We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colosseum tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Around Rome - Day Tours

Around Rome - Day Tours
Via Vicenza 42, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)
+39 06 9933 6233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 593 Tours & Activities in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Around Rome Tours proposes a diverse range of excellent walking Tours, bus tours, bike and scooter rentals in Rome, we also offer Vatican tours, tours of Rome and day trips to other cities such as Naples, Pompeii, Florence and many more. Experience with our tours the magic of Rome and Italy, the majesty and beauty of the Vatican, walking with our professional guides who will make history come to life.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Colosseum tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We recently did a Colosseum and Forum tour. The group only had 11 people on it compared to some very large groups. Our guide was full of information and would answer any questions. Yes, it costs more than you buying your own ticket and doing it yourself, but you skip entry queues and get a lot of information from your guide.

Visited July 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around R, Guest Relations Manager at Around Rome - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you Jyra for your positive review!
We hope to see you again here in Rome!

Around Rome Tours Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    8
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“make sure you do advance tickets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The line to buy tickets is at least 2 hours long, then you get in another line to get in! buying these tickets online saved us a lot of time and frustration. I only wish the entrance area for ticket holders was better marked and less confusing. Bring lots of water with you if you go in summer!

Visited July 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around R, Guest Relations Manager at Around Rome - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you Nancye for your review!
We hope to see you again here in Rome!

Around Rome Tours Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crail, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Colleseum and Forum Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We recently enjoyed a splendid tour of this part of Ancient Rome. Our fantastic guide was Francesca and there were 5 of us on this really good and informative tour. We were expertly led past the large tour parties and because we were such a small group our questions were many and Francesca tailored the tour to suit us.

Visited June 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around R, Public Relations Manager at Around Rome - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear David,
thank for your positive review!
We are happy that you liked the tour and our guide, Francesca.
We hope to see you again here in Rome.
Best regards,
Around Rome Tours Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“stay away from them, don't buy tickets over the internet!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have purchased two tickets for E75.00 each (E150.00 total) two weeks in advance over the internet.
You can buy the same tickets in Rome for E35.00 each (!!!), total of E70.00.
What a rip off!!!

Visited July 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around R, Public Relations Manager at Around Rome - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Richard

Thank you for your review of Around Rome Tours. We are disappointed with your review and would like to explain a little better regarding our pricing.

As a tour company we offer a range of tours of the Vatican Museums with the group tour of up to 25 people in the group the most economical. The tour you chose to book was the Semi Private Tour of the Museums with a maximum of 10 guests which you paid 75 Euro per person. The cost to hire an OFFICIAL Tour guide of Rome for a 3 Hour tour is 120 Euro's before tax and then add to that the cost to pre-book the skip the line vatican museum tickets for you is 20 Euro's per person. So this alone works out at 160 Euros total. For this reason our pricing for the Semi Private Tours are set. The prices are to guarantee that the tour will depart as some companies cancel at the last minute with clients when they cannot cover their costs and we in this way can always guarantee that the tour will depart as booked and offer top guides and a service deserved to the client. Even with the fact that if only 2 guests book we actually lose money on providing a tour.

So this leads me to believe the company offering you a tour at the price you mentioned was most probably using non official tour guides of Rome, as there is quite a lot of irregular activity regarding tours of the Vatican and i can assure you we are fully compliant with all the rules.

I hope this will help you to re-evaluate your review or at least understand a little better the way we work in regards to our pricing and the costs involved of providing a tour of the Vatican Museums.

Best Regards

Samuel Heenan
Around Rome Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This experience was amazing, the tour guide was fantastic and I'll do it again for sure..
they have special access to certain area's and not waiting in line is so important..

Thank you again

Visited June 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Around Rome - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Paolo,
thank you for your great review!
We are very glad you liked the tour; we always do our best to guarantee a wonderful experience.
We are looking forward to see you again here in Rome!
Best regards,

Around Rome Tours Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Around Rome - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Around Rome - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Around Rome - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.