We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flavia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Flavia to your Saves list
Hotel Flavia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Flavia 40, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #705 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“All you need!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a short stay in Rome if all you want is a place to rest your head after a day of exploring this breathtaking city.

The room:
It's basic and was fairly small but we only stayed for 3 nights and didn't have a lot of luggage, so no reason to complain. A little tv, comfy and clean double bed, small ensuite with a shower.

The service:
All of the staff were friendly and helpful.
We were greeted by a really nice young man on arrival, he presented a paper map and highlighted the best routes around the city. He recommended a few local restaurants and some of the most beautiful back streets to visit whilst travelling from monument to tourist attraction. Unfortunately we didn't see him again to thank him, so if he's reading this then - thank you for all of your help!!

The location:
You are right in the centre and just a short walk from the Spanish steps and the trevi fountain (around 15-20 mins). It's about a 40 min walk to the colosseum- but there's lots to see on the way so may take longer. We took the underground to the Vatican and walked back, which is recommended so that you are full of energy to explore the galleries when you arrive at the Vatican.


Tourist tips:
We made the mistake of paying around €35 each for a guided tour of the Vatican. The tour was sold to us on the basis that we'd skip the queue- unless you are visiting in peak season you do not need to do this. We were overcharged massively and wasted time on this tour.

If you are staying in the Flavi Hotel and being dropped of by your transfer at the central train station note that the hotel is a VERY short walk from the station- print off a map before hand.
We paid €3 for a bus which was only one stop, and ended up walking further than if we'd just walked from the station! (note a taxi driver tried to charge us €20 for a 8 minute walk from the station to the hotel!!!)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Hotel Flavia, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

thanks for your positive review of our hotel, we are very happy you had a wonderful stay in Rome and with us.
We hope to see you again, we wish you a Happy New Year!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    107
    78
    36
    18
See reviews for
63
165
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salon-de-Provence, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The room was very very small...Although the bathroom was hot at night..the bedroom was a little cold....The staff in the kitchen was excellent,,..The staff in the reception was ok....The location very good and safe....It would be better for the hotel,, the staff begin learning english.....and the most important of all..too expensive at saturdays-sundays....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Hotel Flavia, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your review of our hotel.
We are happy you had a positive impression of the hotel Flavia and we will analize your suggestion to improve our services.
Best Regards and Merry Christmas.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The location is okay. 15 min of Statzione Termini. In a side street, didn't hear a lot of noise from the street. Big Plus for honesty! The pictures on their webiste are not sugar-coated. It's a servicable hotel, not a fancy one. We got a good deal on it. To be frank, not sure if I would pay the standard price as advertised on the web page.
Other than that it was clean, the receptionist was friendly, but obviously not at ease speaking english.
Breakfast was included and good for Italian Standards. Tip: The coffee at the buffet is instant (which they tell you) Ask the friendly service for a Cappucino or Expresso or whatever you want, you are in Italy after all, the coffee is made fresh.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Hotel Flavia, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

we are glad you spent a few time to review the hotel Flavia.
We are happy to know you had a positive stay with us. We will surely analize your suggestions to improve our services.
Thank you and Merry Christmas!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013, the front desk guy was okish, not over friendly and not rude, check in was fast and easy and soon upto the room, the hotel is old, I mean seriously old, it clearly has seen better days, and the room whilst clean was a bit tatty and not what you would expect from a 3 star hotel!

The location is not too far from Termini but you would need a taxi if you have luggage, we used (Republicca) which is the A Line train, and was a 10 minute walk from hotel door, the guy was helpful on the last day and arranged a taxi to Tiburtina, (order taxi from hotel) we had a good exeperience and didnt get ripped off, which is a common scam.

Breakfast was really a simple affair, but you had the choice of a number of different coffees and the rolls were fresh and warm, the pastries and juice was good too, filling and all you need really to prepare for a day in rome!

Overall expensive for what it is, but then this is roma!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Front desk staff friendly and mostly helpful-Mauricio was fabulous. Our room was tucked at the very back of the second floor-needed to use the roomkey to get in AND get out of the room. It took forever for hot water to arrive in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location.
Restaraunt next door gives discounts to desk
Fruit and mini market two doors down
AMAZING premium ice cream Come il Latte gelato di alta qualita just around the corner
Victor, the bellman is top class. Very professional and helpful.
Great, filling breakfast with a hardworking responsive dining room attendant
Happy I stayed there although I was iffy based on the reviews I read on here before booking.

Room Tip: We were happy with rooms 224 and 227
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was in a very convenient location-you could walk down the road and be at a main bus stop for various lines-or you could walk alittle further down and be at a metro stop. We walked to the trevi fountain from the hotel. The hotel itself is kinda dingy-not very nicely decorated. Our toilet didn't have a seat- just the rim- but whatever it worked out o.k. we couldn't turn the tv off without unplugging it from the wall. The shower head would not stay on the wall so we had to hold it up by hand, the furniture was not in tip top shape but no mold or too funky of stains, no view out the window-didnt ask for one though. The a.c. was great! The bed was pretty horrible though-we stayed in other hotels where they push the two doubles together to make a larger bed bed for two-and it worked out ok with the other hotels....except this one...the was a few inches in difference between the mattresses which made it very very annoying to sleep in the middle of the bed-no cuddling in this bed. Our safe combo was not working when we went to leave for some reason but eventually a lady was able to help us get our passports and such out. We didn't tell anyway-and maybe we should have but after we checked in and went to our room there was a set of keys in our door-a staff member opened the doors and said something (we couldn't understand him)-he had the tv on and fiddled with it some more while we waited awkwardly in the hall for aminute and then said something to invite us into our room (leaving the tv on) and then left us to our room...we were confused if this was supposed to be some kind of quick check to make sure the room was in order/whatever or if he was just goofing off in our room.The one gentleman on front desk was very nice-he spoke english well and gave a map with little tips to help us get oriented with the city. The breakfast was decent and the eating area was pretty nice. Overall-if I was on a budget, wanted to be centrally located, and was just gonna use this place to sleep and eat breakfast this is a great hotel- but if you want to hang out in the hotel more-find another place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flavia

Address: Via Flavia 40, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #705 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flavia 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Flavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flavia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flavia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.