We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park but ID issues for cycle buggy rental” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pincio Gardens (Monte Pincio)

Pincio Gardens (Monte Pincio)
Piazzale Napoleone I and Viale dell'Obelisco, Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 755 Attractions in Rome
Type: Gardens, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice park but ID issues for cycle buggy rental”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The park is pretty and affords great views of the city ... but we were disappointed with the cycle buggy rental system: you have to leave a piece of ID - we didn't have any ID other than credit cards on us and didn't feel comfortable leaving a credit card behind (it seems we were right about this as I have since read about credit card fraud incidents related to this service). This resulted in bitter disappointment for the kids who had been looking forward to the ride as a treat. So ... if you fancy hiring a cycle buggy or other item, do bring some kind of ID you'd feel comfortable leaving in a tiny, intermittently manned kiosk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    110
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Most beautiful sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

It worth every step you have to climb! The park over there is beautiful, nice to take a walk around, but the sunset is amazing! You got the best view of the entire city!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
219 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“One of Rome's great urban parks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

These gardens, which run into the Borghese gardens, are one of Rome's great urban parks. There is a spectacular view of Piazza del Popolo -- and beyond it, St. Peter's -- from the park's terrace. Paths wind past a great obelisk, fountains, busts of famous Italians, and an interesting clock run by water. You can rent bikes or grab a pedi-cab to take you around, or simply enjoy a pleasant stroll.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Little gem of a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Go up the Spanish Steps, turn left at the top and walk for a couple of minutes. The view of the City is spectacular - stunning views of the Vatican City, the Mausoleum, etc. Cross the road and go up a slope - you will arrive at the gardens. It is literally full of at least 100 busts of notable people, monuments to other notaries, e.g. Victor Hugo. There are about 10 fountains, loads of places to sit, rent pedal bikes, buy ice creams, soak up the sun or sit in the shade. We weren't bothered by anyone trying to sell you something (we didn't see any there) If you are fed up with walking around and want to relax for a few hours, I thoroughly recommend this place. We visited twice during our short break and we wished we had found it sooner.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A beautiful park with a great view of rome. Not that busy so it's nice and quite. Great for a walk around with that special someone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pincio Gardens (Monte Pincio) also viewed

 

Been to Pincio Gardens (Monte Pincio)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pincio Gardens (Monte Pincio), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.