We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply.... The Best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domus Praetoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Domus Praetoria to your Saves list
Hotel Domus Praetoria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Milazzo, 42, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply.... The Best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

The Hotel Domus Praetoria is extremly clean and the rooms are very large & comfortable with free wi-fi & breakfast as well. The hotel in a great location, very close to the Termini and the three brothers (owners), Massimo, Antonio and Fabio speak english very well.

We are so happy we found this gem! No need to look further...
Enjoy Rome!

-Robert and Melanie
Raleigh, NC, USA

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    244
    44
    11
    4
See reviews for
113
286
51
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

When my friend and I checked in at the hotel, Massimo mentioned that the room had one large bed but that if we preferred to have the bed split, they would do it for us. It was a thoughtful gesture, so we accepted. The next day, he apologized stating that they actually can't split the bed in our room, so instead, he would give us an extra room free of charge! They went beyond what I expected to make our stay comfortable. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast that was included was nice. The only thing for me was that the location was a bit far from some of that areas we wanted to stay out late in, so getting back was not as convenient. It's very close to the Metro, but the Metro stops at midnight-1AM. But we figured out the bus schedule and it wasn't too bad... If you don't plan to stay out late, the Metro is very convenient. I would stay here again the next time I'm in Rome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

The Rooms at this place was like staying in an apartment, very large. Really large bathroom. Very clean. Good walking location to lots of attractions. Only problem we had is that I use a wheelchair and they didn't mention the 3 steps you need to climb to get to the elevator which is tiny. But we made it work and for most travels a great place to stay that is very affordable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We are liked. Big room, big bed, the classic italian breakfast, exellent cappuccino))
its a perfect place for travellers, who searching for reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

This small, budget hotel is family-run, and the service is absolutely excellent for anything in this category. I was also quite surprised at the quality of the rooms (large bathrooms, newly remodeled floors and cabinets). The neighborhood isn't exciting, and I wouldn't stay here for any long time. But it's near the train station, which is very convenient if you're transiting (we had an early morning flight, so spent the previous night here, after taking the train to Rome).

All in all, considering the overall costs of Rome, it was a good value. The service was the stand-out, though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Excellent staff - very friendly, because the hotel is family-owned. Good location, near to the main train station, supermarkets and bistros in a 5 minute radius. Very clean, decent breakfast, free WLAN in the rooms. Within 2 metro station away from the most atractions (Colosseum, Spagna, Trevi Fountain) or 20-25 minutes walking distance. Very good price-value ratio! Great choice for a medium budget stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

You can't complain about the service here, but the street market outside our window was a real bummer. Very loud in the morning. The room was nice, but small. Rome is just expensive, period. Of all our hotels in Italy, this was the smallest room in the worst area for the most money. It's not far from the train station which is nice, but the walk there is kind of dirty. For Rome the price was ok, but next time we'll be looking for another neighborhood that is a bit nicer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Domus Praetoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Praetoria

Address: Via Milazzo, 42, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#145 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Domus Praetoria 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Rome, few minutes walk from the Termini station and well located for visiting the main sights. All rooms with private bathroom, free Wi-fi and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Domus Praetoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Praetoria Rome
Domus Praetoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domus Praetoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;