We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Sandra

Albergo Sandra
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Sandra to your Saves list
Albergo Sandra
1.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via Villafranca 10, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,995 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Chorzow, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is exactly what you are paying for. Rooms are clean and quite big. Staf is very helpful and kind - they let us to get the reserved room couple hours before actual check-in time. Highly recommended! The only disadventage I can think of is that breakfast is reaaaally small, so you should be prepared for that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night at this hotel and found it clean and comfortable. Cheap and cheerful for a short break. Probably wouldn't want to stay longer than a few days. Bed was very comfortable, though bathroom was down the hall. There was a shower and a sink in the room, however.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The hotel itself was somewhat clean but service could have been better. The owner/front desk man wasn't the friendliest, had to ring a bell for him to come from upstairs in the building if you needed him. Wifi isn't free, and make sure you get good directions. There is a elevator which was a plus, we had a sink and a shower in our room, literally in our bedroom. Its a nice location, plenty of restaurants around and right by the train station as well as the underground. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very hard to find (and trust me, that's no exaggeration!). On arriving in Rome, we ended up resorting to asking another hotel (about 2 doors down the street) if they knew where it was and they had no idea! They had to ring the hotel itself to ask! If you ask me, if other hotels on the street don't even know that you exist, it's not a good sign! When we EVENTUALLY found the right building, there was no sign outside, not even on the list of doorbells. The hotel itself is situated on the third and fourth floors of the building. There is a lift (elevator) but for some reason, the '3' button had "NO! NO!" written next to it and did not work so we had to go up the fourth floor and walk back down a floor to the reception. We had to give our passport details to the hotel and although I do not have any problem whatsoever with this as it is required by the local police, the man who checked us in made us complete the (italian) form on our own resulting in him having to say "write this there, etc", when he could have completed it in about a quarter of the time himself. Despite having booked to stay in an en-suite room for the ENTIRE of our stay there, we were told that on the first night (it was already about 11pm!) that we would have to use a different room (with a tiny shared bathroom) for the first night as the room we had booked was unavailable. This room (7), was dim, small, absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke, had windows which didn't actually close, and for us, sleeping on the bed there could be compared to sleeping on a block of concrete.

On the second night, we were transferred the the room we had actually booked (4) and what a difference! Much more spacious, light and airy, more contemporary than the other room, large desk area, although not very spacious, the bathroom was fit for purpose. To be perfectly honest, we would've thought we were in a different hotel if we hadn't known different. On a positive note, the hotel is in a good location and most of Rome's attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

The hotel is only 5 blocks(less than a 10 min walk to Termini Station) and one block from the nearest Subway/Metro Station. We were able to walk to all tourist sites from this location.
The room was cleaned daily.
Staff spoke some english and tried to accomodate everything we needed.
Inexpensive in comparison to other hotels.
Drawbacks:
-washroom is very small, there is not a seperate shower it is right in the bathroom so everything stays wet...bathroom floor, toilet seat etc... Not a lot of privacy from others in the room.
-lift does not go to the 3rd floor, you must either go a floor above or a floor below then take the stairs(we took stairs all the way everytime so didn't affect us)
-television had NO english channels....makes for long evenings.
-Fabulous restaurant just down the street or around the corner!
-little cafe across the street for breakfast

Overall:
Great hotel for travellers who spend the majority of their time out and about; wanting to spend their money on other things besides accomodations!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cronberry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights , the room was from the 40's,( nothing like the photos at all ) tv didnt work, no space to swing a cat, we were miserable to say the least..and the "complete bathroom" was absolutely disgusting, and not fit for animals.. i would strongly urge anyone considering booking this dump to re consider.. worst place ive ever stayed, its a disgrace room 12

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

I booked a room here for 2 nights for myself and my son (2 years old) through Expedia.

We were in Pisa and because the hotel is supposedly near the Metro we left Pisa about 4pm expecting to arrive in Rome about 8pm. About 30 minutes before we arrived into Rome I got a call from Expedia who explained that the hotel had informed them that they had sold my room to someone else. I questioned how could they do this? Expedia told me that some hotels will sell a room, but then if say a group turn up needing a few rooms they will sell your room because it gets them more business.

So, my 2 year old and I arrived into Rome at 8pm without a room. We were forced to pay well over the odds and got well and truly ripped off simply because the rooms left were limited and all the cheap rooms were fully booked.

I cannot vouch for the quality of this hotel, but I seriously urge you to reconsider booking here, you might, like me end up without a room when you get to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Sandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sandra

Address: Via Villafranca 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,995 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Sandra 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Sandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandra Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Sandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.