We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning hotel just outside Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castello della Castelluccia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Castello della Castelluccia to your Saves list
Castello della Castelluccia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carlo Cavina, 00123 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Hagley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“A stunning hotel just outside Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent 4 days here and knew that it was just outside Rome but seeing as it was around 35 degrees it was the pool that was the big attraction. We got a reasonable rate direct with the hotel and were given two rooms next to each other. The rooms are lovely, big, comfy antique beds, nice size bathrooms with lovely Etro toiletries, large flat screen TV - very difficult to fault.

The hotel is really not that big, it only has something like 25 rooms and the bulk of their business definitely stems from wedding parties at weekends and as others have commented you do need to bear this in mind as they do screen off sections of the hotel. We had dinner there on the Saturday night and were shown to another room for dinner which was almost as nice. Plus, although the outside dining area was closed for the even, the hotel has a FANTASTIC terrace on the roof. Whilst there is no bar service up there, you simply order your drinks at the bar and take them up yourself. The weather was great and we really liked this spot.

Food - for us this was where the Castelluccia lost a star. Firstly, the lunch and dinner menu are both the same and both dinner prices but they will make you a caprese salad or provide a plate of ham/cheese for lunch if you ask. Don't be afraid to ask for something "off menu". The first courses are nice (small and about 10-12 euros), the pasta dishes are stunning and about the same price so represent value for money, main courses are 22 Euros plus and vary massively. Tuna was nice, lamb chops dreadful. On the Saturday night we had the tasting menu at 40 euros which represented fabulous value and quality for the money. But the tasting menu does not change. Breakfast is very pleasant, not much hot food choice, but lovely fresh fruit, yoghurts and great pastries.

The pool area is fantastic. The pool is huge, very deep and really quite lovely. Perfect temperature in the summertime, plenty of sunbeds - we would return for this reason alone.The sandwiches by the pool are completely inedible - avoid at all costs, totally disgusting. But limited drinks and ice creams are available by the pool.

Yes there are transfer buses but the times are generally not that convenient - this could be improved. My recommendation would be to hire a car (the transfer from Fiumicino is at least 50 euros, more like 70-80 each way) so that you can get out to local restaurants and get into Rome a little easier. The train station that the shuttle takes you to is not far and then takes an easy 20-30 minutes.

I would definitely stay again, but that is because we learnt how to take advantage of the hotel and not be bothered when parts of it are closed off to private functions - I can see how this could bother a lot of people - there are other spots to enjoy such as the roof terrace. I cannot stress how fantastic the staff are. Extremely attentive, very friendly and if there is nobody at the bar, you tell reception and somebody will appear. This is a fantastic hotel that you should treat a bit like a boutique bed and breakfast. Enjoy....we definitely did.

Room Tip: We had standard rooms 211 and 212 which we were very happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    66
    19
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
125
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Castello for 3 nights in August 2013. We spent our first 5 nights in Rome in the center of the city at an amazing place, so our opinion of this hotel is slightly biased by that amazing experience.

That being said, there were some excellent aspects to this hotel:
- Pool was great, perfect place for relaxing
- Hotel has tons of character, actually like staying in a castle
- Complimentary breakfast was good

We didn't rate this hotel a 4 or 5 due to the following:
- Not all of the front desk staff were amazingly helpful, especially compared to our previous hotel in Rome
- A free mini bar would have been welcome (again, they offered a free mini bar at the previous place), instead, we had to trek into town to pick up refreshments (or pay top dollar at the pool or mini bar)
- There was a wedding one evening which was a little noisy
- Would have been a 4 but the shuttle failed to pick us up in town after our dinner one evening, resulting in us waiting at a tram station for ~45mins at 10:30pm (and we had to call to remind them to come after pre-booking the pickup). Definitely not the end of the world, but I was teetering between a 3 and 4 and this dropped it down to a 3.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay and it was very relaxing. If this was the only place we stayed on our trip it may have received a better review, but alas, the place we stayed previous was leaps and bounds ahead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelluccia, Responsabile reception at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Madame,
I always consider positively a bad review, because it's an opportunity to improve ourselves. In this case I think something is not completely correct. For exampe you say that shuttle bus fail to turn up, and sometimes it had happened for a crossing of circumstances for which we do apologize. But I want also to remind that we often send the shuttle bus also out of the scheduled time, and sometime because our guests miss the train. I've personally picked up some giuests at midnight,because I was warried they where travelling by bus at night.

