We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tolerable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Soggiorno Blu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Soggiorno Blu to your Saves list
Hotel Soggiorno Blu
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Magenta, 39, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,164 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tolerable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Cramped with a microscopic bathroom, but clean and not uncomfortable. Affordable and they give you a chit to take to a nearby cafe to get a coffee and pastry for breakfast. The wifi cost extra and wasn't steady. It was extremely convenient to the Rome Train terminal and it wasn't horribly expensive unless you count the microscopic bathroom. Still, it was clean and we weren't there to indulge in luxury -- we were there to go venture forth into Rome and then sleep in a clean bed. Very basic.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the train station and you don't care if the room is not gorgeous or l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    18
    8
    45
See reviews for
18
24
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mokena
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We checked in and paid at the ALFA Hotel and after payment without our knowledge, we were brought down the block to Hotel Soggiorno Blu.
The fan in the bathroom did not work and the walls and shower curtain were full of mold.
There was a family staying across the hall with a young child who ran up and down the hall making loud noises and screaming for several hours in the evening.
The breakfast that was included in the price, consisted of one croissant and one cup of coffee or tea standing at the corner cafe. You could not even get a second cup of tea.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Reported our issues with the cleaning person in the morning and she would not give us her name.
We tried to dispute the charges with the credit card company to NO AVAIL.

Room Tip: Make sure you see the room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Originally I had booked into the Hotel Rubino, of which I had seen some very poor reviews. I wrote to the operators of the Rubino and expressed my concern that my wife Susan is recovering from cancer treatment and if their hotel was as bad as some had written then I would cancel my booking as I needed for her to have a stress free wonderful holiday. Someone wrote back and said "Don't worry, we will give you the best room in the hotel"

We arrived at the desk of the Rubino only to be told that we would be staying in the Hotel Soggiorno Blu, which was in Via Magenta, the street that adjoins Via Milazzo and 50 metres from the Rubino.

Our check in was trouble free and our room was clean and comfortable, with shutters and air conditioning. There was an ensuite bathroom, with a powerful warm shower, washbasin and WC and the room had plenty of space, bedside tables and a flat Screen TV. You are issued keys and a smart card, and upon entering the room you insert the smart card into a slot which switches on the electricity for the room, meaning you can leave everything switched on before you leave and in 30 seconds after removing the card everything will power down.

The street outside is noisy but in that part of Rome you should expect that, and closing the shutters and double glazed full length windows cuts out 90% of it, allowing you to sleep in a quiet, air conditioned room. The room was cleaned every day and provided with fresh towels and the Filipino maids all speak excellent English - useful as my Italian is about ten words.

The room is 2 minutes' walk from Termini and within 30 seconds of at least three places to eat. We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant underneath our window that consisted of two courses and soft drinks and the bill was €33, not too bad in Rome.

Wifi access is €5 for 24 hours but connection from the router to the internet is a bit patchy and very slow, but I could find nothing else to complain about at all. We were even able to store our suitcase after checking out until 6pm that day when our shuttle bus took us to the airport from Termini.

Maybe we were lucky, but I could agree with the bad reviews.

Room Tip: Email the operators and introduce yourself before you travel. Tell them you are a Trip Advisor memb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I wish we had looked at the reviews on Trip Adviser before booking through ClickBuy as what is written here is exactly what happened to us.
We carried our bags up to check in at Soggiorno Blu only to be told we were staying in another hotel, the Rubino, around the corner, one of 5 'hole'tels owned by the same group.
Lugged our bags up tiny staircases to get to a tiny, mouldy, smelly room, admittedly in the heart of Rome. We had to pay for the wifi and breakfast was in a tiny bar over the street.
There must be better value for money, try somewhere else because it couldn't be worse...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We booked 2 months in advance. When we arrived they moved us to a different hotel down the street, the Hotel Rubina. They said it was the same thing. It was terrible. We had ants. The room door was constantly stuck. We had to carry our luggage up a thin flight of stairs. Our friends' room didn't have a toilet seat. There was not shower curtain. Our security was an elderly lady in pajamas that we had to wake up . The TV, airconditioner and phone did not work. It was above a hang out for questionable people. For breakfast we had to walkr down the street to a deli and were only allowed one cup of coffee and one sweet roll. It wasn't worth anywhere near the price they charged. It was very close to the train.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. The air conditioning came in handy and the flat screen tv had great reception. We stayed in the family suite and was never bothered. It was very quiet, in fact we were probably the loudest on the floor. The maid came in to change the towels everyday, even though she was rude. There were no other accommodations other than the tv, air conditioning unit, telephone, and a safe. We had a view to the street front and it was so nice to see Rome lit up at night. Pretty romantic!

I think the price was not worth the accommodations but it was the cheapest we could find. It was right around the block from the main Terminal to catch the train. So much to see in so little time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Soggiorno Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soggiorno Blu

Address: Via Magenta, 39, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,164 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Soggiorno Blu 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Soggiorno Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Soggiorno Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.