We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Forte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Forte to your Saves list
Hotel Forte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Margutta, 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #207 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Upstate NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We liked everything about this hotel. The location is very good; close to the Spanish Steps and many transportation options. The only negative about the location is the lack of less-expensive meal options. The room was clean and had great A/C (important during the hot summer). The staff was friendly and the breakfast was tasty. The staff always tried to be helpful, but we found that they occasionally did not know the answers to (or were unable to find the answers to) what we thought were some basic questions. I think the value for the price we paid is excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We had a triple room, which worked well for our family of three. It was actually on two floors: a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review you have made and for the advice you gave us on the staff. I am very happy that we were able to make you spend an unforgettable holiday. I hope you'll come back soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    257
    54
    19
    17
See reviews for
137
252
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Let me start by saying if you are looking for a hotel with a great location look no further. You are within walking distance to everything. Nice friendly staff,clean rooms,lovely breakfast,SUPERB A/C,comfy beds. We were there end of July thru the first week of August and it was HOT ! We would explore during the morning /midday hours and retreat back to the hotel for an afternoon break, the room was so cool and comfortable, a perfect place to rest while waiting for our evening adventures to begin. We were so close to all the sites we only used a cab 2x's due to a fractured foot.YES,you are that close to all the sites,restaurants and shopping ! Nice comfortable bed and clean towels everyday. The only complaint we had was help with day trips out of Rome. The availability of tour brochures was very limited and not much information on how to explore other regions while having Rome as a base. We will be back and we do highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

The only thing I can say reading a review like the one you wrote is: THANK YOU. I hope you'll come back soon and visit us, we will be here waiting for you.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very nice, cleaned, quiet hotel to stay. Near everything. Staffs were very nice and helpful. Breakfast has everything you need. Room has good air condition for summer. Will stay there again if I go to Rome. Ask for double doble room. Just a little more money but has a little more room to move around. Safe and in quiet corner.

Room Tip: Stay in double double room. Not near breakfast area and away from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you very much for the nice review you wrote. Sero that you will return soon and spend your holidays at Hotel Forte, we will be happy to accommodate you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

If you want a centrally located, quiet and clean hotel - then look no further. If you can overlook box rooms with very basic amenities, then this is the place for you.

We found it to be a good base for exploring the city. It's perfectly clean and exceptionally quiet, right on the foot of the Spanish steps, shops, restaurants and bars.

It is your typical euro hotel - bog standard shampoo/soap - nothing branded. Rooms are teeny with matching miniature bathrooms. breakfast was your typical continental hams and pastries (ok not great). The service though was brilliant, with really lovely front of house service.

I think it's a little overpriced, but then Rome is! I certainly recommend it if all you're looking for is a quiet comfy base to explore the city.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you very much for the review you wrote, unfortunately this is only a small hotel in the heart of Rome, so the rooms are not very big, but we do what we can to make the stay of our guests impeccable, and we take care of the service that we offer our guests maniacally. I hope that when you come back to Rome we will choose again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have been to Rome for six times and this was the best hotel we have been to. The staff was really helpfull, everything we needed they helped us - not only with the online checking but also they lent us an iron for free, too. The only deficiency was at the breakfast- they had no fresh vegetables.
The location of the hotel is really good - only 5 minutes from the Trinita de Monti.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote. all the staff of Hotel Forte is proud of the work he has, and all we always try to help our guests as much as possible. I hope you'll come back soon and visit us, we will be here waiting for you.

Best regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location! Location! Location! Centrally located but on a quiet and charming sheet just minutes from the Spanish Steps. The staff are very helpful and will go out of their way to solve any problem. Breakfasts were good but the coffee was wonderful. We would recommend to all of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you very much for this wonderful review you wrote, I hope you will return soon to the Hotel Forte

Best regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed on June 6th. We parked the car in the Villa Borghese parking and walked to the hotel. Great location, quiet and comfortable room, extra clean, staff very friendly. The Metro in the Spanish Steps is only 100 mt from the hotel. Only 400 mt to the Piazza del Popolo. You can not ask for more. We'll be back and back and back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile sig./sig.ra

Ti ringrazio per la stupenda recensione che hai scritto su di noi. La nostra posizione è unica e permette a tutti i nostri ospiti di trascorrere una vacanza indimenticabile senza dover sopportare lo stress di dover prendere autobus o metro per raggiungere i monumenti più belli di Roma, infatti dall'Hotel Forte si possono raggiungere a piedi praticamente tutte le attrazioni più belle e famose della città. Grazie e spero di rivederti presto all'Hotel Forte.