You say that we booked a taxi in a wrong time, while - I'm sorry, but I must tell the true - you asked for a taxi at 3pm and the taxi arrived at the right time. You weren't ready because you were by the swimming pool until 2.50pm, taking the taxi at 3.05. Since in Italy (and this is not our fault) taxi meter starts to run from the moment that the taxi leave the taxi station, it's normal that you found the taxi meter with some euro already charged. The taxi driver called me because you didnt' want to pay the charge and, while I was trying to explain to you the taxi rules, you screamed to me that you didnt' want to pay for that, hanging up on face the telephone without allow me to reply. Maybe a misunderstanding could be managed in another manner, but if something is not clear, asking for an explanation, and than reply, should be a usual manner.

About the menu, we do not have different à la carte menu, for lunch and dinner. We'll take care of your suggestion, either if, with 22 proposed dishes, we think that the choice is enough wide.
About your affirmation that the restaurant has no atmosphere, being the main restaurant a original medieval room, with original stone columns, with a original fireplace, original terracotta floor, maybe this doesn't create an atmosphere to you, but allow to me to consider this a respectable but very personal opinion.

You also said that there isn't any place where to sit during a wedding. while, during your 6 nights stay, there was only one small wedding of 25 guests (on Monday), and we have two terraces, two external areas, three restaurant rooms, while the 25 wedding guests occupied only one restaurant room and one terrace.
Being our hotel a medieval Castle, some places must be "discovered", and we found that this is a feature that our guests love, while, however, our h24 reception personnel is always willingly at disposal to answer to all the requests, either the most particular, and to help our guests to enjoy their stay. We amuse to show to our guests all the places that the Castle can offer.
However I take note of your disappoint and we will try to share more with our guests our amusement and interest in our building and spaces, with all its history.

I want to take the responsibility of the fact that, with you, we've not been able make you feel at ease, to the point to trust us. I apologize for this. This is the lesson that we learned in this occasion, for which we are thankful.

Best regards
LV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsby
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

the hotel is very nice & very clean the food is very good and the wine excellent the staff are good and ready to help it has a nice swimming pool, but you have to go down& up about 70 steps the only problem for me is that it is about 30mins from the centre of rome, but we knew that at the time of booking breakfast was very good, the best scambled eggs ever, a little piped music would be nice in the main building

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the location is stunning but it's the lack of attention to detail that's fails to make it perfect. Staff will often have a convenient break down in communication to suit, shuttle buses fail to turn up and they book taxis for the wrong times leaving them to sit in the car park with the meter running. There isn't a bar, they don't provide a lunch menu and there isn't anywhere to sit in the evenings apart from the expensive restaurant which has no atmosphere. If there's a wedding or private function on you're confined to your room as they do not allow guests in the hotel lobby or grounds, ushering you away shouting 'tradition'. They do provide an extensive breakfast menu and the food tastes amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning and end of a Beach's motorcycle tour. Its location outside of Rome meant easy access to and from the area. This is a great event location, or country retreat. I would not recommend for those wanting to tour Rome. Excellent service and lovely dining room. Rooms vary greatly in size and amenities though in the same class

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelluccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time spenmt to review our Castle with your wonderful words.
We are surprised by the score on the cleanliness of the room, as we have not received any note from her or from alstri guests, which would have allowed us to take immediate action, informing our housekeeper.

We do accept the rate you gave on room, however depending on type of room and personal taste, since we have 23 rooms all different. This is the reason why we are always at disposal of our guests in the effort of meet their need and, if possible, to change the room, according to their tastes.

Price/ quality rate depends certainly on expectations, but also from how much the travel agency charged you on the rates we gave them.

About the distance from the center of Rome, we are aware of the distance from the center, as are our guests who book to stay in a location away from the hustle and bustle of the city and, contemporarely, being easily able to reach the center for a tour.

We hope you will come back to us to, why not, booking directly with us, since with a direct contact is much more easier to understand the needs and to please our guests.

With kind regards
Luca V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We ended our trip in Rome, and this couldn't have been a more magical place to stay. The castle and grounds are absolutely beautiful. The rooms were well appointed, clean and each of them had so much character. The breakfast was truly outstanding and the staff were very friendly and helpful. And you gotta love a place that offers free parking, free wi-fi and free (elaborate) breakfast! The only thing I would caution is that it's about 15-20 minutes outside of the heart of Rome. We had a car so it wasn't a big deal and apparently there's public transportation options as well. Personally, we loved going into the city during the day and returning to this romantic, serene getaway at night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelluccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for having dedicate us your time for your very kind review.
It's always a pleasure when our guests have a good remind of their stay to us.
We look forward to welcoming you when ever you want.

