We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Christmas vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Empire Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aureliana 39 | Centre - Via Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Christmas vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at this hotel over the Christmas holiday. We could not have been happier. The hotel was great and the staff was even better. This was our first trip to Rome and we will be back and we will be back to the Empire Palace. Rooms were good size; hotel was clean; location was great; staff was friendly. Who could ask for more! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    288
    87
    19
    11
See reviews for
85
260
24
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our room was always clean, but Italians love to smoke! They do not allow smoking in the rooms, but you can smell smoke in the bar, the hallways, etc. We had one problem with a strange odor coming from the wall. I mentioned it once to the hotel staff and the problem was gone when we returned from touring Rome at the end of the day. The beds are twin mattresses, pushed together, and the pillows are hard, but nonetheless we slept well.Overall, I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a nice hotel in a nice part of town, walking distance to many of the most interesting sites in Rome.

P.S. The restaurant down the street, called "44" was excellent, and we ended up eating lunch/dinner there three times.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St Lucie FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to boarding a cruise from Civitivechia. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. The doorman took our bags from our limo, delivered them directly to our room. We used the hotel restaurant for a quick lunch of assorted tapas served promtly and we'd give the food 4 stars.

We just arrived at FCO from Miami and were ready for a nap. Our room was your typical 100+ year old 5 star hotel. Everything was "old time" luxurious.

The concierge recommended a local outstanding restaurant to us and the meal was delicious.

The following morning we ate at the hotel's buffet breakfast. A wide assortment of hot and cold foods. We'd give the breakfast 4.5 stars.

Overall, an excellent hotel for the money and located in a nice area of Rome

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The locations is decent, 10-15 minutes walk away from Termini and the tourist circuit. Rooms are on the smaller side and Wi-fi works only in the lobby and around. Breakfast menu is decent and they have beautifully laid out tables in the courtyard for dinner. Loved the Tiramisu :)

Room Tip: Avoid room 101, it is wide enough for a bed only, no space to even walk.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Love to come back to Empire Palace Hotel. It is located into a calm area. Rooms are big and clean. Wifi works perfectly. Front desk people are amazing and will always help you if you ask for assistance. Without doubts, i like that place.
The morning breakfast is a hearty one.. and cappuccino is delicious..
Room service react fast to your request and you are never disappointed.
Finally, fine restaurants surround the hotel. So do not hesitate to try it. You will be pleased too, like we were when we came here for the first time, two years ago, in summer time.
And we came back in winter time. And result is the same. Still perfect.!

Room Tip: All floors and rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean but a little small. Food is excellent however the general attitide of the staff is a little rude and can put you off. Finding the hotel in the blanes is tough as the hotel name is not prominently dispayed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great helpful staff. They didn't have a crib available for my friends two year old but they made it happen! Gave helpful site seeing advice. Great location. Room was large, biggest I've seen in Europe! Great breakfast for it being included (eggs,toast,fruits,meats,pastries,coffee,etc) and wifi worked well. Hotel rooms outdated though, very traditional.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Palace Hotel

Address: Via Aureliana 39 | Centre - Via Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#128 Business Hotel in Rome
#179 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#203 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empire Palace Hotel 4* is located in a quiet area a few steps from the famous Via Veneto in Rome downtown, has 110 bedrooms and suites, cocktail bar, restaurant and 4 meeting rooms.With its pointed arches and double lancet windows the elegant building that houses the Empire Palace Hotel recalls the architecture of Venice, was in fact built around 1870 as the Roman residence of noble family of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Empire Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Palace Rome
Hotel Empire Palace
Empire Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.