We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding In Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J.K. Place Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added J.K. Place Roma to your Saves list
J.K. Place Roma
Via Di Monte D'Oro 30, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding In Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I just enjoyed two terrific nights at this 30-room boutique hotel and I can't praise JK Place Roma enough! We were greeted warmly and professionally by the welcoming staff, especially Sabrina, who offered us countless tips on getting into Rome's most popular attractions. The incredibly comfortable common areas (reading room, dining room, bar, and central lobby area) are stylishly furnished and feature a great selection of handpicked coffee table books. The breakfast, which was included, is outstanding and features something for everyone...no need for lunch...by our cheerful waitress, Kelly.

The decor in our room matched the downstairs style and included an enormous bathroom with "hidden" doors and cabinets. All of the in-room snacks and non-alcoholic beverages in the room refrigerator were included.

Be sure to snap a selfie of the "hidden" elevator that features not one, but two, lush couches. I heard that a rooftop terrace is still to come.

Bravo, JK Place!

(We took a train from FCO to Termini and then a quick, inexpensive cab ride to the hotel.)

(OK, one negative...the drinks in the bar were priced at 22 Euro each, but always included a generous amount of bar snacks.)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
37
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I recently stayed one night in JK Hotel in Rome with my husband and we had a great time. The design is very tasteful, the service was Amazing and we were very happy. We will defiantly return to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just came back from a four night stay at JK Place. We cannot say enough good things about the whole experience. The hotel is brand new, immaculate and beautifully designed. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the rooms are lovely. The staff was amazing and went out of their
way to make our vacation easy and enjoyable. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

JK Place Rome will be one of the world's best hotel experiences. Don't infer from that sentence that it still has work to do. It is already perfect - design, service, experience. It simply needs the cultural elite of the world - tastemakers, editors, celebrities (well, hopefully not celebrities) - to discover it. Much the way the JK Florence swiftly became my favorite hotel in Europe, JK Rome might have become my favorite hotel in the world.

While its location could boast proximity to one of Rome's famous monuments, it benefits from the quiet corner on which it sits, overlooking an understated piazza and its daily market stalls. You are at once in a top-flight luxury hotel as you are at someone's impeccable home in a quiet neighborhood in Rome, thanks to its environs.

Step through the main doors into one of the most exceptionally well designed "melange" spaces you'll ever see. Greatest hits from mid-century modernism, coalesce with touches of Roman sculpture, co-mingle with understated touches of Liaigre-like understatement. All, embraced by bold colors only a designer of really exceptional talent could pull off. I don't think it is defining a new style, by any means, but it is really doing what everyone else in similar vein has been trying to do and falling just short.

Design gives way to the exceptionally warm service, Italian in its ebullience and Swiss in its professionalism. These are people you trust to have hosting you, and also people you'd love to host.

And… the rooms. Well, our room. A corner room overlooking the square and market, taking all of the design cues from the public spaces, but toning them down to make an environment that well and truly gave many of Rome's famed destinations a run for their money. When traveling we do like a well-appointed, large room, if for no other reason to have a good place to fight off the jet lag. But, in the case of JK Place Room, we would have happily spent full-afternoons in this space.

The list of superlatives I could entreat is long, but it is simply best to keep it short: don't stay anywhere else in Rome. Or Florence. Or Capri! JK Place has redefined the Italian way of loving life and invited us all to enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 7, on the corner… stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Cannot think of enough superlatives for this amazing hotel. The staff anticipates your every need before you can even articulate it! Beautifully furnished, spacious and comfortable rooms with a complimentary well stocked minibar and huge bathrooms. Where else can you find an elevator equipped with a sofa. Loved perusing all the wonderful Assouline and Taschen books in the library with my morning cappuccino. Can't wait to try their property in Capri!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for four nights to celebrate our anniversary and we were absolutely delighted with out choice. Firstly, this is a really really stunning hotel - it's beautifully designed with great attention to detail but also comfortable and most of all, welcoming. We arrived fairly late on our first evening, tired after a long day traveling and ready for food and sleep - we were welcomed into the hotel, our bags whisked away and seated with a welcome drink within minutes. After our drink and short registration process we were shown to our beautiful room - the hotel kindly upgraded us to a superior room which was spacious, stylish and incredibly comfortable with a huge rosewood four poster bed and gorgeous marble bathroom with a walk in double shower. A lot of thought has gone into the design to create something super luxurious but at the same time, with the feeling you are staying at a friend's house. The same welcome was extended at the hotel restaurant where we were immediately made to feel comfortable and at home and served delicious food and wine - the menu is a brasserie/bistro style menu so not hugely extensive and also quite a small wine list but everything we ate was of the highest quality. The thing which makes this hotel truly stand out is the staff who are probably the best we have ever come across -every single person was professional but also warm and friendly, creating an intimate and relaxing atmosphere and taking personal service to a whole new level, making our trip a truly enjoyable and memorable experience. The room has a minibar which is fully stocked with complimentary soft drinks, water and snacks which is a nice detail and there are also bottles of water around the public areas of the hotel as well as freshly baked treats from the chef on a daily basis. The housekeeping was also excellent with the room immaculate every time you return. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and we will definitely return after we have visited the Capri and Florence properties!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room which was beautiful - we didn't see any other rooms to compare but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel which is stunningly designed. The location is great and the staff were extremely good. The only fly in the ointment is the strange 'Bristo Menu' of the elegant, but empty restaurant. Not wanting to go out on our first night in Rome, we ate in the hotel. We avoided the Club Sandwich, burgers, sliders, etc. (the menu can be seen in their website). What isn't on their website is the wine list. This a single sheet of A4 paper with 11 white and 12 reds. The cheapest white, Frascati is €80. Pinot Grigio is €100. We settled fro a very ordinary bottle of Merlot for €90. This list must be a serious contender for the worst wine list in the World. I felt sorry for the staff who had to work in such a sole destroying atmosphere. At another restaurant we we're recommend, Ad Hoc, we were unable to get a table.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J.K. Place Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.K. Place Roma

Address: Via Di Monte D'Oro 30, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Boutique Hotel with 30 rooms and suites in the heart of Rome near the Spanish Steps and main attractions. Sophistication, elegance, stylish look and feel create the unique atmosphere in this private townhouse. Each room has been designed by award winning Architect Michele Bonan with signature handmade furniture by italian artisans. Spacious bedrooms with beautiful decorative touches and pieces of fine arts, bathrooms are all neatly made with italian marbles from Carrara, wooden teak floors, large showers, separate toilet area. All the rooms are provided with the most modern comforts such as individual temperature control, HD LED TV with cable sports and movie channels, Free WI-FI, electronic safe, Ipod/Ipad Docking Stations, personalized J.K. Courtesy amenities and more. At Guests disposal the JK Cafe serves Italian specialties throughout the day. Signature cocktails and international classics can be enjoyed at our cozy bar and lounge. **Hotel is a non-smoking property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your J.K. Place Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.K. Place Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.