We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a single female” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gea di Vulcano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gea di Vulcano to your Saves list
Hotel Gea di Vulcano
Via Nazionale 243, 184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For a single female”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel twice the first time travelling with a friend and second just myself. Central location ; 10 mins walk to Centrale Stazione, restaurants around the area. easy to find your own way to all the city attractions. Lovely rooms, different sizes for number of guests in a group. Hot weather on arrival, air conditioning turned on and all very comfortable. 24 hour concierge. Breakfast was included in the price. Quaint entry through huge doors on street, then walk along wide passageway, through security gates and into an entrance of a building that houses other inhabitants as well as the hotel. Lovely cooling fountain in front of entrance. Loved Hotel Gea and felt safe there. Would definitely book again if visiting Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    133
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
84
112
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

When in Rome, stay at this place and you'll be in the middle of everything. Very nice hotel, great value, large rooms, comfortable beds and good air conditioning. The location is great, and most things are in walking distance - the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps... and a short cab ride to the Vatican. We had the two bedroom apartment on the second level, with access to the rear door entrance off the stairwell. This was very convenient. However, we were directly below the breakfast room and it a bit noisy in the morning. Also, the room is rather isolated from the other rooms in the hotel and the front desk. The condition of the room was good, and the décor was adequate. The cleaning staff tended to leave the window open even on very hot days. Breakfast was average. Not bad really, but we had better throughout Europe in other hotels. There are a few restaurants nearby, but we found the better ones to be by the Patheon and Trevi Fountain areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've stayed in Gea 4 nights with my wife. It was a great choice and a top bonus to spend funtastic holidays in Rome.
1st, location: perfect! A ten minutes walk to Termini Station, where the transfer buses arrive from airport and where you can take the train to other italian cities or even to the airport too. A fifteen minutes walk to the most famous sites such as Trevi, Spanish Steps and Coliseum. If you don't like to walk, no problem, Multiple buses take you to all parts of Rome. The bus stop is outside the hotel. The subway station "Republica" is 2 minutes away! Perfect!
2nd, hotel room: just what you need! If you search a nice room, with a nice bed and pillow where you can rest from your strolls throu the city, this is perfect. My room, 32, was big and quiet. Even with the windows open we could sleep easily. Great bathroom with refreshing shower. Spacious, confortable beds and perfectly clean. The best tv offer I've ever encountered.
3rd, breakfast: nice start of the day. Fresh coffee, one of the best I've ever drunk in hotels and a sufficient offer of bread, croissants, toasts, pastries, jams, cheese, ham, cereals, yougurts, juices. They should have more fruit. The lady that served us was very nice and always happy to offer you an expresso or cappucino if you requested it.
4th, service: hotel employees where always nice, with a smile in their face and ready to assist you in anything you need.
In conclusion, a happy and well made choice. As said by other travellers, people may feel strange with the fact that the hotel is in a building with other hotels, but if you pay attention this is common in Rome. It's an interesting and smart way of using big buildings that look like ancient palaces. The one where Gea is, is very nice, with a beautiful entrance and very secure. You won't regret.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Location was great just at the middle of Via Nazionale road that links between the Piazza Venezzia at the very beginning to Termini station that is the heart to all transportation back and to Into Rome. Its a 15 minutes walk to the Spanish steps and trevi fountain that you can go for enjoying Icecream there eveynight. Very safe location . Shops and restaurants and pizzerias are around every corner of via nazionale road. at the end of the road there is also a 2 minutes walk subqay station "Republica" leading to line A that you can take a direct train to San Pietro to the Vatican city. Also the city sightseeing tour bus just stops around the corner that can take you all over Rome and drive you back to Termini.If you love walking then definitely the neighborhood is a perfect spot for you going around all the streets. the service is nice and the breakfast is not that fancy with lots of alternatives one but yet is enough for you to enjoy with the Italian coffee. the staff are friendly and helpful. our room was big . great value for money .

Room Tip: for a family with older children definitely room 38 the one with the private enterance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

When we first got in, I was a bit worried of the rooms as we r used to the large hotels with big crowded lobbies and bellmen and people coming in and out. But after getting into the room I was surprised, The room was clean, nice, cozy and lovely. The hotel is very central its at via nazionale road that's central connecting between termini station the main one at rome for the buses, train or subway to the end to reach Piazza Venezzia and Pantheon. It took us like 12 to 15 miniutes walking to the Trevi fountain and usually we end our night there or at the Spanish steps having some delicious unique ice cream. Its a walking area that you can enjoy every street around or even take your hop on hop off bus for tours right at the corner. the closes metro station is republica which is like 3 minutes walking from the hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming. the breakfast is not that fancy with a lot of options but its special and enough with a bonjourno smile from the waitress out there. the hotel is 100 safe and secured even they lock the doors at night. The road is full of shops like regal, tezines, disgual, leather shops, restaurants, pizzerias. I recommend. with a good value of money.

Room Tip: room27 last at the corridor but with two window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
692 helpful votes 692 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

And those are probably the best points it has. It includes a free breakfast with limited variety of pastry, cereal, juice - just a normal breakfast. The building itself holds at least 1 other hotel and probably some private residences. There is an older lady who speaks only Italian whose function in life is obviously to guard the entrance and courtyard of the buildingl. After you enter the big front doors from via Nazionale her office is immediately inside to the left. Beware, her residence is on the opposite side of her little office. She is rather grumpy and there are rules, rules, rules. Don't think she likes kids very much either.

No standing looking at the fountain. No standing next to her office. No standing in front of the front door and absolutely no talking above a whisper. She was an absolute thorn in our side...just a very testy old woman. She's not connected to the Hotel Gea, but she WILL get you if you put one toe out of line. She even CALLED up to the Hotel Gea to complain about us, and we weren't doing anything bad or too loud at all. We attempted to follow her directions as best we could, but like I said she only speaks Italian and we only speak English so I'm sure that set her off even more.

I liked the hotel, but try to avoid this sourpuss old lady at the front of the building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greasby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed with my daughter for short holiday in May 2013, on recommendation of my brother who has stayed on several occasions. I found a small, spotlessly clean, obviously well run hotel with helpful and friendly staff in a great location for walking to many land-mark sites and with easy access to transport by bus/metro/mainline station. We had comfortable beds in adjoining air conditioned rooms; fridge/mini bar plus the bonus of complimentary tea / coffee making facilities in room. Well appointed, spacious bathroom with good shower - especially loved the linen hand towels! Good breakfast in small breakfast room. Didn't need to use wi-fi - I was on holiday - but I think my daughter was able to access e mail via Blackberry whilst in the room. For a well-priced, small hotel in Rome, couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gea di Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gea di Vulcano

Address: Via Nazionale 243, 184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#145 Family Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gea di Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gea Di Vulcano Rome
Gea Di Vulcano Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gea di Vulcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.