We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem, for a drink with a wonderful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Palazzetto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Il Palazzetto to your Saves list
Il Palazzetto
Vicolo del Bottino 8, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“An absolute gem, for a drink with a wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We only had a drink in this perfect terrace bar overlooking the mayhem of the Spanish Steps. Impeccable service - an abolute delight!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
norfolk UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a fantastic little gem of a place, nestled right on the spanish steps, we had room 4 on the fourth floor, with amazing views out onto the steps, and access to the outside terrace, which we had all to ourselves...... i have to be honest i felt a teeny bit smug as i sat on my balcony, sipping a glass of fizz, with people on the steps looking up and wondering ' how did she get there?! hehe! pure class. the location is bang on the money, the rooms are very luxurious, the bonus of a kettle and tea/coffee was very welcome, the bathroom is huge compared to other hotels, and i loved it! the staff very friendly and helpful, everything was top dollar, even the price, worth every penny. The breakfast over at the Hassler was v good, and I liked that I got to use the Hassler, but stayed at the younger and more hip baby sister on the steps - as it was less pretentious and 'old'(no offence Hassler, just personal taste :) . if i get to return to have another Roman holiday - i will most definitely stay here again. I loved it and it made my trip to this beautiful city even more magical.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 - it's at the top and it's the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We loved Il Palazzetta. Right on the Spanish Steps. Wonderful assistance by the desk personnel, especially Daniella. And the amenities of the Hassler without the cost of staying in the Hassler. We loved our room (#4), thoroughly enjoyed breakfast at the Hassler. I used their fitness room, and we used their bikes (could use some new bikes, or at least some good repair!).
We also recommend using Context Travel for city walks. Their docents are great. We left Rome feeling like we had really experienced it. Here are some things we recommend doing:
Eating:
Best Gelato: Crispina
Best Coffee: Saint Eustachio
Best Roman Trattoria: Gino's
Great Roman dinner: Al Moro
Must see: the Burghese Museum, reservations required.
Great walk: The Ghetto (Richard Steve's book is good for this)

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms. Am sure all are great, but #4 is right at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have travelled around the world and have been fortunate enough to stay in some of the finest hotels ... and I would rank this among them. It is small, it is quiet, the staff is discrete and pleasant, it is central, clean... in short, quite perfect. Not inexpensive, but by Roman (and Hassler) standards, not breaking the bank either. Thanks very much for a quick, perfect layover.
Karen, Montreal

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in Il Palazzetto #4, which is on the 4th floor with easy access to the rooftop balcony overlooking the Spanish Steps. Ask for room #4 if you stay here! There are only 3 other rooms in the hotel (Il Palazzetto is an offshoot of Hassler Hotel across the street), and we were the only ones staying there in late February. All three desk attendants at Il Palazzetto were friendly and helpful with reservations/directions, etc. The breakfast buffet at the Hassler Hotel was excellent, and although our reservation suggested continental breakfast, they had no problem with us participating in the full breakfast each day. We highly recommend Il Palazzetto!

Room Tip: Il Palazzetto #4, only room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in room 2 overlooking the Spanish Steps. Our room was very clean and serviced twice a day so we always had warm, dry towels. The staff were excellent, especially Daniella on reception, and couldn't do enough to help us. Breakfast, included in the room rate, was at the nearby Hassler hotel and you had a couple of minutes walk outside to get there which is not a problem even in the rain in February. If you like a hotel with lots of amenities, food and drink, then this hotel is not for you.
If however you enjoy exclusivity, personal service, location and value inteh centre of Rome, book here.

Room Tip: Three if the four rooms overlook the Spanish Steps, so request this
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Four nights in room 2 in late October. Quick although somewhat formal check in at hotel Hassler, but very welcoming host at Il Palazzetto and fantastic location for first time visitor to Rome. Great thing about this place for us was it was super quiet even though the Spanish Steps are mere meters away, also the feeling of being in a small boutique apartment rather than a big hotel chain. Expensive but excellent breakfast in a terrific room setting in Hassler. Eye wateringly expensive to book a guide through the Hotel, but a good way to skip the queues and make the most of your investment to get there in the first place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Palazzetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzetto

Address: Vicolo del Bottino 8, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rome
#299 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Splendia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Il Palazzetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Palazzetto Hotel Rome
Il Palazzetto Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Palazzetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.