We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember to book in advance!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borghese Gallery

Borghese Gallery
Piazzale del Museo Borghese 5, 00197 Rome, Italy
+39 06 32810
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$60*
and up
Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens...
Ranked #15 of 688 Attractions in Rome
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Remember to book in advance!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well this was certainly the hottest spot in Rome for tourists or visitors. We purchased Roma pass and based on recommendation, we thought it would be nice to visit this famous Galleria. We arrived there on Tuesday morning, waited in line to get tickets and like most other people in front of us, were declined entry because all tickets till the coming Saturday were all fully booked out already! What a pity. Althought Villa Borghese was also very nice to look around, we still felt a bit disappointed. After all, we wouldn't have the chance to visit Rome that often and who knows when the next time would be! So a piece of advice for everybody who wants to go in the Galleria: book in advance!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,525
    952
    272
    88
    92
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My favourite place in Rome!! Plain beautiful, with priceless works of art. Audioguide is a must! Reservation is a must! The building is great on the inside and it contains demo's about roman talent at the range of... heavenly gift!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So happy to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We knew this was a mandatory book in advance museum and we were happy to comply. I do suggest though that if you are in Rome, go in to the Galleria Borghese and buy tickets from there instead of online, I didnt know we had to pay a service fee until I booked our time slot which meant I paid around 4 Euros more. A lot of people didn't know you had to book ahead and if you have a Roma pass you need to call or go there as your first trip if you want to go in for free.

They were very well organised and things went smoothly, everything has to be checked in, no phones and you need to get there early to pick up your tickets, which was not a problem because the Villa Borghese is absolutely beautiful. We brought fruit and ate it as we waited til we got in at EXACTLY the time the time slot began. There IS a second floor, picture gallery, so dont miss it.

We were floored when we saw the Caravaggios, sad the boy with a basket of fruit wasn't there at the time, or St, Jeromes if I remember correctly but all the Berninis were which was fantastic. Everyone gasps in awe when they come across them for the first time and with only 200 people there, at most, everyone could get a good view. I loved the contrast of Caravaggio and Bernini's "self portraits, {sich Baccus and David)... All in all, it was fantastic to see and I am so happy I didnt miss it.

Coffee right after was a big plus. :D

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, UTah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Make sure you call for reservations before you go-- you can't just walk in. Also, you have 2 hours in the museum. Go upstairs and see the paintings first, then downstairs to see the sculptures (this is the reverse of all of the crowds and will give you a much less crowded viewing experience.)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It doesn't matter that you need reservations two months (or more) in advance. Everyone must see the Borghese for the Bernini sculpture if nothing else. the palazzo is beautiful itself as well as the very calming grounds, but the sculpture is the star of the show. I'd not recommend buying tickets through a service - I did this time out of necessity and paid almost double the price as if you reserve through the Galleria itself (long story). You must get there early to turn in your voucher for tickets. Very nice gift shop, decent staff are a bit overwhelmed by the mob so be patient. Took Metra to Spagna (spanish steps) and then cab - $10euro via a detour - be careful of that. Regardless this is an experience that should be on everyone's bucket list.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borghese Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borghese Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.