We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rome Downtown Accomodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rome Downtown Accomodation to your Saves list
Rome Downtown Accomodation
Via Cavour 275 | 1st Floor With Lift, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #111 of 3,081 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good location but a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Lorenzo, the owner is very accommodating. He made sure we had a great stay in his bed and breakfast. He also explained all the sights to see in Rome. He's a hardworking guy. He does all the work. :) From breakfast to cleaning the room.

Our rooms are ok, spacious enough. But it can get hot, and if you request for an aircondition, you'll be charged 8euros a night. Rome is a warm city. The dates we stayed were the hottest in Rome i think, so imagine us sweating while sleeping. We tried to open the windows, but we can't sleep bec. of the noise.

Everything you need is there, an adaptor, an in-room safe (which we didn't use), hair dryer, wifi (though it goes off between 8pm - 7am). The bathroom is ok, but the shower area is relatively small.

The place is secured. Guests remain quiet specially at night. Breakfast is served in your room at your preferred time. Earliest is at 7:30am.
Will i comeback again....yes. =)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    52
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
175
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

So for starters, let's get it all out on the table... You're not going to get a luxury 5 star hotel room 2 blocks from the coliseum for 100 euros per night. What you will get at Downtown Accomodation is an excellent location, a decent room and an adequate breakfast. I'm rating this highly because I got exactly what I expected when I stayed here. It didn't exceed my expectations, but it didn't fall short either.

The room was decent. the bed was reasonably comfortable. The shower was incredibly small, which made it difficult to move my elbows. The road noise was a little loud in the room, but closing the window helped a little bit. Mostly it became white noise, and we slept fine.

Lorenzo was helpful. He showed us where all the good sites were, and how to get to them. We didn't take the bus that he recommended, because we didn't want our pockets picked. We walked everywhere, and it was pretty easy to do. You're right in the middle of the coliseum/forum area, about a mile from the vatican, another mile from the spanish steps/trevi fountain area.

If you want a deluxe hotel with an amazing bathroom and gourmet breakfast, stay somewhere else. If you want a convenient location, an adequate room, and a very good price, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Downtown Accommodation is definitely a great option to consider in Rome.

The location is wonderful--just a very quick walk from the Coliseum and the Forum. I'm not sure if the rooms in the front (overlooking Via Cavour) are loud, but I requested a room in the back and it was very quiet.

Lorenzo is very helpful and accommodating; it's clear that he wants you to enjoy your stay both in Downtown Accommodation and, more generally, in Rome.

Breakfast is served in the room at the time you request, and I thought it was very satisfactory.

The room was clean but somewhat small, although probably no smaller than other similar options you'll find in the area.

The only issue we encountered involved some problems with the hot water, but Lorenzo was extremely apologetic and he quickly had a plumber come in to fix the problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Spotless room, fantastic service with super friendly staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and make our stay enjoyable. Good central location, walking distance to all the good stuff, secluded and secure spot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The location of the hotel is excellent and very safe, very close to the Colosseo and Foro Romano. Besides, you can walk to other tourist spots from the hotel as well.

And there are many italian resturants nearby (La taverna dei fori imperiali, il grillo parlante...).

The owner Lorenzo is so kind and helpful when we arrived he gave us a map and explained everything about transportation and kindly answered our questions.
He introduced most of the tourist spots of Roma city map to me and my husband patiently. We saved the transportation cost a lot since the owner said that we could walk to the most of the tourist spots from the hotel. He was so nice that he left the breakfast to us the night before we left as we left the hotel very early before the breakfast time.

The guesthouse is clean and with free wifi. All in all, Downtown Accomodation is highly recommended by me and my husband ! Hingly reccommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

The hotel was situated in a very good location, close to the main attractions, 5 minute walk to colosseum and forum. reasonably priced resturants at the end of the street. The host was very helpful and made us feel very welcome during our stay, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Downtown Accommodation - would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Just back from 3 nights at this hotel for a 40th wedding anniversary treat. We had room 103 which looks out over a very busy Via Cavour. Despite the double glazing you will be aware of the traffic during the early hours but although I am a light sleeper it didn't stop me getting any sleep. You are right in the middle of a great city and whether you go 1 star or 5 star you will still hear the odd police siren or someone tooting their car horn.Our room was clean and pleasant enough.We had none of the problems mentioned in a previous review. If anything our water was TOO hot in the shower,the breakfast was a good start to the day although our coffee could have been a bit hotter.Lorenzo was very helpful and shows you where everything is on a city map and explains how to get around. Had a good built in wall safe so we could leave documents,car keys ,cash and cards there safely when out. There is a very good value Chinese restaurant below the Downtown which I can recommend as well.DONT arrive without pre booking your tickets for top attractions such as Colliseum and Vatican as we saw 75 yard queues for these.You also need to know that the entrance for tours and tickets for the Vatican is a 500 metre walk following the outer wall to the rear of the Vatican.We saw loads in our short stay and can recommend the Downtown for cleanliness,freindly service from Lorenzo and great location

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rome Downtown Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Downtown Accomodation

Address: Via Cavour 275 | 1st Floor With Lift, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 3,081 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Downtown Accomodation is a great value, comfortable, friendly and safe accommodation next to the Coliseum and the Roman Forum. From the place you can reach the Colosseum and the Roman Forum in less than a two-minute walk. Thanks to its enviable position Downtown Accomodation provides the ideal place in the heart of the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Rome Downtown Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Downtown Accomodation Hotel Rome
Downtown Accomodation Rome
Downtown Accomodation Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Downtown Accomodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.