We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel del Gianicolo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #597 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Room is tiny & condition deplorable. Leaking shower, water damage, mould & peeling wallpaper. Air conditioning to minimum of 25C which is 80F. Hotel management doesn't allow it to be set lower. Not had a proper nights rest since our arrival. Exhaust fan doesn't work.There are no washcloths. Had to ask several times for toilet tissue and complimentary water. 5 hangers for 2 people over 5 nights. No food after 3:00 p.m! Internet free for only 3 days but is intermittent during that time. Argumentative, rude & unhelpful reception staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    89
    51
    28
    12
See reviews for
48
95
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were there with our second honey moon (25 years). Service was nice and good. Staff heard about our celebration and we found a nice bottle of spumante and some small pizzas etc. from our room at that special day. Thank you a lot. Room was nice but a bit noisy. Breakfast was very good and service there was good. Near the hotel are two restaurants. Other one is fine dining and the other one is much cheaper but good food also. Just to the left from the gate 50m.
If you go to Rome take your hotel in Trastevere. Trust me.

Room Tip: Go enough high. Not the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Eero N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon in our hotel and all hotel staff took care of you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

5 nights prepaid...
Pros- Nice room (small with charm), great breakfast, very nice pool, air conditioning works good, and the staff were very helpful.
Cons- Not very close to the city or public transportation (you can catch a bus if you walk down the hill.) All of our tour guides sent a car for us daily, so it wasn't much of a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear JD E,

Thank you for your lovely review about the hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind comments about our room, services and the staff are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo is a great hotel to stay at while you are in Rome. It's at the top of the Janiculum Hill and close to the Parco Gianicolense where you can stroll from the hotel and admire the view of the city. You can also walk down hill into Trastevere, stopping en route to enjoy the view of the city from Fonte Acqua Paola which is really spectacular. There are lots of nice restaurants in Trastevere. It's a steep climb back up the hill to the hotel but that is just the thing to work off your dinner.
The hotel itself is very well run. The decor in the rooms is a bit dated. The rooms are clean although maybe a bit on the small side, and the shower cabinet was a bit cramped. However after a day we had forgotten about these details and just enjoyed the stay. The pool is fantastic and the breakfast has everything you could want to eat as well as a lovely view of St Peter's Basilica. You can walk to many of the sights of Rome across the river quite easily. Staff at reception very helpful. There is free tea and coffee in the lounge which is a nice touch. The bar next door is worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Belindascotland,

We are very grateful that you have let other people know of your positive stay on TripAdvisor.
I have passed your kind comments to all the team who really do appreciate your time.

We hope to welcome you back in future and thank you once again.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during June for a city break.

Pros: Friendly waiting staff. Lovely pool. Beautiful gardens. Clean and adequately sized bedroom (don't agree that it needs updating, I think it was very sympathetic with the Roman style). Beds were comfortable with nice linen. Lunch menu was limited and slightly pricey but I would expect this for a capital city 4 star hotel. Food was delicious. Yes it can be a bit of a hike down to the attractions and restaurants but it only took us 15 mins and the views on the way down are stunning. You can always catch a bus or taxi back.

Cons: Slightly surly staff on reception. Dreadful breakfast comprising what sort of looked like eggs, bacon that tasted on hot dogs and stale bread and croissants. However if you wanted cake there was lots to select. This didn't put us off though and you never go hungry in Rome! The pool can get extremely busy in the afternoon with people pretty much "parking" their lounger in top of you - but you would expect space to be limited in a city hotel. Finally the bar was closed both times we tried to use it, firstly for a private function and secondly at 10.30 on Sunday night!

We would definitely return here as we loved its location and of course having a pool to cool off in is a definite bonus.

PS. If you are taking a taxi back to the airport use the hotel limo. The driver is lovely and the hotel will match whatever price you paid on the way in.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 108. Its a corner room so it has a dual aspect overlooking the beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear DizzyNo1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad you loved the location of hotel and the swimming pool to cool off you in during your stay in Rome. It’s nice to hear that you tasted our lunch menu and you were satisfied. The cakes ( all homemade) for breakfast are prepared by our Chef. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your trip using our limousine service to the airport and the driver was lovely.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

IF YOU WANT A TRADITIONAL ITALIAN GRAND HOTEL THEN THE GRAND del GIANICOLO IS FOR YOU. ONCE A GRAND VILLA THIS HOTEL OFFERS YOU TOTAL RELAXATION AND Quality located in Gianicolo. a stroll away from the trastavere area where at night you get to see the real Rome and where all the locals go to enjoy themselves to eat and drink. The Grand is ideally located and the hotel has a magnificent outdoor pool which is most welcome after a hard slog around the sights of Rome.Maybe a little tired on the decorating inside and out but this should not be a criticism we would cal this "character"Breakfast on the top floor(4th)is sensational not only in fare but also in views,and is just what you want to kickstart the day.The staff are very efficient and keep the place spotless inside and out.A little gem in a massive metropolis.WE will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Bindone70,

At the outset we thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Gianicolo for your stay and also sharing your valuable feedback with us.
We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and services and you are satisfied with your stay with us.
Looking forward to have you again with us,

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is slightly out of the way, but very nicely furnished. The view from the breakfast room at the top is gorgeous, with the dome of St peter's clearly visible and the serenity of the local gardens permeates the morning that gives a beutiful sense of the eternal city. The staff was very helpful; I unwittingly left my passporet in the room when leaving for the airport; I was searching for it frantically in the cab when they called him to come back and get it.
Would definitely stay again, particularly if business focuses around Vaqtican City.

Room Tip: ask for room away from the main street for reduced noise. Arrive at breakfast fifteen minutes early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Transplantdoc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I will share your nice feedback directly with our hotel staffs.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you in the near future,

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Address: Viale Delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.