We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fenice Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Fenice Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Fenice Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Francesco Crispi 15 | Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #935 of 2,677 Rome B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

The hotel is ideally located to all major attractions. It is a small hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is included with choices of pastries, rolls, yogurt and fresh fruit . The rooms are quite small but very clean. We were fortunate to get the larger room with two twin beds.
We enjoyed walking and seeing all the sights so close to our hotel. The longest walk was to the Vatican which took about 45 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    77
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
11
62
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norrköping
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Hotel is allways overbooked so they move You to another hotel with back-yard standard. Never book this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Stayed here for five nights; I was in room 103 which I think might be a staff room (very modern, fantastically powerful shower, hairdryer in room etc.), my friend was in the Caravaggio room (402 on the fourth floor) which was more hotel style as in the pictures. Rooms not huge but well air-conditioned & all you'll want to do is sleep when you hit the pillows anyway! The staff on the desk were lovely, not the best English but very good anyway, and the lovely lady who greeted us every morning with a cheery smile & a cappucino in the terrace breakfast room every morning! Even has a lift for the big bags. Brilliant location, right between Piazza Barberini and the Trevi fountain and about a 25 minute walk with bags to Termini station and similar to the colosseum. Would happily stay here again, I just wanted them to give me a job so I could stay!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Stayed 4 nights at Fenice hotel. Location is fantastic, between Spanish Steps & Trevi Fountain. Rooms (2nd floor) is small but convenient. Clean and functional small bathroom. Our room was very quiet. Amenities are basic (no hairdryer, no kettle, no ironing board - none can be borrowed from reception). Good choice for a reasonible price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We just got back a few weeks ago and absolutely adored this hotel! The rooms were incredibly clean, convenient and great bathrooms! The terrace breakfast room was a perfect start to each day! The only word of caution would be to make sure that you're booked for the right hotel. We arrived and were told they over-booked and would be taking us to The Stylish. We put up a small fight but after being told it was relatively the same location we accepted and went to the new place. The Stylish I would not recommend. The rooms were brand new and quite nice but I felt like I was in a Manhattan apartment (where we're from) and not an authentic Italian villa. The hotel was also a 15 minute walk from anything... this was incredibly annoying and we moved back to the La Fenice for the remaining two nights...

To sum it up, the location is amazing, the breakfast terrace wonderful and the staff a real charm. Just make sure you end up in the hotel you booked (and not one of the other affiliates).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Between the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain, the location was great. The hotel was very clean, freshly painted and carpeted, with nice furnishings. It was quiet and had air conditioning. The room was only about 10X12 feet, a challenge to put your luggage down and still move around, but the bathroom was nicely done in marble and adequately sized. If you can get used to the small space (we did, as we're not in the room much), the hotel is a great value.
The "view" from the one small window was ugly, but the small breakfast room was pleasant and the buffet good. The staff is polite, but not equipped to give much sightseeing info or assistance like some hotels do. They can help you find things listed in your guidebook.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

My son and I just came back from 5 night stay at La Fenice. We had the best time! The staff was great, especially the girl in the breakfast room, and the white haired gentleman on the graveyard shift at the desk. La Fenice is a great value for it's location. It is like others have said, so close to everything. And , if it's not close, the bus is. We never did use the metro but it is just 5 min walk as is a main taxi stand area. The only complaint I have is that the beds were a little hard. But, even with that, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fenice Hotel

Address: Via Francesco Crispi 15 | Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #935 of 2,677 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fenice Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an area surrounded by art galleries, monuments, refined boutiques, the Hotel Fenice, a 3 star Hotel, is without doubt a romantic choice for a romantic weekend getaway and cultural or business visit. Relax and enjoy the unique view of the city from our roof garden. Hotel Fenice offers guests double triple and quadruple rooms: comfortable and elegant, equipped with all amenities. 11 highest quality rooms guarantee your stay to be unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your La Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fenice
La Fenice Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fenice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.