hotel should be embarrassed that the safe is broken and arrange for repairs immediately - not simply brush you off. Indeed I'd have to agree with some other reviews that the two guys that generally man the reception let the hotel down somewhat. Rarely smiling and generally unhelpful and unfriendly.

That is the negative stuff out of the way though - the plus points still make up for them. The pool is magnificant and the staff here are very friendly especially the young lady. Breakfast is also very good with a great selection of juices and cereals as well as egg, bacon, etc.... It's a lovely breakfast room and was generally quiet and relaxed and provided a lovely start to the mornings.

We also enjoyed the hotel grounds and the chairs and tables outside at the front where we enjoyed the free coffee and cake. Again though we were never told about this and only knew because we had read it on trip advisor!!!

Yes, the centre of Rome is a walk from the hotel there is no getting away from it. However as part of that walk you get to see one of the most fantastic views above Rome that you could wish for. Don't get the bus every day or you will really be missing out. That said there are a couple of convenient buses - the 75 and the 115 if I remember correctly that will take you back up the hill for a euro or two so it is really not a problem. There is a stop directly outside the Colleseum.

Eating wise you couldn't ask for better. The Trastevere is brilliant. Lovely local tables all pinned together with locals and tourists enjoying the warm evenings. We ate for as cheap as 3 euros for a pizza and 8 euros for a litre of wine and it was all delicious. People had clearly come there from all parts of Rome so to have it on your doorstep only 15 minutes down the hill is a real bonus.

Overall if you only have a couple of nights in Rome and really want to see the sites then I'd be inclined to stay elsewhere simply because of the distance from the centre but if you have 4-5 days and don't mind walking then the Gianicolo has plenty of plus points - even if not all of them are the hotel itself!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Lee M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo on TripAdvisor.

Regarding the safe, we are very sorry for the inconvenience. We actually work on it to replace the system. It was only temporally system problem. Otherwise we offer to our clients to leave all things at our reception 24 hours.

However, we were delighted to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and you enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled that you found the swimming pool magnificent and that you were happy with the breakfast on the roof garden and the hotel location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Grand Hotel Gianicolo sits on top of a hill overlooking ancient Rome. At the foot of the hill is a very popular evening hangout called Trastevere. It is only about a 500 meters walk from the hotel, but beware : it is down a very steep slope ! Going down is not that bad, but coming up again after dinner is a challenge. So we took a taxi every time.... Same for going to/from Rome : a 10eur taxi trip each way.
The hotel itself is a bit dated as other reviewers already stated. Some of the staff at the reception - especially the old man - is grumpy and not helpful. Others are much better, but they work one at a time in shifts, so quality of service depends on who is on duty.
The hotel is clean. Furniture is at least 10 years old and things are starting to show signs of wear and tear. The pool however is top. It is very large and there are plenty of sunbeds available. You have to wear a swim cap though (which they sell at reception), which does look a bit odd on one's head... Breakfast is very average. We stayed for 10 days and every morning you get the same buffet : pre-cooked scrambled eggs , cold cuts and cereals. Not that there is not enough to eat, but it is boring.
The hotel is located in an empty part of town. However there are 2 restaurants and one café very close by. One of these two restaurants is a pizzeria ‘Carpe Diem’, and the other one a fine dining venue (Antico Arco), both of which I will discuss in a separate review. The café is very busy in the evening with local youth that park their mini ‘Smart’ cars and Vespa’s around on the pavement and create a great buzz.
I enjoyed my stay, but I am not sure if I will go back there unless I don’t find another hotel with an outdoor pool in Rome.

Room Tip: Pool view with a bath/Jacuzzi, not only a shower cabin as in some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear JefKlak,

Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback on your stay at Grand Hotel Gianicolo, we really appreciate this.

It pleases us to read that you praising the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the swimming pool.
We are sorry to read that you didn’t appreciate our breakfast because for us is one of the forces. We receive many positive comments about it. Everyday our Chef prepare a different homemade cakes.
We would like to inform you, that the hotel is situated on top of Gianicolo Hill, just 10-15 minutes from the famous Trastevere quarter and just a view miles south of the Vatican City. In the neighborhood you can see Gianicolo's view, Porta San Pancrazio, Villa Pamphili etc. and more
typical restaurants. Our reception is open 24 hours a day to handle all of your needs.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Address: Viale Delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.