We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the worst places i have stayed.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boncompagni Suite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boncompagni Suite to your Saves list
Boncompagni Suite
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Via Boncompagni, 79, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 727 Specialty Lodging in Rome
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“one of the worst places i have stayed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is one of the worst places I have stayed. Outside my window was the noise of the street...very noisy and loud...motorcycles at all times of the night. The light in the bathroom did not work and was not replaced while I was there. The television did not work the entire 4 days I was there. The shower had no water pressure. The breakfast was not worth eating and the coffee not worth drinking. I asked for the T.V. to be fixed, as that is part of what I paid for considering it was mentioned as a feature of the room...it was never fixed and when I asked for a price adjustment, guess what...it was denied!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
29
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed for one week there and it was a pleasant stay. It is in a very good location ,in walking distance from Spanish steps, Trevi fountain our on Via Veneto to Barberini square. The staff was helpful, including warming up the milk bottle for our son every morning and evening. They have free wifi and is working very well.You should not expect 4stars, but it provides good value for money. On the negative side, the furniture is rather old as well as the curtains and bed cover and the TV is too small. They should also diversify the breakfast, but the cappuccino is amazing! While you are there ask for the pizzeria on via Piave, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in June, after my parents had stayed here 2 years ago for a week.
It is somewhat away from the 'action' in Rome, but that wasn't an issue for us. Its a 10 min walk from the metro, but we just walked everywhere anyway.
It was about 45 min walk to Vatican City, and 30 mins to the Ancient Rome Sites.
It is 5 mins away from Villa Borghese which is a beautiful park, and must be checked out!
It is always a few mins away from the Hard Rock Cafe, if you feel like 'cheating' and going for some North American fare (felt bad, but we needed a break from Italian food for the night).
Check-in & out was smooth, and the front desk staff are always friendly. The suites are on Via Boncompagni, off of Via Veneto, and up from the American embassy. It is a walk uphill if you get off at the Barberini station - and with our packs, and 30 degree weather it was a bit hot, but manageable.
The hotel also offers a shuttle service which we took back to the airport, and it was well worth the 50 euros (it was arranged by the hotel, and arrived in a timely fashion).
But if you head back down via Veneto you can be at the Trevi Fountain in less than 10 mins, and at the Spanish Steps in about the same. Walking was the best because of everything you can see on foot. There was an internet cafe about 10 mins down via veneto and off a side street- its also a laundromat (Cheap internet service).
After 2 days of sightseeing, we took a break on our last day and went to the beach.
We walked to Termini (15 mins), and took the train to the Lido. It was a very nice beach, but we had to pay 20 euros to rent chairs and umbrellas (but worth it). It was nice to relax instead of spending the day wandering around again.
The hotel is clean, and was well serviced every morning, air conditioned, with mini fridge.
They also include breakfast in the room in the morning which was nice. It was your standard european food, croissants, and some prepackaged sweets, toast, and butter.
Also with juice and excellent cappucinos. Being Canadians we would have loved bacon and eggs, but this was still a lovely breakfast to start the day, and there are so many places to eat within mins it wasn't an issue.
The beds were comfy (after where we stayed in Venice this was a real treat), shower pressure good ,and flat screen t.v (not that we spent much time watching tv).
The only negative was the 'view' it was looking inwards to other apartments, and you could see others laundry hanging up- but with all the sight seeing we did, it wasn't a big deal.
Price was also fair for Rome, about 110 euros per night. They were easy to correspond with on email to book the room, and the room was ready on our arrival (thank god because we were sooo tired!). The room was also large for European standards, with a big wardrobe to hang things up in.
If I were to return to Rome, I might like to stay somewhere else just to have a change of scenery, but I would not hesitate to recommend this place for clean, convenient, and well priced accommodations in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Our family of four (children aged 6 & 8) spent a week at the Boncompagni Suite in early May and would certainly recommend it to others. The purpose of our stay was a combined work (for my husband) / leisure trip for the rest of the family. We needed to be within walking distance of Termini Station and the Via Veneto district and the Boncompagni Suite represented the best value-for-money option that we could find within the district.

We had two reasonable-sized adjoining rooms. The rooms were quite well appointed with aircon, a fridge, TVs, hairdryer and a bidet in the ensuite. The shower-door needed a bit of maintenance as it wouldn't slide properly. Although wi-fi was provided, it seemed to be a bit of a hit-and-miss affair getting it to work. The rooms were attractive with shuttered bay-windows which overlooked the street and some pleasant buildings and grounds. The street noise may have been a problem during summer, but as the nights were still quite cool, we closed and shuttered the double-glazed windows and drew the heavy curtains in the evenings and had a peaceful sleep. The one thing that bothered me on arrival (although we made do quite comfortably) was that there were only 3 chairs and a small table for 4 of us. However, the kids enjoyed sitting in the bay window space instead of on a chair for breakfast.

