We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome people, amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilium Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lilium Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lilium Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Venti Settembre 58A, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome people, amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at Lilium while visiting Rome in July 2011. One time they were able to find us a last minute 3-nights availability which was greatly appreciated.
The location is great (in the quiet financial district but no more than 20 min walk to Spanish Steps or Fontana di Trevi; 10 min from Termini or Repubblica Metro Station). Lots of bus stops are right downstairs, ready to take you all across Rome.
This hotel is amazing: sparkling clean, cozy, quiet and the service is really great. Breakfast is very good and so is the coffee. While we stayed at the hotel in three separate occasions, we’ve had the Forget-Me-Not room for 8 nights, which is a wonderful quiet room, with a flower-filled balcony facing an interior courtyard. We also stayed in two other rooms, (Tiger Lilies being one of them) facing the street. Both rooms have a small wrought iron balcony. All rooms are cleaned daily and have AC, fan, TV and a mini-fridge stocked with drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) and sweets.
One thing worth mentioning is that they were able to find us a last minute 3-nights availability which was greatly appreciated.
We cannot say enough about this wonderful little hotel and especially about all the people working here. Francesco, Giulia, Federico, Silvia, Ivanna, Elena, Tony, Ionela : you guys are AWESOME and you made our stay absolutely unforgettable!
Mille grazie e a presto!

Alex, Anca & Sebastian

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
69
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel I wanted to book was full so I tried Lilium Hotel in the same neighborhood. What a nice surprise! The rooms are clean, quiet and nicely decorated. The staff at the reception is friendly and always available to give indications. A small elevator can be used if you have heavy suitcases. There is a big window in the "breakfast room" so you can sip your cappuccino and admire Rome's blue sky at the same time! The location is also super convenient: right in front of the hotel many buses go to downtown, Termini station and Trastevere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

About 10-15 minutes walk from the main train station. Basic hotel that I would rate lower in other cities, but for what you can get in Roma, it is very good relative to the price. (Beat the other hotel I stayed in Roma.) Basic small clean room; double paned window keeps the street noise away. a/c works well. Reasonable basic breakfast

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

The staff at this hotel were really friendly and helpful. We couldn't fault the service, either from the desk or in the breakfast room. We ordered champagne and snacks on arrival - pricey, perhaps, at 50 euros, but what a treat. We spent our first afternoon on a sunny balcony drinking Mumms and nibbling pistachios, parmesan and dried cranberries, all carefully prepared by the receptionist. With honey. Excellent. Finally we dragged ourselves away and went to the Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain, both about 20 minutes' (at most) walk away. The hotel was in a good position, 10 minutes' walk from the Termini station, on a bus route, ten minutes or less from Republica and within ten minutes of Via Veneto and Villa Borghese park. It's on the third floor of a building and not well signed but if you've mapped it beforehand you know where to look and find it quite easily. A quaint old-fashioned lift - metal doors, two sets to open and close - takes you up the three floors and is definitely necessary if you're carrying luggage. The reception is airy and pretty.

Our room was a superior room, hence the flower-filled balcony looking out onto a quieter back street. It had air-conditioning (which we didn't need) and a ceiling fan, which we definitely needed. In our superior room we had a bath as well as a shower, but not all rooms had that There was also a safe in the room, hairdryer and excellent minibar, very reasonably priced e.g. 4 euros for a mini bottle of Prosecco. Ordinary wine and beer was less. Water was one euro, which is nice if you want it chilled, and cheaper than from the outdoor food stalls, but the tap water was fine too and tasted great. . We topped up our bottles daily, or from fountains around the city. Breakfast were served from 7 to 10 and were excellent - continental but as much as you wanted - rolls, croissants, choice of coffees or teas, fresh juice if you asked for oranges to be squeezed and also pineapple juice chilled from the carton. Cheeses, meats, yogurts, cereals ... We had agreat start to every day.

Another nice touch - you were able to use the hotel laptop for free, for an hour, daily, which we made use of twice in our 5 day break.

Liked best - the balcony, breakfast, service, pretty decor
Liked least - room was small, only a queen bed, no English TV channels so we were without news, no wireless in the room.

Room Tip: Find time to stroll up to the Villa Borghese.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh, zagreb, ljubljana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed with my mum in twin room with small balcony. We had all 4 nights of good sleep there, was nice and warm though could hear lady with heels every morning - God bless early morning shifts!

Had best croissants ever - with vanilla filling - must have. Breakfast was nice and simple, very good for Italian breakfast. Coffee machine still makes amazing cappuccino!
Staff was very welcoming and efficient! Lost of good advice.

Nice bathroom with plenty of warm towels and bath soaps, etc... Room was cleaned every day despite the fact there was no request for it :)


No problems checking in or out, neither finding the place.

All in all a PLEASANT place to stay while in Rome <3

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I stayed at Lilium for 6 nights. It exeeded my expectations a lot! Very good location, just short walk from Barberini, Spanish Steps, Republica, Termini, Via Veneto. It is on the third floor of residentional building. The only problem is to see the small sign of the hotel at the entrance to the building to give a ring when you come first in the dark time.Felt very safe in that area of Rome. Bus stops are right on the corner and in front of the hotel. Staff is exeptionally helpful and welcoming! Althogh booked single room i was offered a doble with no extra payment. Design of the rooms is cosy and warm. Room is very very clean and has heating and hot water 24 hours. No english channels.
Brekfast is enough, croissans are even more tasty then in Paris!
Would prefer stay there again next time in Rome!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

The hotel is charming. Not easy to find, as others have pointed out, but if you have the address and look for the name of the hotel on the door of the building (think: visitng a friend in Rome), it's not an issue. I took the long way from Termini on foot (you want to head for Via Goito straight out of the station) so it was a bit of a trek with bags. The rooms are typical for the region, I think: sparse, clean, a little dark. Mine (Bluebells) was tiny. The room itself was quiet - facing a shaftway, so definitely no ambience; the problem was the thin walls. I could not only hear people as they walked down the hall and opened and closed their rooms, but every hallway conversation, not to mention the loud yawner next door, was like I was right there with them. So if your neighbours are considerate, you're in luck but if you happen to visit the same time as a drunken group of party-hounds, you're probably in for a long night.
The location is OK. I found it convenient for proximity to Termini, and if you enjoy walking you can stroll around, but will probably have to take a cab at night, it's a bit of a hike at the end of a long day.
The value for money is good, it's a secure, friendly, cute little place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lilium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilium Hotel

Address: Via Venti Settembre 58A, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilium Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liliumhotel has been reviewed by the National Geographic Traveler Magazine and has been inserted in the Eyewitness Travel Guide, which says of us: "On the third floor of a residential building midway between Termini and Via Veneto, Lilium is a charming little Hotel. Each of its small, beautifully decorated rooms is named after a flower and painted to match. The breakfast and sitting rooms are pretty with fresh flowers and colorful Australian songbirds. Excellent staff." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lilium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilium Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.