We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Forte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Forte to your Saves list
Hotel Forte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Margutta, 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #209 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Prato, Italy
1 review
“Perfect location and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent one night in Hotel Forte and was very satisfied. The location of the Hotel was excellent, the room was not very big, but beautiful and with all I needed. The cost was very convenient. Breakfast was fine. All in all I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    242
    49
    19
    17
See reviews for
127
232
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location, location. location. This small three star hotel is located within steps of the Spanish Steps in the heart of shopping and touring. The lobby is on the second floor of the building. Our first room was tiny. That is the one con. Very small room with room for one piece of luggage. Bathroom adequate but equally small. We were able to see other rooms. The triple is a nice size, the other doubles were slightly larger with slightly larger bathrooms. Room 110 had a very small shower though bathroom was an adequate size.
The beds were incredibly comfortable. We got our best sleeps in Rome in these beds. Though the street is a restricted access street there is some street noise. You are in a city.
The cute breakfast rooms has the best cappuccinos in Rome (and we tried many) served by Sonja and her assistant. Breakfast consisted of eggs, toast, pastries, yogurts and cereal.
If you are not in Rome to sit in your hotel this is all you need. Staff are friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside if you can. Although with ear plugs we didn't hear much of anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Forte is excellent, staff were extremely helpful, wonderful holiday, rooms were a bit small but that is to be expected in central Rome, location is excellent. Would happily return and would recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We spent one night at the Hotel Forte in Rome and it was awful. Morbid dark room, facilities for breakfast was so small and cramped and no lounge or sitting area to relax and watch TV. No roof garden etc. Good position but honestly one of the worst hotels I have stayed in years. I would not recommend it to anyone. Try the Hotel Mozart which is great and an even better position. Staff were helpful but very patronising in their attitude. Could not wait to get out of there. AWFUL!!!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This is a very charming hotel on a quiet street close to everything.....We were able to walk to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Navonna Piazza, Pantheon, Borghesi Gardens , across the Tiiber River and more. Restaurants and Gelaterris are on every nearby street. A delicious full breakfast is included with our stay. Thumbs up to the staff for their excellent service. We plan on staying here again when we return in 2016. Perfectamente..beautifully decorated with Italian charm!

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a quiet street so any room will do. All have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the time you have spent to write this wonderful review of Hotel Forte. as you wrote the Hotel fort is one of the most romantic and quiet streets of Rome, Margutta, which is nicknamed the road deglia artists because it still is chosen by the artists who stay in the Eternal City. In addition, twice a year, Margutta hosts a world-famous exhibition, A Hundred Painters Margutta, and then at that time the road becomes a museum open sky, for more details visit our official website. we hope to see you soon, we will be happy to accommodate you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Forte in March 2012 (sorry, had to choose October 2013 in the review as the dates only went back that far) after booking through Expedia. We arrived at around 10pm after travelling for 24 hours and we were wrecked!! We got a great deal for this hotel and did not have high expectations - we were just happy with something clean and central. We checked in and the staff there couldn't believe we wanted to go straight to bed. We were only in Rome for 3 days before moving on, and he convinced us that we must get out and see some of the city at night - we were so pleased that he did!!! The hotel is a very short walk to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain - our travel weariness was very quickly forgotten as we wandered around this beautiful city.

Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable - we had a smaller room than one we booked as the guest that was due to check out of our room before we arrived was ill and had stayed on longer. They offered us a room change the following night, but we were more than happy with the room we had been given.

Lovely breakfast, very helpful staff, and a location within walking distance for all of the major sights to see and explore in Rome.

We have recommended this hotel to all of our friends who have travelled to Rome since.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote for Hotel Forte. The factors that make our service very special breakfasts are two, namely girls of our outstanding breakfasts, Sonia and Albertina, who every day offer all our guests an excellent service accompanied by a dose of cheerfulness and good humor, and the choice food that we offer, personally selected by the owners, that guarantee quality and freshness. Also as you can see in the detailed description in our official website, we offer a breakfast selta wide of sweet and savory food to satisfy the tastes of all our guests. I hope that when you come back to Rome we will choose again, we will be honored to host you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Hotel Forte-A great hotel, great location with the nicest staff ever
Located near Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish Steps
My wife and daughter had stayed here a few years back and I was looking for a value priced hotel for this trip with my son Mac. I was not disappointed. First, the service was outstanding. Both of the front desk attendants spoke impeccable English and were very, very friendly! In fact, we arrived at the hotel from the airport at 10:00 a.m. and they generously offered us our room. The hotel is located on the quiet Via Margutta about 2 blocks in between the Spanish Steps and Piazza del Popolo so you are super convenient to subway access. The main desk is actually on the second floor which you can reach either by an antique and architecturally beautiful lift or the marble spiral staircase that encircles the lift. Our room was a tight fit, especially the bathroom but all we did was sleep and bathe their so size seemed non-importo. We were there in August and I was concerned the room might be hot. The AC worked magnificently and the room had a stocked mini-frig. We interrupted Rome for one day to go to Assisi. When we got back, we were put in a room that was literally 5x nicer. The first room was on the second floor. This one is on the first and the whole feel of the hotel here was much different than the second. Again, I have no complaints about either room. Lastly, the breakfast was superb with meats, pastries, fruits, cereals and surprise, scrambled eggs. The blood orange juice was so good, if I could find it in the states, I'd drink 2 gallons a week. The room rates varied over the 5 nights I stayed but averaged ¢109. These are some very nice people. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same level as the front desk. Those appeared to be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for the wonderful review you wrote for Hotel Forte. Just as you wrote what distinguishes our hotel from all the other hotels in Rome is the extraordinary location, attention to detail and furnishing our amazing staff, thanks to the expertise acquired over the years is able to satisfy all demands of our guests. In addition, the building of the Hotel Forte was until 18th century a beautiful theater, the famous theater Alibert, in fact the building still retains all the charm of the eighteenth Italian century, for more information I invite you to read the detailed description on our official website . I hope that when you return to the eternal city will still be our guest, we will be honored to offer you our services again.

