We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moscatello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moscatello to your Saves list
Moscatello
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Eugenio 51, 185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #625 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

First of all the location is not all that desirable, but if you can handle different ethnicities you will be fine. Solo, female traveler here and I had no problems with it. The little yellow sign is hard to find, but once you see it and learn which part of the metro to emerge from you do alright. Ring the buzzer next to the huge door. The little door is the one you go through. Walk straight ahead to the patio area and turn right. In the doorway to the right you see the stairs and the elevator. The elevator takes you to the 3rd floor. The hotel door is little, with a little sign saying 'reception'. Most of the workers there were very kind. They did mess up once and not give me my wake up call, so that was a little concerning.
There is a tram a block away, the metro is a block away and there are buses. The train station is near and it's very handy for catching the a.m. Leonardi Express to the airport from the South Entrance of the train station. The Indoor Market place is near. Fassies Gelato is right next door. A regular supermarket down the street. Many Asian retail shops around. The Asians were not that nice and one woman tried to keep a Euro she owed me by giving me a 5cent Euro when I was purchasing a cappucino..
All in all I recommend the hotel for someone on a budget. The hotel was very clean. A little noisy until after midnight from traffic. Free water and coke in a tiny fridge in the room. I was in the metro late and walked to the hotel. It was not at all that scarey.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    51
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
56
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

The hotel was not what it said it was. It was located in a mediocre-to-bad area next to the Termini (thought that was a good idea but we were sorta on the "wrong side of the tracks"). Finding the "hotel" was pretty hard since there was only a tiny yellow sign outside. In addition, figuring out how to enter at night (before the reception closes at 1 AM, they still lock the street doors to the apartment building it's located in) was ridiculously confusing.

The place itself was more like a hostel than "hotel" and was far too expensive in reality for what you were getting. The "hotel" is located on the 3rd floor of an apartment building with literally 4 rooms in 1 single little foyer and that's IT. This was definitely not what was described in pictures or descriptions. In addition, much like a hostel we had to deal with giving a deposit for a front door key if we wanted to stay out past 1 AM.

Only pros I can say was that it did have an elevator and was semi-clean. Also, it was a 10 -15 min walk to Piazza Santa Maggiorre which was a nice first piazza to visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

I stayed at Hotel Moscatello with my girlfriend during a 4 days visit to Rome in the Summer of 2008. Overall it was a great experience.

I'll first start with location which is actually one of the only negative things about the hotel. It is south of Termini train station (about a ten minute walk) which our guide book listed as a place not necessarily recommended but unless you are a young girl traveling by yourself I wouldn't give it much thought and even then I think it is a lot more the fact that it is dark and there are not a lot of people around that give the neighborhood its reputation. Being a 20 some male I actually enjoyed the location there were some interesting Asian shops and markets, a park, and metro station very near by (the stop south of Termini is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel). The hotel itself is so cool. When you walk up to the door it is very easy to miss because there is only a small yellow sign above it, which seems pretty standard in this area. You buzz the front desk and they key the door to let you in. One of the coolest things is the door is huge (10 ft x 6 feet) but the part that opens is tiny (5 ft x 3 ft). It was neat anyways. Once you enter the door you come into a small open area with plants and tile floors. You walk to the building on the north side and then go up a few floor (there is a small elevator available but I think it is only 2 floors up). The entrance to the hotel is small and from its appearance you might think they only had two rooms. It has a coffee machine and a small sofa but is mainly just a place to pick up and leave your key.

The rooms are extremely nice. They are quite large by European standards. I had a room with a double bed (unfortunately two twins). There was a wall (12 ft) with nice wooden cupboard style closets and a built in mini refrigerator. The bathroom was small to average for European standards but was very nice and clean. There was a small 13-15" flat panel tv which received a bunch of local television stations, a reasonably sized desk, and full length mirror as well. The floors were a nice clean tile.

As far as I could tell from my stay, the staff consisted of two men who alternated shifts. They were there until 2 am and spoke good English and could give directions/advise. They also had maps available which they would share when you asked directions.

The hotel did not have any internet access but the area near Termini has a few internet cafe places where we once stopped and used the internet for 15 min for 50 cents. They hotel does not have breakfast but they do give you a voucher for a restaurant which they are affiliated with which gives you a lunch or dinner for each person in the room. The meal consisted of salad, bruschetta, pizza/lasagna/spahgetti, and coffee. It wasn't the best meal but it was cheap and convenient. If you're coming back from traveling for the day just get off at Termini metro station and it is two blocks away. Then you have a 7-8 min walk back to the hotel.

Overall the hotel was a great experience. I really enjoyed the personal atmosphere that it had and the spacious rooms. The area is not the most beautiful in Rome but for the price I think it is safe and comfortable and a great place to re energize for the go go go traveler.

**Also I used www.HRS.com and got a great deal (stay three nights and the fourth is free). So it is definitely worth checking out.

  • Liked — Great value, clean spacious rooms, friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Interesting neighborhood, not dangerous but not not cute/romantic, great for the adventurous
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

Hotel's location was very good, being near from the centre of the city and the main railway station, Termini.
We visited here for a 4 nights and paid 260e. And we must say we are very pleased with the quality of the hotel for this price. Also a daily meal was included in a local restaurant. Also the service was mainly kind and helpful. Room was very clean and cosy, air conditioning was included which was very important considering how hot the city was.
We can honestly recommend this hotel for anyone. Great value for the price.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Rome. We stayed at Hotel Moscatello and had a great expirence. The room was clean, the reception was friendly, and the location was convenient to the Metro. Admittedly, this is not a 5 star hotel, but it was a great value for Rome and we would definitely stay there again.

The only problem we had was that the reception did not open until 7:00 am, so wake up calls before that were impossible to get.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

We chose Moscatelo because we wanted a hotel close to Termini but not in the roads right next to it. Moscatello is situated in a wide road about 15 min walk away. There are practicallly only Asian shops nearby .We always felt safe even at night in the road. The price was also good as there was a special offer.
The room was exactly like the one on the website. Clean, lcd tv, a/c and quite spacious and comfortable. Also quiet. Room had new furniture, lcd tv and fittings. Room well up to 3* standard.
Fridge had complimentary drinks. Supermarket down the road.
Reception polite but we didn`t need help or information.
The hotel is a floor in a large building with a suprisingly clean and bright entrance courtyard.
There is only a small lobby for Reception and no lounge, bar etc but that didn`t bother us as we only use our hotel to sleep in after a day out and never use room service either. There is a coffee/drinks machine in lobby.

  • Liked — ````Good, clean , modern and spacious room - value for money - `near public transport` also safe entrance door````````````````````````````````````````````````````
  • Disliked — no breakfast or public area
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

Stayed at this hotel during our christmas trip to Rome. Very nice, extremely clean, everything felt new and recently renovated. I would recommend this hotel to those who have never been to Rome, because all you need to do is to take the Leonardo Express from Fiumicino Airport towards Termini Station in Central Rome, and then take a 15-minute walk to the hotel. The area around Termini is not the best sight in Rome, but despite the dominance of immigrants (from Africa and Indian subcontinent) in this area, you'll see plenty of police cars, hence it is safe to walk around. I love this hotel and I will not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moscatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscatello

Address: Via Principe Eugenio 51, 185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #625 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moscatello 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Moscatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moscatello Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moscatello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.