We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced and excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domus Praetoria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Domus Praetoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Domus Praetoria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Milazzo, 42, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Hove
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ideally located next to the Termini railway station which is also a hub for buses (to and from Fiumicino airport) and the only point where the two metro undergrounds cross. Don't worry the hotel is in a quiet and safe area at all times of the day. Easy to walk to the major sights or catch the local transport if too hot! There's even a daytime market in the street and a bakery on the corner. Easy to find although don't expect a big frontage but what lies behind are extremely friendly staff as well as modern and immaculately clean rooms. Continental breakfast with fresh pastries and coffee is ideal. I stayed for 7 nights and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    281
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
105
273
51
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I had read the reviews in Tripad and booked it for a day. Was bit apprehensive about the location as few people mentioned about strange looking people. But you dont even have to worry, a 5 to 10 min walk from termini just cannot be unsafe at all. There was a small road market on sunday morning which in no way disturbed us as we hardly realized until we came out of the hotel.
By far the biggest room we stayed during our 15 day stay in europe.
The person in the reception was really friendly.
An indian restaurant serving very good food just opposite to the hotel was an added advantage to us. Would definetely recommend this place for its wonderful price. Take the building # and the road name to locate it easily. I dont remember seeing any board or signs of the hotel. If you are using the shuttle from the airport to termini, the hotel gets nearer as the shuttle stops right opposite to this road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Domas Praetoria is a charming little hotel with lots of character, from the huge wooden entry doors to the tiny elevator. The 16 rooms are on two different floors so we found it to be very quiet. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The breakfast room has a nice patio and the fresh baked goods are excellent. The neighborhood has numerous sidewalk cafes so walking to dinner is a pleasant experience. The rooms are all very individual and all comfortably Italian. The hotel has numerous safeguards to security. Overall it was a pleasant fun experience.

Room Tip: Our room was very spacious. You may ask to see the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a night last week while on transit in Rome. I was able to locate the hotel very quickly and easily by following the directions that came with my booking. The hotel is only a short walk from the Rome termini, supermarkets and eateries. It is also a comfortable walk to a few other attractions (I walked to and from the Colosseum and Fontana di Trevi). Staff are extremely nice and helpful. I arrived Rome on a 13-hour overnight flight and had very little sleep during the flight. The front desk staff was really kind to get my room ready early so that I could check-in and have some sleep. My room was spacious, quiet and clean. Breakfast was simple but sufficient and with good coffee. Overall, I am extremely satsified with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komarno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

An easy few minute walk from the Rome termini and 15-20 minute walk from the Colosseum.Staff are very friendly and helpful.The rooms are very clean and quiet. They provided a continental breakfast and each cup of coffee was made fresh.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamberoo, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location: An easy 5 Minute walk from the Rome Termini.
Staff: Staff are friendly, helpful and speak reasonable English
Accommodation: The rooms are quiet, spacious, comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast served was very ordinary. Even though most city areas nearby to rail stations seem to attract seedy characters we found this area of Rome to be a safe area both daytime and night.
Would I Recommend: Definitely, but I would also explore other options first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a family owned hotel. The family who owns it is very accommodating. They all spoke English and made us feel very welcome. They helped with arrangements to the Vatican and suggested restaurants, and provided excellent directions and a map. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The location was excellent and not threatening and we felt very safe, although we did not venture out after dark as we were exhausted. Our room overlooked the street and I enjoyed waking up to see the market each day. They provided a continental breakfast and each cup of coffee was made fresh. I certainly miss the Coffee as it was excellent ! I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Domus Praetoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Praetoria

Also Known As:
Domus Praetoria Rome
Domus Praetoria Hotel
Address: Via Milazzo, 42, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#190 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Domus Praetoria 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Rome, few minutes walk from the Termini station and well located for visiting the main sights. All rooms with private bathroom, free Wi-fi and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Domus Praetoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domus Praetoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.