We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host, great location, clean and comfortable! Did I mention location.....???” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Paba to your Saves list
Hotel Paba
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eastern NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful host, great location, clean and comfortable! Did I mention location.....???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Paba in November 2011 for our first trip to Rome - three night stay. We wanted to experience Italy by staying in a privately run, small hotel. This hotel was recommended in the Rick Steeve's book. The entrance to the hotel rom the street is unassuming; the hotel is located on the third floor of an apartment building, which I understand is typical or Italy. Alberta, the host and hotelier was wonderful. We stayed in the room closest to the front desk, but there was no noise or distractions. Alberta was informative but never intrusive, and happily provided information concerning the metro, buses, restaurants and the like.

The room was ample, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was bigger than we expected. There was a nice sized shower and we never ran out of hot water. A lovely breakfast was served in the room each morning.The room was very clean.

There is probably not a better location in Rome. It was within 100 yards of a train station which we took to the Vatican. Almost everything is within walking distance and the colliseum is literally steps away. It is a vibrant street. We went to a restaurant on the same side, down the street, whose name escapes me, but it was open late with a local crowd and we enjoyed some great pizza and good pasta dishes. We shared a table with an Italian couple and it was a wonderful experience.

When we go back to Rome, we will definitely stay at Hotel Paba. Its location, price and host combine for a memorable experience!! Plan to stay at the Hotel Paba and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Be sure to take advantage of Alberta's knowledge about restaurants, transportation and everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    95
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
56
182
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great rooms, great location! Good for couples and families.

The lady who runs Hotel Paba is very helpful and goes out of her way to make your holiday more enjoyable. She bought us breakfast in bed as well as phoned us at 4am to let us know the taxi was downstairs ready to go to the airport. Hotel Paba is on the 2nd floor. There is a lift but taking the stairs was quicker :)

A couple of restaurants nearby were just alright but encourage people to look up trip advisor for good restaurants!

Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about it being a 2 star hotel, but the room was very charming and much larger than anticipated. The owner was very cute and went out of her way to make sure the room was ready for an early check-in even though she didn't have to. She gave us a good map of the city and offered some advice on how to get around and what we may want to see for our short stay. The only thing better than the room was the location. Very nicely located close to the Colosseum and only about a 4 minute walk to the closest metro station. There are about 3 nice restaurants close by as well as a fairly large grocery store just down the street. The water pressure was a little low in the shower, but if this is all you have to complain about you don't have your priorities in order! I would highly recommend the hotel because it is easy to find and in a good location.

Room Tip: We had the The honeymoon suite with a GIGANTIC bed... it had to be the equivalent to a California ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Alberta was so kind and helpful. My room was perfect (nice size bathroom too!), with a view out to the street. You cannot hear street noise when the windows and shutters are closed so it was perfect for recuperating from jet lag.

The location cannot be beat, with your choice of restaurants right outside the front door. Walk just a couple of blocks down and you're at the Colosseum and Roman Forum. Amazing sights and so close to the hotel.

I felt safe and right where I wanted to be in the city. Someone commented on the breakfast. Italians don't really eat what we call breakfast so the toast, croissant and coffee are perfect. If you want more, step outside and head to any of the conveniently located restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Functional yet cozy rooms, great location close to many important sights, wonderful service from Alberta and her son Alessio. Very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is modest, mostly toast and croissants and coffee. It's a wonderful place to stay at a good price.

It's also close to many restaurants, one of them being taverna romana. It has authentic food, a cozy atmosphere and decent prices.

We will definitely come back and send our friends here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

on July 2012 we spent 4 nights in Paba Hotel . we had the best experience: the atmosphere,the location, the rooms, but above all was the hospitality of Alberta - the good advices we got of many subjects. all of these made our vacation a dream. we certainly will recomend this place to our friens and surely meet again.
Eran Levi and family, ISRAEL

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paba

Address: Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Rome
#84 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paba 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paba is a small, but fine two star hotel with elevator on the second floor and every detail is carefully planned. Our location is in the center of Rome, 100 mt. from the Roman Forum, 200 mt. from the Coliseum, Capitol Hill, San Peter in Chains (with Moses by Michelangelo )ecc.. We are steps from the best shopping area and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Paba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paba Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.