We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domus Praetoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Domus Praetoria to your Saves list
Hotel Domus Praetoria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Milazzo, 42, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Italian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Domas Praetoria is a charming little hotel with lots of character, from the huge wooden entry doors to the tiny elevator. The 16 rooms are on two different floors so we found it to be very quiet. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The breakfast room has a nice patio and the fresh baked goods are excellent. The neighborhood has numerous sidewalk cafes so walking to dinner is a pleasant experience. The rooms are all very individual and all comfortably Italian. The hotel has numerous safeguards to security. Overall it was a pleasant fun experience.

Room Tip: Our room was very spacious. You may ask to see the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    263
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
121
301
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a night last week while on transit in Rome. I was able to locate the hotel very quickly and easily by following the directions that came with my booking. The hotel is only a short walk from the Rome termini, supermarkets and eateries. It is also a comfortable walk to a few other attractions (I walked to and from the Colosseum and Fontana di Trevi). Staff are extremely nice and helpful. I arrived Rome on a 13-hour overnight flight and had very little sleep during the flight. The front desk staff was really kind to get my room ready early so that I could check-in and have some sleep. My room was spacious, quiet and clean. Breakfast was simple but sufficient and with good coffee. Overall, I am extremely satsified with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komarno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

An easy few minute walk from the Rome termini and 15-20 minute walk from the Colosseum.Staff are very friendly and helpful.The rooms are very clean and quiet. They provided a continental breakfast and each cup of coffee was made fresh.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamberoo, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location: An easy 5 Minute walk from the Rome Termini.
Staff: Staff are friendly, helpful and speak reasonable English
Accommodation: The rooms are quiet, spacious, comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast served was very ordinary. Even though most city areas nearby to rail stations seem to attract seedy characters we found this area of Rome to be a safe area both daytime and night.
Would I Recommend: Definitely, but I would also explore other options first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a family owned hotel. The family who owns it is very accommodating. They all spoke English and made us feel very welcome. They helped with arrangements to the Vatican and suggested restaurants, and provided excellent directions and a map. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The location was excellent and not threatening and we felt very safe, although we did not venture out after dark as we were exhausted. Our room overlooked the street and I enjoyed waking up to see the market each day. They provided a continental breakfast and each cup of coffee was made fresh. I certainly miss the Coffee as it was excellent ! I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights prior to cruising for 7 days, and 1 night prior to returning home. Family run, with Massimo in particular, and his brother being most helpful in assisting us during our 4 days in Rome. The outside does not reflect the quality of the interior rooms, which are spotless and entirely adequate for our visit. Within 2/3 mins walk from Termini station for trains and metros, hence ideal for airport transfers by train, and for metros to all the sites such as Trevi, Vatican and Colesseum etc.

Room Tip: Requested a quiet room upon booking, and were accommodated with a large room for the 3 night stay, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Difficult to beat this little hotel when it comes to value for money. The exterior is a little underwhelming and the hotel is not well advertised from the street, but once inside, the helpfulness of the staff and the qualityof the accommodation dispel any doubts about the wisdom of the booking.
All of the staff speak excellent English and made us feel very welcome. They were happy to arrange bookings for museums etc. and were a fund of useful information.
The rooms are very generously proportioned and well furnished for a hotel of this category. We had a room overlooking the street, which meant that we learned to keep the window closed after the first night as the small street market starts setting up not long after 5:30, and can be noisy. However, the double glazing is very effective at keeping the noise out and there were no problems for the rest of the week.
There are no public areas or lounges in the hotel, but this scarcely matters in a city like Rome where most people will be out viewing the sites throughout the day.
Breakfasts are limited, but more than adequate and are served in a small but pleasant breakfast room. Again, the staff are very helpful.
The location of the hotel, less than 5 minutes walk from the Metro, Train and Bus Stations, and the Tram network is very hard to beat. Although the streets around here are not the smartest in the city, there are some very pleasant bars and retaurants and, like the hotel, they are very reasonably priced compared to elsewhere in Rome. In short, we were very happy with our stay here and would certainly use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Domus Praetoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Praetoria

Address: Via Milazzo, 42, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Domus Praetoria 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Rome, few minutes walk from the Termini station and well located for visiting the main sights. All rooms with private bathroom, free Wi-fi and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Domus Praetoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Praetoria Rome
Domus Praetoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domus Praetoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.