We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Casale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antico Casale to your Saves list
Antico Casale
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Pisana 952, 00166 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,092 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

The place lacked the basics, poor staff, virtually nothing for breakfast, never even got a cup of coffee because they said the machine was broke. I would be embarrassed to let people stay if was my hotel. Don't go, stay in Rome I have paid less and got better accomadation in Rome centre. We arrived in the dark and was very difficcult to find, sat nav was no help. Couldn't wait to leave. Restaurant also closed down but doudt you would want top eat in it anyway. We satyed there 2/3rd Sept 2014

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    18
    8
    33
See reviews for
10
31
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

After booking this hotel with high expectations from the websites professional approach, homely rooms and beautiful surroundings alongside the perks of a self laundry service, on site swimming pool, and a nice looking restaurant we were incredibly disappointed by what we saw when we arrived. Arriving to a shabby looking hotel next to a desolate disused car park on a busy main road was not what we were expecting!! The beautiful images we saw on the website were nothing like what was in front of us. Dog mess on the pavement, bins everywhere and no canopied seating area to relax in. Just an overgrown mess with barred windows. To then be told there is no swimming pool and no laundry service (we'd been travelling already for two weeks and we're desperate to do washing) was not making our arrival any more pleasant! Our bedroom was probably the biggest shock. A dark and tiny room; smeared windows and bars on the front of them overlooking the deserted car park...not the bright and spacious room we were expecting! Our shower was appalling, a half built shower with Perspex plastic hanging out covered by a dirty shower curtain. We only had one plug socket and a leaking dirty air con unit. I could have cried! After being woken up by the cockerel at 5am the first day did not start well! As we arrived for breakfast downstairs we were greeted by plastic cups, cold coffee and half eaten slices of cake. No bread for toast and no juice left. The day wasn't starting well! We decided to catch the bus into Rome where we met some more guests that were just as shocked as we were by the standards of the hotel! Two busses later and an hour and a half on the busses we arrived in Rome. The beauty of Rome made the trip slightly better! After being warned to not eat in the hotel restaurant we went down the road to the pizzeria which had good food and good service. Overall as a young couple we would not recommend this hotel to anyone! It was an awful stay in an awful hotel, and I would not wish for anyone to have to stay here. You definitely need a car to get around as the bus service is long and unreliable and there is no where particularly good to eat nearby. Avoid at all costs and don't be fooled by the professional website and highly edited photos!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Essential services, very good restaurant!
Clean & easy!
The staff is very like!
***Not recommended if you don't have/rent a car***
***Not good Public transportation connections, is quite far from the center of the city.
If I remember good there is a shuttle bus hotel service for connecting to the closest bus station ***

Room Tip: Ask it to the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were two packbackers so relied on the bus and occasional taxi, at first the taxi was the only option as wasnt sure on the buses, bit expensive and not ideal if you are intending going into the centre all the time! But we only caught the taxi onces we got familiar with the buses which were regular (although have to catch two buses!) Room was nice enough, bathroom door was rubbish though! Breakfast was simple but lovely! staff friendly. Only problem is location really but we managed over four nights and slept well there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Entire place smells like poop. Shower stuck on "shuffle". Plus the curtin was riped. They do not have towels, more like paper towels. Some black mold as well. Plus its overpriced. I would not even consider its location in Rome, big hassel to travel to the center. The bed makes all kinds of wierd noises. Got this hotel from booking.com...never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Granada, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If your totally desperate and in need of a bed for the night, stop, park in a safe place and sleep in the car. This owner likes an early night so don't expect them to be open after 12pm. we got there at 12.15 and were locked out. They did not answer the phone and even the outside gates were closed. We thought it was abandoned as it looked desolate. This was our first time in Italy and luckily we had a hire car and not a taxi. We complained to Booking.com and asked for a refund and at first the owner said he did not take the money. Wrong, he did. First time ever to be locked out of a booked hotel. There won't be a next time. Hotels like this should not be on booking engines, and if you think it is just me, read other peoples reviews.

Room Tip: Go direct to Rome, there are many choices and it's not far
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

In the beautiful Rome I had the worst hotel and my room didn't have lock, therefore I asked the manager of hotel why room doesn't have lock but he did not have any answer, therefore I pulled my bed behind door and slept with fear of stranger entrance.
room was so poorly decorated and shower belonged to stone age people and unfortunately I paid about 120.00 US dollar for this room
Masimo was the manager at the time I was there and he was terrible to be a manager.
from California,
Pamela Kaveh

Room Tip: I don't recommend this hotel to anybody.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Casale

Address: Via della Pisana 952, 00166 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,092 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Antico Casale 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Antico Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Casale Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Casale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.