We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel we enjoyed our stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aureliano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aureliano to your Saves list
Hotel Aureliano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia, 619, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #780 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average Hotel we enjoyed our stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel is more like a 3 star not a 4. The breakfast was ok croissants and toast, cheese and cold meats and pasries. The hotel staff were polite enough but not overly friendly or keen to help when asking about the collessium etc. All you need to do when u walk out of the hotel turn right and walk up the road about 10 mins until you come to the macdonalds on the corner. You then turn left and take the metro to all the different places you wish to visit. Make a note that your stop is CORNELIA and dont make the mistake we did and return to VALLE AURELIA lol. the metro is the best way to transport around Rome to the Vatican City, Trevi fountain and Collesium it is cheap and fast and you can travel around for the whole day for 4 Euro each. When going to the various places dont be conned into the tour guides charging 45 Euro each to go around the collessium they say its to beat the ques but its worth just hanging on in line for about half an hour and paying the small 15 Euro each. if ur under 25 you can get into the collessium for around 8 Euro so take your student cards if poss as I got into the Vatican museum cheaper also. theres a great restraunt just past macdonalds from the hotel called Restraunte Joseph... well worth a visit me and hubby both had a 3 course meal with wine and soft drink for 42 Euro!!! the restraunt across the road and to the left from the hotel is more expensive and no where near as nice. We used trip advisor for our whole stay in Rome and went by the reviews on here.... theres free Wi Fi in the hotel so its handy on your smart phone to download the trip advisor app then download Rome and use it when ur travelling around. Sorry to babble on but these hamdy tips help. Overall the hotel was a pleasant enough stay.. only faults were the aircon was rubbish so the room was really hot and opening the window meant hearing lots of traffic and honking horns all the time. The towels were changed once during our 3 night stay and the room cleaned up every day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    70
    52
    24
    16
See reviews for
24
45
12
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Unlike the previous guest we had a room in an annexe adjoining the hotel. Access to reception was gained by ringing a bell. No balcony, a small room and the shower was temperamental in the morning but fine at night, however it was clean, modern and the bed was big and comfortable. Staff were helpful and the breakfast was good with several choices. Overall, I'd say this was 3 star and not 4. It is no more than a 10 minutes walk to Cornelia Metro and if you buy your ticket from the newsstand across from the hotel it saves time in the station. Line A closes at 9.00pm so staying in the City Centre means you are dependent on taxis.
Beware of unscrupulous taxi drivers. The set fee of €30 from the airport is to the city centre, not Via Aurelia. There is a surcharge after 10pm so even after agreeing a price at the airport our driver wanted much more than the agreed fee. On the return journey to the airport I recommend taking the bus from Termini station. It is only a 20 minutes journey. As long as you don't mind being on the outskirts I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and thought we had been upgraded ,but learnt that our room with private patio size balcony was indeed ours. Five star quality at three star prices.We urge all to try this jewel in the crown in Rome

Room Tip: The higher the room the less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baumholder, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have worked in hotels for 16 years, started out housekeepering in a Comfort Inn & worked up to management in a Four Diamond, JD Powers awarded hotel, so I can say I have seen it all & heard every hotel complaint in the boom! I always go in with the worst expectations. You know prepare myself for the worst, but I was pleasantly surprised! Staff was cordial, not over polite. They were efficient. Only ONE problem entire three nights, when we asked for the directions to the closest Metro. We were told go right about ten minutes, you can't miss it! Wrong! Go right from hotel cross street walk about ten minutes & turn left @ the McDonals, Metro is two blocks up! Thats it my only issue & I am a super picky person. If you are not prepared to use public transportation, pick another hotel closer to town.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlin, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, because of the big world-conference, which was organized in the nearby Ergife Palace Hotel. This hotel is located near a busy street Via Aureliano, but I did not hear any bigger noise during the night. Rooms are very modern, clean, well equipped. I had a room at the highest floor (I guess) with lovely terrace and with garden table and swing, and of course with the great view. (see photos) Breakfast is rich and tasty (for Italy), staff was friendly and helpful, they always helped me with the busses, metro, sightseeing plans etc. Teh location of this hotel is more suitable for business purposes, so you simply do not care, that you stay 20 minutes of walk or short journey of bus No. 246 or 247 (stop 50m from hotel) to Cornelia metro station (Linea A) or Bus 916 to Pza. Venezia. Or if you looking for a safe location out of busy city centre or Termini area, it is a good choice. This hotel is also a good choice for those who travels by car, because Via Aurelia is easy accessible by car, and you do not have to be worry, you lose nerves in traffic jams in central Rome. There is a great traditional restaurant just across the street, or Pizzeria (Pizza Bar) 100m from the hotel. The big supermarket (In Grande) is located near Cornelia metro station. The hotel offers a free Wi-Fi service. In conclusion, it was a pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed there for just a couple of days but I enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was really nice.
What I really enjoyed was the restaurant on the other side side of the street, it was cheap and very traditional!
I don't have much to say about the location because I was with an excursion, so we had a bus to take us around.
I was there in November 2009, but the system didn't have this date available, so I selected November 2010.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We've stayed at Hotel Aureliano only for 3 days but it was enough. Despite the room was clean and new, it was cramped and, the worst thing, outside the main building and the wi fi and phone wasn't working. One of the days, it was raining and we couldn't leave the room because of the water volume in front of our door. Besides, we cant say the staff were friendly, actually, sometimes they seemed to be very rude. The hotel is far from the metro station and there were few buses available and they were always crowded. It was not a good place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aureliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aureliano

Address: Via Aurelia, 619, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#299 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aureliano 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aureliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureliano Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aureliano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.