We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely concert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church of Sant'Ignazio di Loyola

Church of Sant'Ignazio di Loyola
Piazza Sant'Ignazio, 00186 Rome, Italy
+39 06 6794406
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 727 attractions in Rome
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings, Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“lovely concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were there on All Saints Day and there was an orchestra and choir performing. All were welcomed into this absolutely wonderful church.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    299
    22
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Read up before you go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My guidebook doesn't have much on this church but I wish I had done more research before we went. The frescoes are truly beautiful. The church's very large size gives the ceiling space to really envelop you. The infornpmation provided inside the church about the various chapels was minimal, I thought, but they were each interesting, specially the ones that seemed yet-to-be-finished. You could spend an hour in here easily. We plan to go back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful frescos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is not to be missed! The frescos are glorious and the guide was very informative. Definitely put this one on your list. Do a bit of studying about Loyola before you go. It will enhance your visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A high baroque Jesuit large church between the Pantheon and Il Gesu. Splendid paintings -- site of the famous illusionist frescoes -- particularly in the dome. Also, a concert venue.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing ceilings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

this church may not be on the top of everyone's must see list but it should be. The ceilings are just amazing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Church of Sant'Ignazio di Loyola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of Sant'Ignazio di Loyola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Church of Sant'Ignazio di Loyola to your Saves list