We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all-around option in Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domus Praetoria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Domus Praetoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Domus Praetoria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Milazzo, 42, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent all-around option in Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I (college professors) spent a delightful three days in Rome at the Domus Praetoria. Very convenient location, 4 blocks from Termini train station, but a safe and tranquil neighborhood. Brothers Massismo, Antonio and their Dad were gracious and helpful, and let us leave our main suitcases for 3 days while we made a side trip to Florence and Pisa. If we ever go back to Rome, we will definitely return to the Domus Praetoria.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    291
    44
    11
    4
See reviews for
109
279
51
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay at this family hotel. Breakfast spread was limited but suffix.
We had to board an early train to napoli before the breakfast time. The owner was kind to start slighly earlier.

Air con is independent unit, handy in this summer months. The hotel is located right at the end of via milazzo but still safe to walk even at night.

Tips: Book direct at the hotel Website.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a great hotel! We spent two nights here. It's handy for the train station. There's a brilliant trattoria round the corner. And the place its self is just great.. The rooms are what my mum would call "nipping clean". There is air conditioning in the room. There was loads of towels and changed every day. You can't go wrong for the price (comparitively in Roma). Some reviews were a bit scathing about he noise but it simply wasn't an issue if your windows were closed (and why would you want them open in that heat?) the staff (I think it's family run) all were courteous and lovely. The breakfast was a bit cake oriented for me, but I am being a bit picky. All Italian breakfasts are like that and there is a fab bakery (Sicilian) across the road literally. So book here for good value.

Room Tip: If you're worried about the market, ask for a room at the back. We were right at the front on se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

5 nights spent here and an excellent place to stay to experience Rome.

It is located a mere 10 min walk or less from the Roma Termini Train station, the centre of Rome and as Rome has a great metro to get to the attractions this makes it all the better.
Upon arrival i was greeted by the Owner, a kind and patient gentleman who showed us to our room and helped with our bags and gave us a map of where we were, information on trains an places to eat and shops to purchase wine from.

We had arrived on a Saturday and as it was hectic traveling once in the room we turned up the air con and crashed for a few hours.
We left our room key with recpetion each time we left and would buzz the front door to get back in, once in the building which i think was shared with other people(not to sure) you are in a private courtyard and disused stone fountain. its really lovely and gives an ancient atmosphere to your entry.

The rooms are large, spacious and clean with minbar and ensuite. The Air con could be a little cooler but for the size of the room the air con was doing its best i suppose.

Room was kept tidy daily and bed made every time we entered and the staff were so friendly i wanted to be part of their family! Such a nice family!

Breakfast was simple and buffet style, orange juice, cornflakes and a variety of pastries an yogurts also with a hot drink of your desirted made for you by the attendant of the breakfast room.

If I travel too Rome again, i will book this hotel again, the great value is surprising for the pristine service i recieved!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

For the price it's the best opinion you can have at Rome the rooms are clean, big for Europe and you have everything you need like air conditionning in summer time it's very important . If the room it's not ready you can leave your luggage and don't worry because it's a very safe, quiet hotel , and the staff is very nice . The only think its the breakfast it's very small and you don't have a lot of choices but don't forget it's a two stars hotel and you have a very competitive price for Rome ! I will recommend this hotel to my family and my friends

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were not expecting such a great deal for this room, but it was large, super clean and newly renovated. Each room is a little different, and size varies, but our room was quite large with a desk, chair, sitting area, a big closet and decent bathroom. The staff were very helpful and kind.
The only issue with this room was the sound outside our window. We were on the first floor and a daily market sets up at around 6am. Even with the windows closed and air con on, it was noisy. The curtains draw fully closed making for good deep sleeps though...got me over the jet lag. I would certainly return to this hotel, it was a great price for the value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from May 8-13, and we were definitely pleased by the hospitality. The owner and his sons took care of us really well. They provided us with maps, and other information to trave in Rome and surrounding areas. The breakfast is continental, but filling nevertheless. The rooms were nicely kept; we had no issues with cleanliness or the furniture. The owners also went the extra mile and stored our friends' luggage when they made they mini trip, as their hotel refused to do so.
The hotel is very close to the termini, and in a safe area. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay here in our future visits to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Domus Praetoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Praetoria

Address: Via Milazzo, 42, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#194 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Domus Praetoria 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Rome, few minutes walk from the Termini station and well located for visiting the main sights. All rooms with private bathroom, free Wi-fi and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Domus Praetoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Praetoria Rome
Domus Praetoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domus Praetoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.