Regards
Luca V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I so wanted to rave about this hotel as it looked like our perfect country retreat after a hectic four days in Rome's city center, but whilst so much of it was so lovely, a few things really did let it down.

We arrived just in time for lunch, but were told we couldn't eat in the restaurant as there was an event on that afternoon. We were then told that whilst we could eat in the restaurant that evening we couldn't on our second night as there was another event. Having been served one of the worst pasta dishes I have ever seen, in a soulless space off the reception, we were then brought complementary drinks as an apology for the terrible food. I can only presume this was because they were too busy dealing with the event going on as we had a superb meal in the evening.

The biggest disappointment was the pool. I had no confirmation from the hotel when I booked and after chasing them was told that they wouldn't guarantee the pool would be open and it would be a managerial decision nearer the time. This was six weeks before we were due to arrive and we did look to change hotels as this was the main factor that we chose it for, but everything had doubled in price. The worse thing was I think they knew we might cancel, so they made out that there was a possibility it might be open, so we decided to go with it. On arrival I asked if it was open, and received this response "No madam, our pool doesn't open till the end of May". Mmmmmmm why didn't you just tell me that in the first place, felt a bit duped. It was 25 degrees plus whilst we were there, so couldn't really understand their thinking on this as it is such a draw for guests.

The hotel was seriously understaffed so we spent the whole time wandering up and down looking for someone we could order drinks from. The whole time we were there the bar was staffed once, and this was on our last night. This meant that if we wanted anything at all we had to go to reception which made us feel like we were pests and just an irritation. We went out for the meal that we couldn't have in the restaurant but if they just made some minor alterations to the small room they use as a second dining room we would have stayed in. You're put in a brightly lit room, no candles no music, totally soulless. Silly really as a meal there is over 100 euros, so with minor effort they could encourage people to stay in and eat with them. The other draw of this hotel is it's fabulous dining room, so when you're told you can't eat in it, it's exceptionally irritating, especially on the nights that we did, the food was amazing and the atmosphere lovely. The waiting staff were friendly and fun.

So in a nutshell if you want a fabulous location, peace and tranquility, beautiful rooms, this will be the place for you, but if you're going, double check when you book that the pool will be open and take note that they won't make you feel like valued guests as they're too busy looking after the people have events there. This hotel needs to decide whether its an events hotel or a hotel for couples looking to get away from it all, who are after a bit of luxury and attention. If they want the latter then it wouldn't do them any harm to employ someone who is there to take care of the guests. For 1000 euros for three nights I expected more and better.

Shame!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelluccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Madame,

I really appreciate your attention and the time you spent to review our castle. also for polite words and honest final consideration.
I sincerely apologize for the uncovenience you had,

Our Castle, as other similar locations, is often requested for banquets, and we always guarantee our guest meal, nontheless we can not guarantee in which one of our restaurant room. unfortunately your stay coincided with two events in both nights. I'm really sorry for this "missed appointment".
I understand your disappoint and I accept the tone of your review, even if extreme in some points.

I'm sorry much more for the swimming pool. I've found the email that my colleague wrote you on April 24th concerning the possibility that the swimming pool, would have been not ready, but promising sun beds by that.
I know her very well and I know that her goal is to do all the best to please our guest, but in this case she made a promise that we could have not keep.

Unfortunately, we were surprised by two unpleasant factors. The first was that the climate was too unstable. Alternated days of rain and cold to others with sun, but there were no items to ensure a decent pool service. Also in these days, in the last week of May, the temperature is maximum 12 °c.

The second, more serious than the fisrt, was caused by iron, present in high concentration in the water that feeds the pool, which has covered the bottom of a thick layer and which is still requiring time and special tools to make it removable. This has longly delayed the opening, that now we are expecting for the beginning of June.

We hope you will come back in our Caslte to taste our good food in La Locanda restaurant and to take a sun bath by our swimming pool, since I'm really certain that your next stay would be fantastic.

Luca V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello della Castelluccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello della Castelluccia

Address: Via Carlo Cavina, 00123 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#129 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#152 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello della Castelluccia 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle of the Cancellieri family, built on a Roman villa between the 12th and 13th centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castello della Castelluccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Della Castelluccia Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello della Castelluccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.