Cordiali Saluti
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forte

Address: Via Margutta, 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Business Hotel in Rome
#128 Family Hotel in Rome
#176 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Piazza di Spagna, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, the set for the unforgettable movie Vacanze Romane (Roman Holiday) and nowadays one of the more elegant streets in the heart of Rome, Hotel Forte welcomes guests in rooms of historical Palazzo Alibert, surrounded by a charming atmosphere, modern comforts and services with the added bonus of typical Roman friendliness. Hotel Forte makes part of "Historical Hotels Circuit", according to the Plan "Transparent Rome", promoted by Ministry of Cultural Assets. The Circuit is traced by informative panels, which report 64 Historical Roman Palaces that currently accomodate Hotels.FACILITIESIn the expanse of the seventeenth century Palazzo Alibert, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, Hotel Forte stands out among the 3 star hotels in Rome for its charm and personality. The historic surroundings are enhanced by the contemporary interior design, a mix of elegant classic furnishings revisited with modern colours, placed in a milieu with sunny and warm nuances. Located between the lounge and the drawing room are the reception area (24h), hall, TV room and the delightful bar reserved for hotel guests available 24 hours a day for an espresso coffee, a drink or a snack.Breakfast is served in the dining room. A continental and American-style buffet is on offer to meet the needs of the international clientele that usually come here, it is enriched with typical Roman confectionery and traditional espresso coffee and cappuccino. The superior services offered make the Hotel Forte one of the most valued hotels in Rome: Wi-Fi Internet, fax service, international newspapers, tourist information, bookings for guided tours and transfer are only some of the services available. Hotel Forte won the 2006 prestigious Gambero Rosso magazine award for being the best value for money 3 star hotel in Rome.OUR ROOMSCharming ambiance, elegance and superior services is what you will find in the 18 rooms of Hotel Forte, considered one of the best 3-star hotels in Rome for style and comfort. Rooms are furnished with classical furniture, refined fabrics and boast the same care for detail found throughout the hotel. They are available as single, twin, double, triple and family (with four beds) to accommodate all types of clients. Rooms come with private bathroom with either bathtub or shower, hairdryer, and a complementary beauty kit, and benefit from the best comforts offered by a hotel in Rome to make your Roman holiday that much more pleasant: internet Wi- Fi, sat TV, telephone, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. Via Margutta is magical, with enchanting atmospheres and a special charm all its own. As one of the most beautiful streets in Rome, it attracts artists, literati and movie directors. This street used to be lined with warehouses and stables located behind the palazzos of Via del Babuino. These later became artisan shops, painters studios and antique stores (celebrated in the curious Fontana degli Artisti), thus creating the special ambiance that prevails today and welcomes visitors to Via Margutta. Hotel Forte is privileged among 3-star hotels in Rome since it is located precisely on this famous street (Via Margutta 61) welcoming guests in charming rooms with typical Roman friendliness. Today Via Margutta has preserved its unique atmosphere and decor, and is one of the most elegant and beautiful of Rome. Here you will find top fashion houses and boutiques, coffee shops and exclusive restaurants, as well as picturesque and typical markets. What's more, every year, during the month of October there is the traditional Mostra dei Cento Pittori (Exhibition of One hundred Painters), an art show featuring Italian and international artists involving the whole street making for a very colorful festival. Many other typically Roman and international fairs take place in Via Margutta which attract VIP from the entertainment and fashion world and contribute in creating an exclusive and truly special environment. Through the Scalinata di Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps) you can get to Villa Borghese Park, the gorgeous Rome city park with buildings, gardens, small lakes, the famous Galoppatoio that hosts horse races in Piazza di Siena, and Galleria Borghese, an extraordinary collection of masterpieces by great artists (Bernini, Caravaggio, Rubens, Titian, Canova, etc.).Roman Holiday, other movies, songs and people of Via Margutta.The house of Gregory Peck where Audrey Hepburn takes refuge in the unforgettable movie Roman Holiday can be admired at Via Margutta no. 33, and mysterious 13 was the backdrop for Il segno del Comando, the cult television series from the '70s. Director Federico Fellini also lived here and loved to take walks with Giulietta Masina. "… Love, look how beautiful the sky looks over via Margutta tonight…", this is a verse from a song called Via Margutta by Roman singer songwriter Luca Barbarossa… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Hotel Rome
Forte Rome
Rome Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Forte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.