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Leonardo Inzillo
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forte

Address: Via Margutta, 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Rome
#170 Business Hotel in Rome
#202 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Piazza di Spagna, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, the set for the unforgettable movie Vacanze Romane (Roman Holiday) and nowadays one of the more elegant streets in the heart of Rome, Hotel Forte welcomes guests in rooms of historical Palazzo Alibert, surrounded by a charming atmosphere, modern comforts and services with the added bonus of typical Roman friendliness. Hotel Forte makes part of "Historical Hotels Circuit", according to the Plan "Transparent Rome", promoted by Ministry of Cultural Assets. The Circuit is traced by informative panels, which report 64 Historical Roman Palaces that currently accomodate Hotels.FACILITIESIn the expanse of the seventeenth century Palazzo Alibert, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, Hotel Forte stands out among the 3 star hotels in Rome for its charm and personality. The historic surroundings are enhanced by the contemporary interior design, a mix of elegant classic furnishings revisited with modern colours, placed in a milieu with sunny and warm nuances. Located between the lounge and the drawing room are the reception area (24h), hall, TV room and the delightful bar reserved for hotel guests available 24 hours a day for an espresso coffee, a drink or a snack.Breakfast is served in the dining room. A continental and American-style buffet is on offer to meet the needs of the international clientele that usually come here, it is enriched with typical Roman confectionery and traditional espresso coffee and cappuccino. The superior services offered make the Hotel Forte one of the most valued hotels in Rome: Wi-Fi Internet, fax service, international newspapers, tourist information, bookings for guided tours and transfer are only some of the services available. Hotel Forte won the 2006 prestigious Gambero Rosso magazine award for being the best value for money 3 star hotel in Rome.OUR ROOMSCharming ambiance, elegance and superior services is what you will find in the 18 rooms of Hotel Forte, considered one of the best 3-star hotels in Rome for style and comfort. Rooms are furnished with classical furniture, refined fabrics and boast the same care for detail found throughout the hotel. They are available as single, twin, double, triple and family (with four beds) to accommodate all types of clients. Rooms come with private bathroom with either bathtub or shower, hairdryer, and a complementary beauty kit, and benefit from the best comforts offered by a hotel in Rome to make your Roman holiday that much more pleasant: internet Wi- Fi, sat TV, telephone, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. Via Margutta is magical, with enchanting atmospheres and a special charm all its own. As one of the most beautiful streets in Rome, it attracts artists, literati and movie directors. This street used to be lined with warehouses and stables located behind the palazzos of Via del Babuino. These later became artisan shops, painters studios and antique stores (celebrated in the curious Fontana degli Artisti), thus creating the special ambiance that prevails today and welcomes visitors to Via Margutta. Hotel Forte is privileged among 3-star hotels in Rome since it is located precisely on this famous street (Via Margutta 61) welcoming guests in charming rooms with typical Roman friendliness. Today Via Margutta has preserved its unique atmosphere and decor, and is one of the most elegant and beautiful of Rome. Here you will find top fashion houses and boutiques, coffee shops and exclusive restaurants, as well as picturesque and typical markets. What's more, every year, during the month of October there is the traditional Mostra dei Cento Pittori (Exhibition of One hundred Painters), an art show featuring Italian and international artists involving the whole street making for a very colorful festival. Many other typically Roman and international fairs take place in Via Margutta which attract VIP from the entertainment and fashion world and contribute in creating an exclusive and truly special environment. Through the Scalinata di Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps) you can get to Villa Borghese Park, the gorgeous Rome city park with buildings, gardens, small lakes, the famous Galoppatoio that hosts horse races in Piazza di Siena, and Galleria Borghese, an extraordinary collection of masterpieces by great artists (Bernini, Caravaggio, Rubens, Titian, Canova, etc.).Roman Holiday, other movies, songs and people of Via Margutta.The house of Gregory Peck where Audrey Hepburn takes refuge in the unforgettable movie Roman Holiday can be admired at Via Margutta no. 33, and mysterious 13 was the backdrop for Il segno del Comando, the cult television series from the '70s. Director Federico Fellini also lived here and loved to take walks with Giulietta Masina. "… Love, look how beautiful the sky looks over via Margutta tonight…", this is a verse from a song called Via Margutta by Roman singer songwriter Luca Barbarossa… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Hotel Rome
Forte Rome
Rome Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Forte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.