We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: long, but informative...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Discover Roma to your Saves list
Discover Roma
Via Castelfidardo 50, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #960 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
North Carolina, USA
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Warning: long, but informative...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

I had high expectations of this hotel based on previous reviews and was pleasantly surprised with the comfortable size of the room and bath. The decor is nice: long, flowing drapes; large, easy to open window with shutters; terra cotta tile and modern bath w/large shower. The small fridge was perfect and the "mini-bar" items (incl. water, juice, beer) were extremely well-priced. We bought our own at the local supermarket a few blocks away. BTW, it is a huge store w/ good produce, wine, snack departments.

The staff is extremely welcoming and speak perfect English. (Some of my attempts at Italian made them ask ME to repeat myself in English. LOL)

Now for the bad part: We were forewarned about the credit card issue, thanks to this site, and sure enough the sign was posted stating that the machine was out of order! We came prepared though with Traveler's Checks (in Euro) that we specifically put aside for this purpose. We asked about the machine the first day and were told that "maybe it would be fixed by the time we checked out." You could tell from her tone that this was a subject of contention. The morning before our day of departure we presented them with the traveler's checks. The girl called her "boss" to see if she could accept them and was given the go-ahead. We returned to the hotel that night at around 10pm to be told that the checks were not acceptable after all. I explained that we needed to be on our way to the airport at 7 the next AM, that our bank (B of A) charges $5 in addition to what the European bancomats charge to withdraw cash, and that on top of it all, we had signed the checks over to them! In a largely unprofessional move, she made us get on the phone and speak to "The Boss," who told us it would cost her $27 euro to cash the $250 in checks. Ridiculous. I then spent an hour on the phone calling the Traveler's Check company to report that the checks had been signed over and then refused, making sure that we could get our money back for them. I was told that the banks in Italy charge a 1.5 % fee to cash the checks, but this is no different from what a merchant pays when accepting a credit card.

In the end, they ran the credit card. We did not pay an extra fee. The machine worked. This hotel plays games with their guests because they are operating below the law. I'm sure a local cambio or Tabacchi shop DID want to charge them a lot to cash the checks! The bottom line is our awesome stay was tainted by the experience at the end. We witnessed other guests running to the ATM when they probably needed to be headed to the airport or train too. I'm glad I stood my ground and refused to play their COMPLETELY UNNECESSARY GAMES, but next time I will take out plenty of cash in the first place and hand it over when I arrive.

The hotel is an affordable, clean, safe and very comfortable accommodation for the price point. What they save in paying taxes and god -knows- what kind of hotel fees, they do pass on to you! At 90 euro a night, we would stay again and have the cash ready!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    7
    9
    0
See reviews for
3
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

We were very pleased with the spacious room and bathroom, friendly staff and decent location. Our only complaint was a note saying that the credit card machine was broken so we had to take out several hundred euros in cash to pay - I would suggest that the owners simply state that it is a cash-only hotel to save everyone the frustration of expecting one thing and getting another. The value of this hotel far outweighs the small hassle of finding an ATM to pay the bill at the end of your stay, however. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2005

DH, DS (age 11) and I had an enjoyable 4 nt stay here. The previous reviews given here were pretty accurate. Location is convenient, large supermarket nearby, small fridge in the room. Rooms are very clean, large, w/ large bath. Breakfast is nice - coffee and toast, cookies. Altho website says credit cards accepted, staff discourage it and will charge extra if you insist. On the other hand, the staff were extremely helpful, will go out of their way for you. For example, they were willing to assist us w/ taxi to Fiumincino airport at 4:30AM on day of our departure. Value was excellent overall. I'd stay there again in future.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2005

We stayed at Discover Roma for 6 nights in May 2005. We have mixed feelings about this hotel. Positives included reasonable room price, close proximity to train station and two supermarkets; large room and bathroom; overall cleanliness; friendly helpful staff (provided us with breakfast the night before when we had early starts, gave us directions and suggestions for sightseeing and rang tour company for us to confirm bookings) and fantasic restaurants outside hotel. Negatives for us included no internet (website said there was) hot room (I think you had to pay for Air conditioning), cigarette smell (coming from outside?), hairs on the bed sheets, grubby shower with very hard water pressure/ poor drainage which caused water to fill up to ankles, towels that had no absorption, unpleasant breakfast, and close proximity to dubious area around train station. We were also disappointed that after a six night stay the hotel owner would not let us leave our luggage in the room for a short period after the checkout time. They also were not keen to accept credit cards even though we were given the impression before we ariived that credit card would be fine- there was a sign suggesting that they did not have the facilities yet, however the credit card machine was clearly in view, they then proceeded to try and talk us out of using our credit card, and then when we did we were charged extra. If we were in Rome for a short stay and needed to be close to the train station we would probably stay there again otherwise we would look elsewhere.

Andrew and Bronwyn
Christchurch
New Zealand

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2005

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Discover Roma Hotel. It was very quiet, safe, clean, and had excellent air conditioning. The staff was wonderful and very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2005

It my most pleasant surprise when we entered the room, really a lot of space to move around and the bathroom fantastic esp after the tiny-barely-can-move around bathroom we had in venice(our previous stop)!
The staff were very friendly and suggested some possible routes to tour rome as much as possible and even go to the extend of using highlighter to draw out the routes on the map for us!

Although it near termini station, it located in quite a quiet street and we remembered one night coming back with the street lights spoiled so can be a bit scary.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2005

My husband and I spent 4 nights in Rome at this hotel and were very pleased. The room was large, modern & clean. The hotel was run by a family, so we felt very comfortable staying there. They were also very pleasent and helpful in recommending places to see and methods of transportation. Breakfest is delivered to your room. The location was excellent in terms of being close to Termini Station as well as 2 metro statons. Approx. 25 min. walk to the Colloseum (nice walk after eating all that pasta!). Only disadvantage - no phone in the room.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discover Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discover Roma

Address: Via Castelfidardo 50, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #960 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Discover Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discover Roma Rome
Discover Roma Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.