We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for sightseeing city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Saint Paul Hotel to your Saves list
Saint Paul Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vito Volterra 43, 00146 Rome, Italy (Ostiense)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #538 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value for sightseeing city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Booked a weekend city break staying here and as long as you are switched on, it's not hard to find or to navigate yourself around Rome as the metro station is a short five minute walk and the subway system itself is super-easy to use (and cheap).
Our room was clean, comfortable bed, TV, blackout curtains and a good amount of storage. We got a great online deal and we really only needed the hotel to sleep, it was neatly decorated and the staff were very friendly. It is a small hotel in a capital city, the lobby is small and the room was snug but it was perfect for sightseeing and fantastic value.
The continental style breakfast was great, a full range of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, bread, cheese, meat, fresh juices etc but there are smaller places to grab a coffee (or McDonald's) near to the station.
We crammed everything into our weekend and this hotel was a great base, I would definitely stay again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    157
    95
    31
    16
See reviews for
46
170
21
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel is horrible, they advertise 4 stars, I wouldn't give even 1. It is really far away from main attractions. Keep in mind that Rome has 2 lines of metro, 1 with air-conditioning and 1 without. And u will have to use this without ,everyday, pure hell. I was there in September and was really hot and humid. I have to mention also rude staff at front desk. I arrived there after 13 hours flight, I was tired and I wanted sleep and I couldn't because of noisy housekeeping. Next night was also sleepless, this time because off couple with kids going crazy cross the hall, I told staff about this situation and they response was just turn up your Tv. At the time I was furious. My room should have queen bed ,but instead I got single kid size crap. Bedding was horrible quality with holes! Room was so tiny that was impossible to move around. Believe me, my room in students time was like the Ritz comparing to this damp. The only good thing I can say about this is breakfast and nothing else. Save our money and time and avoid it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The location is really quite out of the way. Price wise is alright but to this hotel really needs to use things like free WIFI to entice customers to stay with them. In this day and age WIFI really is as important as a working shower.

That aside, I'd skip the hotel breakfast and grab some fruits at the fruttieria 2mins away or eat at the university cafeteria that is right next door. they sell cheap water as well.

The only plus point from staying in the Basilica S. paolo neighborhood is the very relaxed atmosphere, also good is that you pass by Piramide metro station on the way back from central Rome and there is an abundance of good food in the Testaccio vicinity. Da Felice, Augustrello, Da Bucatino and Volpetti for their deli goods.

The room is alright, clean and functional, water is nice and hot and decent sized. Reception though as one other reviewer mentioned is quite dreadful. Studied my passport longer than it took customs to stamp it.

All in all avoid this hotel if possible, you can get other hotels at similar prices in better locations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stay away from this hotel. It is expensive, but you get only a small room with cheap and low-quality furniture (they call it "minimalistic!). Parquet on the floor, but with clear scratches on it. TV was still a huge cheap old model (no flat screen here). Shower doors didn't close well so water escaped on the floor. Small lavatory in a corner, no light over the mirror. At €150 breakfast and wifi access had to be paid separately. Thin windows glass, noise outside isn't kept out. Early morning rubbish collection awoke me this moring. And this morning the corridor was filled with a greasy taste coming from who knows where - not the smell you'd like to meet when you leave the room. At that price you can easily find better, even in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

First off, let me say that this hotel is WAY off the beaten path. In fact, we kind of got lost trying to find it as we were roaming neighborhoods well outside the tourist hotspots. Also, it is about a 10 min walk from the closest metro. Oh, and it wasn't just us lost. Locals near the station weren't even aware of it so it really wasn't big by any means.

All that said, once we found it and got settled in we were pretty happy. It's a nice walk to/from the metro once you know where you are headed. I kind of liked the charm of being in a quite part of town and just seeing people roaming about their normal day-to-day lives. Also, the hotel is cute, but very small. Nothing too fantastic really, pretty standard, but it was clean and I knew what I was getting into for the price/other reviews.

This seems best suited for students or couples like us that don't mind staying a little out of the main areas to save some money(so you can spend it on more meaningful things of course).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

A very minimal hotel
No restaurant or room service
No fitness center
No complimentary wifi
Staff seems to have an attitude
Shower is *really* small, literally elbow space only. Drain pipe would get clogged and will take a while to clean up.
Most likely would not stay with a family here, prefer a hotel with a restaurant/room service at least. There are no tourist spots near by the hotel as well. The nearest ATM machine is also about 0.5 km.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel St Paul for three nights (Wednesday, Thursday & Friday nights).

We arrived at Roma Termini railway station. From there it was a Metro ride (about 15-20 minutes) to Basillica San Paulo and from there a ten minute walk to the hotel.

Check-in was good and the man at reception spoke good English and gave us a fantastic tourist map of Rome and highlighted the main tourist sites. We found that this map was more helpful than the guidebook that we had purchased before leaving home !

Our room was clean and located on the top floor (the 5th). The complaints we have about the room are
1) 1 pillow per person. This was quite flat and an additional pillow would have been welcome.
2) The hot air heater was sometimes not sufficient to keep the room warm. It was a choice of either having a noisy heater on all night or allowing the room to become somewhat chilly. I suppose, with hindsight, we should have asked for a blacket and extra pillows.

Brekfast was very good. Lots of choice. Ham, cheese, eggs (hard boiled and scrambled) and sausages (hot dog type). Tea, coffee, lots of fresh fruit. Cakes, biscuits and much more !

Wi-Fi is in the hotel but is chargeable. There's a computer in the reception area that guests may use the internet free of charge - however they suggest no more than 15 minutes of use to allow other guest to access the service.

Sadly our last night was spoilt by loud noises made a bunch of alcohol induced neandrathal idiots who found it extremely amusing to arrive back at the hotel at 3am. Not the hotels fault - but a blot on an otherwise peaceful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Paul Hotel

Address: Via Vito Volterra 43, 00146 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#226 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Paul
Saint Paul Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Paul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.