Breakfast was provided in our rooms and consisted of coffees, juices and plenty of packaged breads (toast, croissants and cakes). I had read in a previous review that perhaps a choice of small containers of yogurt and /or pieces of fruit would be a welcome addition to the breakfast menu and I would agree. Towards the end of our stay, we bought fruit and yogurt to supplement our breakfast and took the packaged breads with us during the day (which were a a life-saver when kids were tired & hungry ). Breakfast is normally provided between 8 and 9am, but my husband requested a 7.45am breakfast before his meetings and the staff were happy to oblige.

Although the district is not in the heart of the city, getting around did not pose a great problem for us. We were about halfway between the Barberini and the Repubblica Metro stops (Barberini is a bit more straightforward to get to - walk down Via Boncompagni to Via Veneto and follow it to Piazza Barberini). There is also a bus that runs down Via Boncompagni from Piazza Venezia which we caught home one night.
We were continually discovering small shops nearby and found a small takeaway coffee shop just near the entrance below our room (only open till 4.00pm, 90 cents a cup), a supermarket down nearby Via Toscana, and a Tabaccheria (sells bus & Metro tickets) just a block from our hotel.

I've already mentioned that the staff were happy to oblige with an early breakfast, but the two young male receptionists, although friendly enough, did not offer outstanding service. To be fair, there may have been some language barriers. There was certainly nothing to complain about....but to make for outstanding service, a map, some brochures and some information about the area would have been a fantastic welcome.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, and paid much less than it would have cost at one of the nearby hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Yes, I never got to the hotel, because I booked for a trip to Rome, and the ashes from the Vulcano prevented me and my husband to take our flight, which got cancelled the day before the departure, so we did not make it, but I wanted to write something about a situation I consider is not correct.
I am a business woman and I have suscribed a lot of contracts, and in all contracts there is an exclusion for the penalties, and that is called "Force majeure" (French for "superior force"), also known as cas fortuit (French) or casus fortuitus (Latin)", which means that no penalty will be paid when the person does have a good reason, which was not under his/her control, for doing/not doing something. So it was a Force majeure situation which prevented me to arrive to Rome, but the hotel apparently does not know about the casus fortuitus situations, and charged anyway one night to my credit card.
This could be a nice hotel, who knows, but for my next trip to Rome I am not booking with them again.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed at Boncompagni for one night early November 2009. The room was spacious and quite centrally located. We paid 70 euros and I believe it is worth its value! It takes only 10 minutes to walk to Spanish Steps. Do not expect any luxurious vacatious but we would definetely recommend this B&B if you are on a budget. Remeber that it is on the first floor of the building. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed for 7 nights in the Bonampagni Suite, and cannot find a single fault with it. The staff are extremely helpful and corteous, and will do anything to help you.

Our room was lovely, great size, air conditoned, tv, hair dryer, dressing table, en suite bathroom, just everything you would need. Excellent price, it was about €85 per night for the room, a great rate.

Breakfast is served in the room in the mornings from 8.00 - 9.30, you are asked the night before what you want, and its always delivered on time. Continental breakfast and they give you plenty of food. One night we were leaving at 7 the next morning as we were going to Assisi, and they provided us with biscuits and carton of orange juice the night before, we were well impressed with that.

Its situated in a lovely quiet area of the city, we were only about 10 mins from the spanish steps,, 15 from trevi fountain, and about 15 mins the other way to the traiin station. Bus stops littered everywhere along the street also.

Near by we only went to 2 restaurants, but they were top class, Al Padovano on Via Bergamo 50/52, and il Pomodorino Via Campania 45/E, great food in both places, and staff were ever so helpful.

When we return to Rome again we will be staying at the Boncampagni Suites.

  • Liked — Central Location & Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — no bath
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boncompagni Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boncompagni Suite

Address: Via Boncompagni, 79, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 727 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boncompagni Suite 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an elegant Roman neighbourhood, Boncompagni Suite offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 5 minutes' walk from the gardens of Villa Borghese and the exclusive street, Via Veneto.Rooms have an elegant design with wood floors and a flat-screen satellite TV. Each one includes a minibar and safety deposit box.On arrival you will choose your breakfast ingredients for your stay. These include croissants, packaged cakes, yoghurt and fruit juice. Ham, sausage and fresh cheese are also available. Boncompagni Suite is just 50 metres from the nearest bus stop, offering excellent bus links around Rome. Termini Station is a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boncompagni Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boncompagni Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.