We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, close to rail facilities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blu Hotel Roma

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Blu Hotel Roma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blu Hotel Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Domenico de Dominicis 4, 00159 Rome, Italy (Tiburtino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #524 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    160
    72
    27
    15
See reviews for
61
85
9
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suwalki, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Best Western Blu Hotel Rome is desirably situated near by Tiburtina Station ( short walk- max 20 min but tight pavement). We were there with our children and we were content. It is four-star hotel but I think Rome has your own( different) star system but everything was OK. Every day we had clean room, bedclothes and towels. Air-condition was great. Breakfast was good, European not typical Italian(slices of chees and cold cuts, scrambled eggs with bacon and hard-boiled eggs, off course cakes and croissant). Were there coffee machines but I recommend ask waiter especially espresso and macchiato. I had a try American coffee from coffee machine and it was tasteless. But espresso or other coffee from waiter is delicious. Service was great an helpful in hotel and cafeteria. Internet Wi-Fi inside room was fast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is quite good. Rooms are well equipped and maintained. It is sort of outside town, quite close to the Tiburtina metro station, which is at 10 to 14 minutes walk.

This is also convenient because you can take the bus to Tiburtina and then get to Termini by Metro if you want to change lines for going to the Vatican city. Or, stay in the same metrio line and get to the Coliseum and other close by attractions.

On the plus side, there is a cheap way to get from and to Fiumicino airport by taking the FR1 metropolitan train from Tiburtina (8.00 EUR per person) and the trip takes around 45 minutes.

The hotel restaurant is not that good and a little expensive. Ask the staff for directions and get to a nearby restaurant La Nduja (around 600m from the hotel) which is great food for good prices.

Will happily return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Book in advance and use the immediate pay to get 25% discount on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, US
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were there in May 2013, stayed there for 3 nights. Rooms were clean. Friendly staff. Service was very nice. Breakfast was very nice. Very convenient location. 10 minutes walk from Tributina train station or you can take 409 bus from Tributina train station and it is the 3rd stop. Very easy to get to.
We recmend this hotel. we enjoyed our stay here.
When in Rome Please take care of you pockets especially at Termini station and Termini subway or metro station. Lots of pick-pokets. We got robbed there as some one just took my husband's wallet event from the front pocket of pants. When you go talk to police, they take it very light. Reporting to Police is waste of your time.They look at you as it is normal. As we went to report to Police, there were 7 people ahead of us in line, sitting there to file a report for stolen purse, wallet, suitcase. All of them were robbed few minutes before us at Termini metro. We talk to them, but it was waste of time. We bought the Roma pass, which is worth the money if you are travelling in the city for 3 days, it has 2 passes to Museums. Our passes got stolen with wallet. We went to Roma pass service and showed them the booklet and told them what have happened to us, but they said we cannot do anything. So please carefull. Sometime they engage you in conversationa as for diversion and other will be robbing you. Keep your purses in reach and be alert. Vatcan Musems are closed on Sunday. You can ride on any bus or metro train with passes for unlimited rides for 3 days. Rest, the Rome visit was very nice.

Room Tip: Beaware of pick pockets, especially at Termini Metro station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel out of town, good property. great staff. rooms were satisfactory. If you were on a budget, the Tiburina station though a good walk from the hotel made travel affordable! children less than 10 travel free on the public transport. restaurent was good, affordable. The kettle was available on request, the concierge was very helpful. staying on the extension wing was cold, AC was not the best, tempertaure control was on / off only!
jacuzzi was good.

Room Tip: call in advance to book a good selection. avoid the extenson if possible, even then it is not bad! t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Blu for 4 nights. Since I requested a quiet room, we got a room that faced a courtyard surrounded by the building, rather than a busy road. If you want a balcony, then you have to have a room on the noisy busy road. One night someone in a room opposite was playing music until the early hours. The room was good, and if we had been given a double bed rather than two twin ends pushed together, we would have been happier since the beds constantly separated! The bed was comfortable, no problem sleeping.
The staff at the hotel are engaging, friendly and professional, Gian Luca treated us like family, and our constant request for our ice bucket to be filled was never a problem. The breakfast was lovely.
Location for this hotel was fine too. The bus stops across the street, a couple of stops takes you to the metro, and only four stops and you are in the middle of Rome, using the same metro ticket which you purchase for 1.5 euro at the hotel, it's easy!
The neighborhood is fine with a decent shopping mall less than 10 minutes walk which has a large supermarket. It would be be good if there was a non smoking area for guests to sit outside for those that do not have a room with a balcony, maybe they could do something in the courtyard?

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard do not have a good breeze as they are surrounded by buildings. If you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff went above and beyond each and every time. They made us coffee while we waited for them to clean our room (before check-in time!), helped us with directions, travel arrangements, transportation and ticketing. The room was clean but warm. Only minutes walking distance (about a half mile) from Tiburtina station. Even though the sidewalks are not ideal we found it to be a safe walk and did it even after dark. When you first get into the train station I recommend taking the 409 train and getting off at the first stop (only €1). Their continental breakfasts were very good but we didnt like the restaurant food. We ordered spaghetti that tasted like Chef Boyardee spaghetti-o's. if you leave the hotel and go right there is a mall, food store and some great restaurants. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Blu Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blu Hotel Roma

Address: Largo Domenico de Dominicis 4, 00159 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Tiburtino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#206 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blu Hotel Roma 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blu Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blu Hotel Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.