We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fenice Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Fenice Hotel to your Saves list
La Fenice Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Francesco Crispi 15 | Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,110 of 2,886 Rome B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Good value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as it was fairly inexpensive and looked the ideal location to see all the sights we wanted to in the 4 days we had in Rome for our Honeymoon. We read all the reviews here and on expedia carefully and decided it was worth taking a chance and I guess we didn't have high expectations.

It was fabulous!

Reception is a little on the small side but its clean, bright and welcoming. We arrived earlier than the stated check in time and were greeted by the smiling young man on reception (his name is Asif). We were fully prepared to have to go for a coffee till check in time but Asif had our room ready and let us know the times of breakfast and that the mini bar in our room was free.

Our room, The Palatine, was on the 4th floor, so we used the elevator. Again a little small and I suppose it would be a very tight squeeze if we had larger luggage. On opening our room door we were pleasantly surprised. It was a good size, clean, well laid out and the bathroom was spotless. The fridge mini bar had a few cans of soft drinks, a beer, a couple of bottles of water and was replenished daily, this really was a lovely touch.The wardrobe had a safe (On expedia it only mentions there is a safe box at reception so having one in the room was an unexpected bonus). So after a short nap we headed out to explore.
Everything was within walking distance, The Trevi is about 5 minutes stroll away from the hotel as is the Spanish steps. On the two mornings we had early tours and didn't want to risk getting lost walking, Asif rang us a taxi and it was with us in less than five minutes. (14 Euros to the Vatican and 10 Euros to the Colosseum).

Wifi was free, signal was good in our room, a little patchy on the terrace and non existent in reception.

Breakfast is on the 5th floor roof terrace in a VERY small sun room. While it was clean, and a lovely room to eat in it was difficult to get to the buffet if there was more than 4 people in there. Breakfast was a selection of small bread rolls, ham and cheese slices, pots of yogurt. bread for toasting, pastries and boxes of cereal. Although we both enjoyed breakfast I'd image more than 4 days it gets a bit boring. The coffee smelt horrendous (my husband said it tasted "ok") the juice was some kind of concentrate and was vile.

The roof terrace is delightful, on 2 afternoons after our tours we would get a sandwich from "Bread and Break" just up the street and sit on the terrace. Even in November it was pleasant to sit out and the canopy meant we could still sit out despite a light rain shower.

The only negatives about this hotel are their awful breakfast juice and lack of coffee making facilities. We would have been happy to pay for a cup of cappuccino especially sitting on the roof terrace so if your reading this Hotel la Fenice.....Get a vending machine for the terrace, and give Asif a pay rise!.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    18
    5
    9
See reviews for
13
66
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The room was small, dark and smelly.
Our friends room had been given to somebody else although they had paid in advance

The plus points were the great location and the very helpful staff - but I still wouldn't recommend this hotel

Room Tip: AS far as I could tell the rooms with numbers 01 were bigger and brighter than those with numbers 02...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The location was good. Just stay for two days, not to much to say. when we arrived at 7 pm ,the receptionist immediately informed us if our room had a little problem, apologize for inconvenient and transfer us to other 4 star hotel,we don't like this hotel. room so old, and smelly but they have great breakfast. the second day hotel transfer us again, back to la fenice,small lift , fix for 2 person, 2 small luggage,in the room had mini bar with some can of soft drink for free. The great is we've got a bottle of champagne in our room. And at roof top terrace happy hour for guess from 6 pm -9 pm, they provide red and white wine for free.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located for seeing sights, catching the hop on hop off tour bus and shopping. A few minutes walking will get you to the Trevi Fountain or Spanish Steps. There are plenty of nearby shops too. The hotel looks dodgy from outside but isn't quite as dodgy as it looks. However, our room door handle kept falling off every time we opened and closed the door! The room was older, smallish and outdated. There was a free mini bar in the room but the staff failed to mention that on our check in so make sure you use it (we found out on our last night by reading other hotel reviews on trip advisor and then confirmed at the reception desk). Make sure you ask for fresh soaps, shampoo and conditioner every day or they won't replenish your supplies. The roof top terrace is extremely small and will only hold a few people. Pictures taken are deceiving. The free breakfast is average, basic and limiting. The location is what we liked best. The lift will hold 1 person with a suitcase. The hotel requires an urgent renovation. Look around but you get what you pay for here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Perfect for a night stay in Rome. The staff were so helpful, before and during the stay. They recommended and booked 2 restaurants for us. As well as organising a lovely car for the transfer from the airport.
The location was perfect, 5 mins from the fountains. Unfortunately they were being refurbished. Good value compared to other hotels around.
Breakfast was continental, simple and just what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is located in the center of Rome, near the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, and a short walk from a metro station, very good location. On the day we arrived, our rome had a problem. The manager immediately called a cub and transferd us to a 4 star hotel. We came back the day after. The rest of the stay went smooth. But from the second we arrived, the staff was great. They took great care of us because of the malfunction in the room and were very professional and kind. Our room was in the top floor and was very clean. Breakfast is standart but very satisfaying. A little plus - there is a barista making you the coffe. Overall, we had a great time :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very good value here, room a bit cramped for 3 single beds, but as a double would be great. Bathroom fine, towels replaced daily, shower powerful! Fridge stocked every day. Lift to all floors.Room safe worked. only 6 clothes hangers in wardrobe.
Excellent choice for Breakfast on roof terrace ( inside) and staff friendly. I would ( and have) recommend this to any of my friends. If you're taking a facecloth choose anything but white - I left my to dry on the bidet and it was taken in the laundry on my last day! small price to pay! Celia Shires

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fenice Hotel

Address: Via Francesco Crispi 15 | Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,110 of 2,886 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fenice Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an area surrounded by art galleries, monuments, refined boutiques, the Hotel Fenice, a 3 star Hotel, is without doubt a romantic choice for a romantic weekend getaway and cultural or business visit. Relax and enjoy the unique view of the city from our roof garden. Hotel Fenice offers guests double triple and quadruple rooms: comfortable and elegant, equipped with all amenities. 11 highest quality rooms guarantee your stay to be unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fenice
La Fenice Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fenice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.