We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL you should stay there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cecil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cecil to your Saves list
Hotel Cecil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Francesco Crispi, 55, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“GREAT HOTEL you should stay there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great hotel. Our family stayed there for three nights in July, 2014. The location is fantastic - close to every major attraction. Walk to Spanish steps, and all major landmarks, and hop on hop off bus stop two minute walk. The staff was fantastic - from the front desk with helpful suggestions on how to get around city, restaurant suggestions, etc to the room staff that was was fast, friendly and very clean, to the breakfast staff which were very accommodating to the children etc. Rooms were renovated and great bathrooms. Good air conditioning. Breakfast had good selection. Can only recommend the hotel very highly. Will stay there again. No negative comments.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
default06, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cecil, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you very much!! especially for the appreciation at our breakfast.
We pay a lot of attention to respect the Italian tradition with our creamy cappuccini, and our greedy cakes, that are so popular in the world.

Best regards to your lovely family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    104
    34
    26
    16
See reviews for
73
109
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Travelled with the family to Rome for a few days to catch the sightseeing. Concur with others that the hotel is excellently positioned, Colesseum and the Vatican are the likely furthest things you'll want to visit, and they are both within 30 min walk. The rest is within that arc.
Breakfast was a bit interesting, not having been to Rome I'm not sure if what we had was standard, but the Italian croissants were very sweet.
Helpful staff, who helped us avoid the Roma card but pre-book other attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Came driving in to Rome in the afternoon, parked the car and went straight into Hotel Cecil. They had a vacant room for three people and they were very helpful. They showed us all the things we had to see.

One surpricing thing; they have a roof terrace!

The staff was very nice and helpful.
The room and bathroom was very nice.
Breakfast was nothing much to talk about.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After arriving in Rome & arriving @ the hotel we booked from home we were totally shattered by the staff & horrified by the state of the room. After a walk to the Spanish Steps we literally stumbled on the Hotel Cecil. What a find. The owner Lydia & receptionist Daphne couldn't have been more helpful giving us a choice of 4 rooms. We quickly went back to our original hotel, grabbed our bags & walked around the corner to the Cecil where we spent 4 comfortable, hassle free days. We've lost money on the other hotel but our time in Rome was great due to the hospitality we received at the Cecil.
Ben & Suzanne
AUSTRALIA

Room Tip: See the room first. We were on the third floor - no complaints about anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
default06, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Cecil, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
your preciuos comments makes us very happy also because we are very proud that you personally remember us.
With infinite affection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here in late May for a few days on a tour of Italy. The hotel is on a small street so not accessible by bus but very close to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean. Rooftop lounge area gives you a nice place to hang if you're feeling a little crowded in this busy city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I decided to find a hotel once arriving in Rome, I could then see what I was paying for. This hotel is in an excellent location, minutes from Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain. The Hotel Cecil is in a 300 year building, many of the doorways are original marble. Bathrooms are all new, with nice new showers. The rooms are a little small, that is due to keeping the building structure same as it was previously. Mainly American guests staying for few nights before going on a cruise and Japanese.
If I am lucky enough to go to Rome again I will stay here. Staff are fantastic, all speak excellent English and tell you where to visit, which pizzerias are good value etc. The hotels a few minutes from here are around £225 Euros per night. This was a lucky find. It is 3/4 star rating but a good 3/4 star

Room Tip: Bed was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
default06, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cecil, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest, we thank you for your nice comment and for appreciating out hotel. We do want to offer our guests a comfortable and pleasant stay in the most elegant neighbourhood in Rome and at a reasonable price. We are very grateful that you have noticed it.
Thank you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hotel Cecil was everything I needed in my short trip to Rome. The staff were lovely and spoke excellent English. Spacious and ornate lobby area and bar. Clean, tidy, air-conditioned room with desk & chair, TV, wardrobe, safe, lamp, phone, en suite bathroom. I even had a balcony large enough to sit out on. Continental breakfast served all types of preference, including yoghurt, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, bread rolls, rye bread, coffee, tea, juice, and cakes. The location is absolutely perfect for a short stay, as it is possible to walk everywhere easily which cuts out wasted time travelling / commuting; also allowing for new discoveries along the way. Situated very close to the Spanish Steps it is also on a well-lit and busy enough street for it to feel safe, even at night. Wifi is included on site, and staff are able to print out documents at a small charge if emailed to the address they supply. I was also able to sign out a usb plug converter from reception to charge my phone, which was also of great help. The private car service they provide to Ciampini airport is also very reasonable, considering it will cost more to take a cab from Termini station last-minute if you are unable to board the bus (which fills up quickly), and I opted for this to avoid the stress I may otherwise have experienced trying to get to the airport which would have soured the end of my holiday. I would highly recommend this hotel for location, cleanliness, hospitality, all the above reasons. Also if you book via their own website you may even get a small discount to the cost - which I must say was already incredibly reasonable considering everything I got out of my stay and I was overall very impressed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
default06, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cecil, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest, we are delighted for getting such a detailed comment. We do remember of you, a very kind and lovely person. People like you are the reason why we believe in and love this job.
Thank you so much !!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil

Address: Via Francesco Crispi, 55, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#110 Family Hotel in Rome
#196 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cecil 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cecil Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cecil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.